We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget but Ok”
Review of Malones Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malones Motel
Ranked #66 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed here because other reviews said the bed was comfy, it was not too bad, and we needed trailer parking. The staff are friendly and helpful. The free internet did not work in our room, we requested a room change but they said no. The spa is great although the shower is over the spa and it does not have a slide rail, making quite a mess when you shower. It is old and was tidy but not overly clean. In summary I'd say you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you want wifi check it works do not get a room on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebekaKelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

Fantastic location. How nice to have comfortable room with spa and sky lcd tv. Good bed with appropriate mattress for back ache. Excellent value for money.
Would strngly recommend to vistors
Mamoon and Géo (Brussels-Belgium)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

had to book last minute for 3 nights for 2 adults and 3 kids on a public holiday long weekend because my prior accomadation let me down! Luckily Malones was able to accomadate us. Spa pool was awesum kids had a blast, free wifi was a bonus, unit abit grubby but price was okay. Friendly asian owners but Could do with a playground or something for the kids to do.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makos666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The Motel was what we expected for the price we paid. It was cosy and comfortable. The Motel managers were nice helpful.

Room Tip: Really Do look at what you want for the price you are paying A hotel may be a better option for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRKALAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We picked this motel on a drive by and aren't we glad. The rooms are spacious with cooking facilities if you need them. Lovely VERY comfy queen bed and a huge LCD TV. The spa was just magnificent especially after a day out sight seeing. The rate was very good compared to some other very run down places who wanted to charge the same or just a little less.

We found a lovely place to eat within walking distance in the Boulevard cafe and restaurant which was great value as the ones in the strip in Rotorua are really expensive with most over $30 for mains.

Motel is a car ride to the centre of town, but this was not an issue for us. Overall great hospitality and a lovely comfortable place that had everything we required and more.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triptrouble9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

I was accompanying my partner to a conference in Rotorua and had to book accommodation last minute. This was one of the only hotels that had any vacancies for both nights we were staying. It's nothing fancy but it is clean and spacious. We were put into the room that was right next to the road but it wasn't noisy at all. However, during the night, they parked a bus between our room and the road which was a strange sight to wake up to! The queen bed was really comfortable and they had extra pillows in the closet (very important for me!). The spa bath, which is located in a private outside area, is very nice and VERY powerful. Had spas both nights we stayed. The hotel is located a bit too far from the main shops of town to walk everyday - would need a car. I'm only giving the service 3/5 because although it was friendly, housekeeping did take a muffin that I left on the table which I was saving for dessert :-(

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJTAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and looked at 4 other hotels before deciding for this one. It was a busy weekend and all hotels were expensive but this one was $100 per night, which was relatively cheap compared to other places.

The good:
- Clean and relatively new
- Very helpful and friendly staff
- Free Wireless Internet for the days we stayed (but usually costs money)
- Spa inside the unit
- Large TV

The bad:
- No real kitchen area - no stove
- Dishes a bit dirty

Overall, a very good experience

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWtraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#58 of 92 in Rotorua
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#39 of 92 in Rotorua
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,274 reviews
0 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malones Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malones Motel

Address: 321 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £50 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malones Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Malones Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing