We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free Internet access!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free Internet access!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Even better now they have free Internet access.......have stayed at Regal palms a few times in the 1 and 2 bedroom suites. Resort well suited for family as they provide a mini putt, tennis court, swimming pool and a spa. A bit on the expensive side but worth it. Stayed in Suite 30, 1 x bedroom........my 10 year old loved it as it is on the quiet side of the Resort and plenty room for him to scooter around in the car park. Next visit might try the upstairs suites.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross M, Manager at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we wish to point out that not only is the internet free but we have recently installed High Speed Fibre Optic broadband which gives us much quicker download and upload speeds which is great for both work and play. For families we have added a couple of smaller bicycles to go with our selection of larger adult bikes and we also now have a DVD library for both children and adults
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    125
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
166
156
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I always look for affordable yet nice accommodation and have stayed at a few Hotels and Motels in Rotorua and throughout New Zealand, but this out did the whole lot in one night. The rooms were immaculate and the facilities were wonderful and a spa bath in every room never goes amiss. It was a pity we were not staying longer otherwise we would have taken advantage of the mini golf and other activities available. Frankly why stay in substandard accommodation when you can stay somewhere that may cost only a twenty dollars more than some other accommodation out there and receive added bonus's like mini golf and so much more. Great place for families, the children can spend time at the motel having fun and save money because everything is there. And their customer service was wonderful which truly is the face of a great establishment, so accommodating and friendly. It's hard to find service like that these days. Thank you to the Staff. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: No tip..just a great place overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife, daughter and i have stayed here possibly eight times over the last year and every time we have enjoyed our stay. Sometimes our booking is as late as two hours before and we like to stay in the same room as we just feel it is like our own "Home away from Home). The staff are friendly and welcoming and always say hello when passing you. There is a nice little putting area, and tennis court if you have time to play, and the heated pool is amazing even in winter.
Sometime curiosity wants one to have a look at alternative places to stay, but for us as a family, when in Rotorua there is only one place for us.
Thanks Regal Palms
Mark, Ann & Sarah

Room Tip: Dont just stay one night if you can stretch to two, it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at Regal Palms for 2 nights and had a great time.
The rooms were warm and quiet, there was a spa bath in the room, and the hotel has so much to offer! You can play mini golf, use the gym, sauna or heated pool, play tennis, or use the new mountain bikes they have to go and explore the city!
It costs a little extra to stay here, but it's definately worth it for all the extra things you get from staying at this amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was near the road, but still didnt hear any traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonMichaelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Had an amazing four days with my partner. Regal Palms was excellent in every way, a true luxury home away from home, helpful stuff, great facilities, and reasonably priced. Definitely will be back.
We stayed in the one bedroom spa suite, and there was tonnes of room, a well-equipped kitchen, fantastic bathroom, and good bed.
Staff were very helpful and informative, and quick to answer any query with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Pleasantly surprised by what could be a standard motel offering. But noted the excellent appointments, large rooms & huge bathroom with spa and toiletries. Plus nicely appointed kitchen & furniture. Grounds are immaculate with little road noise. Heated swimming pool complex with sauna, gym, tennis court

Room Tip: Perhaps at the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here as a family, and were most impressed by the facilities on offer.

There's a tennis court, mini golf, and swimming pool to keep the children happy and active.

We stayed in a first floor unit, and enjoyed having a view of the complex from our room.

The main bedroom had it's own television, as well as a television in the lounge area.

A large self-filling spa is situated in the bathroom (which has lovely warm under floor heating!), and can fit four people in without too much of a squash!

The kitchen is fully equipped with crockery, cutlery, and cooking pots and utensils, along with a microwave and oven top.

A nice personal touch when you check-in is that you get a little basket containing milk and cookies with your room key. I was also given a made up bundle of brochures on various Rotorua activities on offer which makes it so much easier to choose what to do (better than standing looking at brochures on a display as you get to see activities you may not have known about or thought about doing).

I would definitely recommend this property as the perfect family Resort for spending happy quality time together!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Property: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Address: 350 Fenton Street | Corner Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Regal Palms Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REGAL PALMS AND THE ART of HOSPITALITY Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua - New Zealand's geothermal wonderland. Here you'll find a great range of high quality accommodation options, exceptional facilities and unsurpassed hospitality. Luxury Rotorua Accommodation: Our modern and well-equipped range of superior suites and apartments make an ideal Rotorua accommodation option for couples, families, corporates and groups. Every suite and apartment has a great range of features, including a luxurious spa pool - perfect to sink into at the end of the day. Superb on-site Facilities: Be sure to make the most of the exceptional on-site facilities at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort. Whether you want to relax with a drink in the cosy Guest Lounge, or you're up for something more active on the tennis court, in our heated swimming pool or on one of our free bicycles exploring the city - there's something for everyone here! Conference Facilities: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is the perfect location for your upcoming business meeting or conference. We have a range of conference packages to suit all small meetings (up to 20 persons) Packages & Promotions: Check out our Rotorua accommodation packages and promotions to make sure you're getting the best deal when you stay with us! True Kiwi Hospitality At Regal Palms, we understand that hospitality is an art that embraces service, attitude and respect for the individual needs of every guest - you can expect the same high level of customer service every time you stay with us. Warm Regards, Ross, Annie and the team at Regal Palms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms 5 Star City Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing