We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sport of Kings Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kings On Peace(Rotorua)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brylin Motel(Rotorua)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malones Motel(Rotorua)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,307)
Filter reviews
1,307 results
Traveller rating
1,036
236
24
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,036
236
24
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreshly ground coffeeglow worm tourprivate spareclining chairsheated poolquiet streetnew zealandfresh milkwonderful hostsplace to stayhot spalaundry facilitieslocal attractionsstayed longerfree wifihome away from homestayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,240 - 1,245 of 1,307 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2006

This property is located just off the main drag of Rotorua, which is great as its away from the noise of the main highway, but close enough to get to all the attractions Rotorua has to offer. The reception staff are absolutely wonderful, and are well informed of all and any activities in the area. The rooms are probably a little small, and I would find it a bit confining if I stayed for longer then a couple of nights. However, having a spa pool in our room, more than made up for this so was o.k in the end. This motel has a great pool, heated all year round, and hooray! A place that recognises with two adults and two children you need more then four towels in a room. Great for a few days rest and relaxation in a town that has a lot to offer. (If you can get over the sulphur smell).

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Don'tbenosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2006

We stayed here with our three children (6,11 & 13). It was great to find a motel with a unit that could accommodate us all in bedrooms, with noone sleeping in the lounge.

The motel was very comfortable and clean, and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. They were always available to help and answer questions. Our children loved the swimming pool which was 36°C!

As we had travelled to Rotorua for the mountain-biking, we had bikes with us, and it was wonderful that at this motel they had lock-up storage for our bikes.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kiwi_Zoeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Auckland, New Zealand
17
Reviewed 15 March 2006

The motel was great, beds comfortable, rooms clean. A great place for families.

Close to the main centre but in a quiet street with offstreet parking.

Our kids are 10, 12 & 15 they really made use of the outside pool and the spas attached to our rooms.

The staff were very friendly and arranged reservations for us and a complimentary pickup/return to the Gondolas when we went there for dinner.

Overall I would say this is a great place to stay and we will be returning and recommending The Sport of Kings to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2005

Our accommodation had been chosen for us, by family, and we were pleasantly surprised at the standard. The place was easy to find, and not far from the main drag (easily walkable), although far enough to be a quiet and peaceful place to stay. Not ever having done the motel thing before, we were more than pleased with the facilities: the room had plenty of space, the kitchenette was stocked with all the essentials (plates, pots, etc), and the bathroom and shower were spacious and clean. We have travelled to many places, and usually choose a 4 or 5 star hotel. However, this was far more impressive than most of the major chain hotels.
The adjacent pool and spas were an added bonus, and although we didn't get time to use the spa, the pool was wonderful, especially at 36 degrees celsius.
Being led by the Rough Guide to New Zealand, we arrived in Rotorua with a fair few things in mind to do. However, our hosts made further recommendations in response to this, suggesting that some places were better than those found in the guide. We followed their advice and had the time of our lives.
It was totally hassle free. We were booked on excursions and were picked up, all of which was taken care of by our hosts. All we had to do was sit back and enjoy the ride.
There is a lot to do in Rotorua, but taking the advice of those who know was the best thing we did.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank fezray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews