We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Rotorua(Rotorua)
US$126
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$151
US$122
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$92
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
151
26
8
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
26
8
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbridal veil fallspheasant cottagevenisonestate tourskeet shootingnew zealandfly fishingestate managergravel trackprivate estateother guestsmaori traditionsbush walkwhite islandcocktail hourspecial thanksgreat couple of days
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2012

James greeted us on our arrival and with each request we heard "All things are possible at Treetops." (I miss him already!) The guest rooms in the lodge are luxurious if not large. The food and wine are superb. Keegan is a fabulous young and hardworking chef and the staff (all of them) are just the best. They anticipate your needs and truly care if you enjoy your stay. They will arrange anything you'd like to do nearby and the cocktail hour before dinner was my favorite time in the beautiful lodge. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and comparing stories of our day. We highly recommend a visit here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the backside of the lodge as the parking area can be busy. They do have lovely smaller outbuildings that are beautiful and a quick walk gets you to the lodge.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We enjoyed the atmosphere at Treetops where we could really escape from the rest part of the world. The cottage we stayed is good, but we dont think it match the price, but fairly speaking we have no chance to experience the other lodge or villa and made comparison.
Since we are looking for rural and remote setting, we dont mind to drive a lot from highway to the gate, or even between the main lodge and the cottage, in fact , this was interesting and the first time on trip that we need to go back to the room by driving from 'lobby', haha. But, i quite puzzle that why the road condition inside the gate is worse than outside, and should we make it better ?
One more comment which is: Since the lodge is SO remote and there is least chance / option that the guests can easily find restaurants nearby for their dinner, and thus, does the dinner should be included in the bill ? and it would be more acceptable that if the bill is marked up then, rather than is 'compulsary' to pay extra for the expensive meal.

Room Tip: Cottages are too far away from the 'lobby'.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kai nam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

If you are looking for a nice lodge experience in New Zealand try treetops if your wallet will allow. Great grounds and very nice staff, but food is not what we expect from a very expensive and exclusive place and their activities are way overpriced! You can fish, boat or take helicopter trips for significantly less From other companies I the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerdeb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Treetops was an incredible way to start our honeymoon. We went for the "escape to luxury package" which includes meals, massages, and more. It was extraordinarily relaxing to have gourmet meals, hiking, mountain biking, fishing, reading relaxing and massages all in one place, all organised, all inclusive ... and without having to go to a beach mega resort to get this experience. I highly recommend going for this sort of all inclusive activity holiday in the mountains and I highly recommend doing it at Treetops. The only catch, of course, is that it doesn't come cheap. But go anyway, its fabulous.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYLON2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Treetops Lodge was one of the most luxurious and special stays on our trip to New Zealand. John Moore and his staff were friendly and experienced with knowing what travelers want. Accomodations beautiful and comfortable -- excellent dining -- interesting guests we met for cocktails and dinner there. Overall a truly memorable experience.
Mary & Brad Smart

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews