We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$151
US$123
Novotel
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$90
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$155
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VR Rotorua Lake Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$66
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PURE Motel & Guest House(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
341
139
26
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
139
26
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfspa bathmilk and cookiestennis courtsheated poolunderfloor heatingstayed in a bedroom apartmentfenton streetfree dvdsdvd libraryhuge bathroommountain bikesprivate courtyardbbq areagreat facilitiesschool holidaysheat pump
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was well designed with plenty of room in the bedrooms and living room area and all you need in the kitchen. The spa bath was huge and the children had much fun in that. This place is well thought through for children with the mini golf course, playground and pool. It is a short drive to restaurants and the local attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tans3437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As an international traveller we were very impressed with everything offered here at the Regal Palms..definitely up to & better than a lot of International accommodation.
Very friendly most helpful service,clean tidy and offered every thing we need
Absolutely we will stay here again!!
AWESOME STAY

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kiwiskygirl-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Me and my partner traveled to Rotorua and stayed at Regal palms for a get away as we both lead a busy life.
Our check in process was very fast and organized. the room were very clean, and organised and had everything you would need. The spa bath was a great plus of the room.
But if you want a quite peaceful stay then i do not recommend staying here, children at 7.30am riding on bikes round in the car park right outside the window screaming, and carrying on and waking both of us up, though this is the fault of the parents not the hotel. The same parents were yahooing with their door open at 10.30pm and had to be quietened down.

Perhaps the worst thing of the whole stay was me and my partner decided we didn't want our room cleaning so we didn't put the "please clean my room" sign up we laid in bed and we had no clothing on, i locked the door from the inside, and we feel asleep next thing there was a sharp rap on the door and the cleanerr put the key in to make her way into our room. Luckily the door was locked from the inside and she realised we were home, so she went away. I jumped out of bed to put our underwear on. the cleaners were hanging outside for about 20 minutes and cleaning other room.. One lady looked though our window again about 20 minutes later and said "ï wonder if they are still home" then 4 of the cleaners then knocked on the door and so i answered the door with my underwear on and said i dont want my room doing so i didnt put the sign up. We complained to the reception about them being intrusive and some privacy would be nice. The lady said they were not meant to do this. the next morning the manager called us and was ""apologetic" and basically saying it was our fault and that the girls needed to clean our rooms.

This place is great for family but not for couples that want a break äway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross M, Manager at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We are sorry your break was not peaceful which is not the norm but it was the start of the school holidays and Easter as well so the children were obviously quite excited but as you say their parents should keep them under control
As for the interruption from the cleaners the very sign you had on your bed has 'do not disturb" in bold red writing to stop just what happened to you - we would have a lot of complaints if we left all the rooms with no signs out.
What the manageress was saying to you was that the girls are instructed to clean all rooms unless advised otherwise but she didn't say it was your fault just that it would not have happened if you had put your sign out
Your last comment saying the place is not ideal for couples wanting a break away couldn't be further from the truth as you will see from many couples reviews and I suggest if you are looking for a quiet weekend try and avoid holiday weekends especially during the school holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Nice clean accommodation. Comfortable enough. Good amenities. Staff friendly and helpful. However we always require a smoke free room (two members of family have an allergy to tobacco). Sadly smokers are allowed on the veranda and the doors do not seal. We were forced to vacate the lounge room of our apartment early. Bad note to otherwise nice room. Would not recommend if truly seeking smoke free.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We chose the Regal Palms Resort for our first visit to Rotorua and we were not disappopinted and would choose it again despite an initial hiccup. I had booked an overnight stay but a few days before arrival rang to book a second night. However, upon arrival we found the extra booking had not been written down which caused some consternation on both sides. Ultimately another room was found (a two bedroom apartment) but we had to move the next day into our own one bedroom apartment. Ultimately that was what we did but in the manager's defence they kindly moved our packed belongings for us while we went out sightseeing plus throw in two free breakfasts. What this did was give me the opportunity to view two different apartments.This motel provides free wifi (thanks so, so much!) which was so useful. However, in one unit it was clear and uninterrupted while in the other, near the laundry, it was completely unreliable. Something to do with the heavy concrete curving roof and laundry block etc in that corner I suspect. Both units had wonderful spas (jacuzzis) and bathrooms with ample space for bathroom bags. Both had excellent, modern kitchenettes with all mod cons and oven. Both had lovely outside courtyards, delightful for eating breakfast. The in-room breakfasts were served hot, exactly on time and beautifully cooked, couldn't fault them. Also air-conditioning was provided which was a godsend on those hot February nights. The laundry was easily accessed, but I would have liked a pull out line to hang the washing on afterwards in the bathroom. Both units were scrupulously clean, very roomy and quite comfortable. A single armchair (there is already one lounge) would be an asset however - a day bed with little cushions is not a lounge and is uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time for adults. As others have mentioned there is a heated pool as well as mini golf and bikes to hire. This motel is not close to town but it is a short drive and there's easy parking in town where there are a myriad of restaurants. It is also a wonderful choice for those who have difficulties with stairs or those with infants as you can park outside and walk straight into your apartment if you request one on the ground floor. We enjoyed staying at this motel - a true oasis.

Room Tip: Rooms away from laundry have better wifi. Ask for ground floor if you prefer not to have stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews