We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a great place to stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Once again we have had a very relaxing break staying a few nights at Regal Palms. Friendly staff, very clean rooms, comfortable beds, great spa pool, very spacious. Look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    128
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
172
169
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Very clean and tidy place all round. Nice new rooms, plenty of space, and nice and quiet. The spa baths are truly amazing in each room, they are huge.! Fantastic heated mineral pool that you can have a dip in prior to breakfast,or after dinner. You won't get better than this place if visiting Rotorua.

Room Tip: Any room.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross M, Manager at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Many thanks for your great comments - we are very proud of the facilities/activities we have available .I'm sorry about your steam issue but all of our bathrooms do have extractor ceiling fans and all of our rooms have air conditioning - we had to replace one recently, maybe that was your room so we do apologize for that
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great resort. We stayed for the first week of the school holidays and literally didn't go anywhere else. The pool which is headed to 33 degrees was hit - so the kids would swim for hours every day. The rooms are large, kitchen facilities excellent and the spas in the bathroom are huge. It was a great way to end the day -having a nice spa, looking out the windows enjoying a cold beer. Kids loved the mini-golf, bikes and there are a collection of dvds as well you can borrow - that was a great idea. It has all your sky sport channels. Rooms were very tidy, and house keeping do a great job - especially after we've spent the evening cooking dinner and the following morning making breakfast - the rooms were also clean and tiny when we got back. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: One bedroom units are great. The lounge has a fold out double bed for the kids, as well as a single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Even better now they have free Internet access.......have stayed at Regal palms a few times in the 1 and 2 bedroom suites. Resort well suited for family as they provide a mini putt, tennis court, swimming pool and a spa. A bit on the expensive side but worth it. Stayed in Suite 30, 1 x bedroom........my 10 year old loved it as it is on the quiet side of the Resort and plenty room for him to scooter around in the car park. Next visit might try the upstairs suites.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross M, Manager at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we wish to point out that not only is the internet free but we have recently installed High Speed Fibre Optic broadband which gives us much quicker download and upload speeds which is great for both work and play. For families we have added a couple of smaller bicycles to go with our selection of larger adult bikes and we also now have a DVD library for both children and adults
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I always look for affordable yet nice accommodation and have stayed at a few Hotels and Motels in Rotorua and throughout New Zealand, but this out did the whole lot in one night. The rooms were immaculate and the facilities were wonderful and a spa bath in every room never goes amiss. It was a pity we were not staying longer otherwise we would have taken advantage of the mini golf and other activities available. Frankly why stay in substandard accommodation when you can stay somewhere that may cost only a twenty dollars more than some other accommodation out there and receive added bonus's like mini golf and so much more. Great place for families, the children can spend time at the motel having fun and save money because everything is there. And their customer service was wonderful which truly is the face of a great establishment, so accommodating and friendly. It's hard to find service like that these days. Thank you to the Staff. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: No tip..just a great place overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife, daughter and i have stayed here possibly eight times over the last year and every time we have enjoyed our stay. Sometimes our booking is as late as two hours before and we like to stay in the same room as we just feel it is like our own "Home away from Home). The staff are friendly and welcoming and always say hello when passing you. There is a nice little putting area, and tennis court if you have time to play, and the heated pool is amazing even in winter.
Sometime curiosity wants one to have a look at alternative places to stay, but for us as a family, when in Rotorua there is only one place for us.
Thanks Regal Palms
Mark, Ann & Sarah

Room Tip: Dont just stay one night if you can stretch to two, it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at Regal Palms for 2 nights and had a great time.
The rooms were warm and quiet, there was a spa bath in the room, and the hotel has so much to offer! You can play mini golf, use the gym, sauna or heated pool, play tennis, or use the new mountain bikes they have to go and explore the city!
It costs a little extra to stay here, but it's definately worth it for all the extra things you get from staying at this amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was near the road, but still didnt hear any traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonMichaelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Property: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Address: 350 Fenton Street | Corner Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Regal Palms Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REGAL PALMS AND THE ART of HOSPITALITY Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua - New Zealand's geothermal wonderland. Here you'll find a great range of high quality accommodation options, exceptional facilities and unsurpassed hospitality. Luxury Rotorua Accommodation: Our modern and well-equipped range of superior suites and apartments make an ideal Rotorua accommodation option for couples, families, corporates and groups. Every suite and apartment has a great range of features, including a luxurious spa pool - perfect to sink into at the end of the day. Superb on-site Facilities: Be sure to make the most of the exceptional on-site facilities at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort. Whether you want to relax with a drink in the cosy Guest Lounge, or you're up for something more active on the tennis court, in our heated swimming pool or on one of our free bicycles exploring the city - there's something for everyone here! Conference Facilities: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is the perfect location for your upcoming business meeting or conference. We have a range of conference packages to suit all small meetings (up to 20 persons) Packages & Promotions: Check out our Rotorua accommodation packages and promotions to make sure you're getting the best deal when you stay with us! True Kiwi Hospitality At Regal Palms, we understand that hospitality is an art that embraces service, attitude and respect for the individual needs of every guest - you can expect the same high level of customer service every time you stay with us. Warm Regards, Ross, Annie and the team at Regal Palms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms 5 Star City Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing