We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sequoia Eatery Rotorua

Sequoia Eatery Rotorua
Ranked #32 of 218 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$18
Cuisines: Cafe, Fusion, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Rotorua's newest hotspot, Sequoia Eatery (The Old Office Cafe). We're excited to bring you the freshest food with the friendliest service all in our beautiful, bright café, located on Tarawera Rd. We welcome large groups as well as kids who will love our fun playroom. Stop in on your way to the Redwoods and lakes, and make sure you come on down for a beer or wine after work on Friday, for our famous Tapas night! Sequoia Eatery - fueling your adventures.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Love the private rooms. coffee and food was excellent and the staff were very pleasant. Would definitely recommend as a good breakfast place. Close to the redwoods too

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    22
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

would try somewhere else next time..... First day, they were busy. 45 minute wait for lunch was too long so we left. At least they told us just as we were to order. Next day, not so busy so got our food. It was just OK. Nothing special.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Ho hum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This cafe is attached to The Outdoorsman store, a very popular well situated stop on the way to several tourist attractions, so I'm sure they get a lot of business.

The cafe has moved from the centre of the shop to a side wing which used to be an administration block, hence, you are dining in seventies style glassed offices, kinda of witty, kinda doesn't work though. For a start, there's fluorescent lighting overhead, it's horrible, in fact due to the windows and the weather that day, it wasn't needed so we switched it off in our cubicle. The place has no atmosphere.

The coffee is not great really. And I was careful to pick a gluten free steak salad, which then arrived completely drowned in crispy noodles! The menu needs to be clearer.

A disappointing experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Isolde E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
701 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I recently ate here with my son. We had purchased vouchers for a two for one type deal. Staff were very friendly and hot chocolate and coffe very good. Meals were off a good size but the big breakfast we both had was just average.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sequoia Eatery Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Sequoia Eatery Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing