We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful scenery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Rotorua

Lake Rotorua
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.59*
and up
Lake Rotorua Paddle Boat Cruise with Breakfast or Lunch
Ranked #15 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest of a dozen lakes formed by volcanic activity, this clear, calm lake offers cruises, kayaking and sailing, as well as great trout fishing.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a great area for families, with a very good playground and clean toilets. Also very close to 'Eat Street' if you are looking for somewhere to dine out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KBNZ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    345
    96
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Well kept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The lake itself is kept in good order and the walkways well maintained. Great for a stroll or a run if that's your preference. There is a good area for kids to play on and use up their energy. Try the coffee shop on your stroll.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kazza880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice photo stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Its i a nice place to do some click. Sudima lake resort is just opposite to this lake and some of the room have view of this beautiful lake.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimmyJ167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Largest freshwater lake in Australasia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The lake is immense and we had arrived towards sunset. We decided to try to capture sunset views of the lake at an appropriate angle which meant driving some kilometres South East . Cloud formation was not absolutely ideal for sunset photography but the thermal arisings and the differing colours at the surface of the lake made adequate recompense. The lake is beautiful and has an island reputed to be afloat on pumice from a huge volcanic eruption thousands of years ago. Well worth a visit among many of New Zealand's natural sights.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bookman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I visited the lovely little town of Rotorua in December 2012. From our hotel room we had the first glimpse of Lake Rotorua. It looked nice! After a quick lunch we decided to walk down and take a stroll. As we got closer, the breathtaking view in front of us left us completely in disbelief. The deep blue waters, the white clouds, black and white swans, the mountains on the banks, greenery all around. I had a Nikon point and shoot camera with me and any photo that I clicked was beautiful (No I am not praising my own photography skills!).
Must visit!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlokKarande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing