We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific family accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific family accommodations”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit. The overall facility is wonderful, with outdoor pool and miniature golf. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location near sights and a short drive to downtown. So much to do in the area! The sulphur smell of Rotorua is unpleasant, but overall very worthwhile, and this is the place for a family stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    126
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
167
168
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here during our visit to Rotorua. Good location right on the main drag, but we weren't bothered by any car noise. Loved the fantastic facilities, esp for kids such as the brilliant playground, heated pool and kiddie pool (complete with pool toys), mini golf, free bike here, sauna, gym and to top it off a king sized spa in your bathroom. Service was friendly, room was modern and clean, we had a room with a kitchenette which had a hob, micro, dishwasher and utensils. Free WiFi, which didn't seem to be restricted, as we used it a lot and it didn't 'run out'. Really happy we chose the regal palms, we thought it was great value for money considering the facilities and I wpouldnt recommend anywhere else for people traveling with children.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietotandtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Very clean, very presentable & very liveable. It's 5 star in every facet whist appealing to families and your every need. Centrally located to capitalise on all that is on offer in rotorua. Owners and staff are friendly, professionally and very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottymac1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night but was very impressed with the room and service. Friendly welcome-free beer!
Excellent room with spa, private enclosed courtyard and modern bathroom. Free wifi
Chocolate on check out to round it off.
Certainly better than the average and not much more expensive. I'll bring my togs next time as the pool looked very inviting

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SafeAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Passing through on an impromptu visit of Rotorua yesterday from Auckland.
Dropped in with my two young boys 3 and 5 and the wife. They absolutely loved the room and facilities. mini golf, playground, BBQ and pool areas well positioned for family fun and enjoyment.
facilities caters very well for families. The rooms are well appointed and supplied. We got the 1 bedroom. heaps of space. Located close to town center.
Checked out today, rebooked for another trip. Very happy with our gem of a find.

Room Tip: Ground floors come with small court yards
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed beginning of October,1st week of the school holidays.
Picked a great week as the weather couldn't of been any better. Made use of the pool, bikes, tennis court, mini putt and the DVD's.
First swim for the 6month Granddaughter she loved it.
We generally request Room1 which is a 2 bedroom unit. All the rooms that we have stayed in at Regal Palms has been great.
Expect to go back in Jan :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Loved our well designed 2 bedroom family suite. The decor is modern and spotless. The kitchen well equipped. Great tea and coffee selection. Parents and 2 children could all find a bit of space for themselves. Dad had some work to do. The desk area and lighting was great. Main bedroom was large, with its own courtyard, ensuite, TV, and reading lights that were positioned for reading (not as common as it should be!) A second bathroom and spa (huge), and a separate toilet served the children well. They also had a TV in their bedroom and another in the lounge. Heating was effective and how lovely to have underfloor heating plus heated towel rails in each bathroom, and bathrobes for all. Plenty of facilities in the complex as described by others, all beautifully maintained. Welcome touches such as free newspapers, some magazines, biscuits on arrival and chocolates on departure. Even a book swap shelf in the public laundry where I left some magazines. (The suite has its own laundry facilities). All the staff we dealt with were lovely. When we reported a loose towel rail, it was fixed promptly while we were out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieIbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Property: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Address: 350 Fenton Street | Corner Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Regal Palms Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REGAL PALMS AND THE ART of HOSPITALITY Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua - New Zealand's geothermal wonderland. Here you'll find a great range of high quality accommodation options, exceptional facilities and unsurpassed hospitality. Luxury Rotorua Accommodation: Our modern and well-equipped range of superior suites and apartments make an ideal Rotorua accommodation option for couples, families, corporates and groups. Every suite and apartment has a great range of features, including a luxurious spa pool - perfect to sink into at the end of the day. Superb on-site Facilities: Be sure to make the most of the exceptional on-site facilities at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort. Whether you want to relax with a drink in the cosy Guest Lounge, or you're up for something more active on the tennis court, in our heated swimming pool or on one of our free bicycles exploring the city - there's something for everyone here! Conference Facilities: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is the perfect location for your upcoming business meeting or conference. We have a range of conference packages to suit all small meetings (up to 20 persons) Packages & Promotions: Check out our Rotorua accommodation packages and promotions to make sure you're getting the best deal when you stay with us! True Kiwi Hospitality At Regal Palms, we understand that hospitality is an art that embraces service, attitude and respect for the individual needs of every guest - you can expect the same high level of customer service every time you stay with us. Warm Regards, Ross, Annie and the team at Regal Palms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms 5 Star City Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing