We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick pitstop”
Review of Third Place Cafe

Third Place Cafe
Ranked #24 of 278 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Third Place Cafe has great views of Lake Rotorua, Mokoia Island, Ohinemutu Geothermal Maori Village and Saint Faiths Historic Church from the indoor and outdoor tables. Fresh food made daily. Full breakfast and Lunch menus, Morning and Afternoon tea. Great Coffee and fresh daily baking. Range of salads, paninis, savouries and sweets. Large selection of cabinet food. Kids play area and baby change table in toilet. Free parking in large carpark next to the cafe. Take away food and beverages. Table service available.
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Though we only stopped for coffees, would definitely visit again. Staff were friendly and coffee was good. The view was great and the treats in the cabinet were very inviting.

Thank jersaremol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2018

Spacious, airy cafe perfect for a quick bite. The food was scrumptious, with generous sized portions and a little reading nook and play area for toddlers which works out perfectly for mothers keen for a bit of peace to thoroughly enjoy a meal. The staff are friendly enough and will happily recommend things for you to do in the area if you ask. An overall lovely experience for our travelling family.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olivia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thanks Olivia. We hope you have a wonderful time here in Rotorua with your family. Let's hope the weather improves. Kind regards Fiona and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

We wandered over to Third Place Cafe from the Rotorua Top 10, after a short visit to the market at Kuirau Park. We had a mini soak of our feet in the mineral pools, then wandered on to Third Place Cfe for mid morning coffee and cake! Great place! Great Food! Great staff! We will be back, for more than just coffee and cake!

Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thanks Greg, sounds like you had a wonderful Saturday morning here in Rotorua. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Fiona & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We came here on the advice of locals and I'm so pleased we did. It looks nothing much from the outside and is pretty cafe standard style look on the inside. But the food was fantastic. I decided to have a lamb platter and it was such a lovely dish and so nice to see something a little different on the menu. It has a lovely view overlooking Ohinemutu but if they ever do a refurb then here is the opportunity. Because sitting down it's pretty hard to enjoy it.

I was particularly impressed with the care that the lady who was taking orders took with two older (and I think local) people. She really took her time and made sure she understood exactly what they wanted. Older people often can't make decisions quickly and she gave them the space to consider what they wanted. I certainly didn't mind waiting when I witnessed such special care and service.

I will definitely be back when next in Rotorua.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you very much for your great review of our cafe. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Hubby had the stuff chicken breast and I had the stuffed Mediterranean flatbread. Hubs enjoyed his, mine was good but I'd try something else next time. We both had yummy fresh side salads. Good view over the lake and marae.

Thank krison2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thanks for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Third Place Cafe also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Third Place Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing