We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sport of Kings Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$168
US$136
Novotel
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$524
US$442
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,306)
Filter reviews
1,306 results
Traveller rating
1,035
236
24
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,035
236
24
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreshly ground coffeeglow worm tourprivate spareclining chairsheated poolquiet streetnew zealandfresh milkwonderful hostsplace to stayhot spalaundry facilitieslocal attractionsstayed longerfree wifihome away from homestayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,141 - 1,146 of 1,306 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Napier. Very friendly owners, basic standard motel accommodation but exceptionally clean and we had a very comfortable nights sleep. I thought this was very good value for money in Rotorua and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biscuit6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

We are delighted that your beds were very comfortable & that you had a good nights sleep,really important when traveling. Also that yo found us to be good value. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks for your review.
Regards Ian & Jyl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The owners are very friendly and helpful. Helped us to find a nice Thai restaurant to have our Christmas dinner. The room is spacious and tidy. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We traveled in a group of four adults. Booked a two bedroom unit with a queen bed in one room and four single beds in the other.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Was so great that you enjoyed your stay. It is our pleasure to be able to help our guests find the restaurant to suit their tastes. This one is our favourite when we are able to have a night off. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Regards Ian & Jyl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Hi, just came back from a tour of the north Island. We were at the hotel for 4 nights. It is a motel, not a hotel, this must be kept in mind. It is small and not a 30 story building with lifts, hundreds of guests, concierge and whatnot. It is the norm in Rotorua and most of New Zealand really. When we went to the Tamaki village we were brought to the various other motels to pick up guests. Was reasonably happy with our choice seeing the other motels. Owners are ridiculously nice and go out of their way to be helpful. Guys - hope the operation went well and recovered in time for Christmas. Your replacements when you were away were nice, but not anyway near the level of yourselves. We enjoyed the place and rotorua in general. Hassan

Room Tip: rooms looked equally nice from what we could see
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hassanScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

You are very gracious in your review thank you. It is our aim to be really helpful & to treat our guests as ROYALTY @ the Sport Of Kings. We are delighted that you were happy with your choice to stay here.
The operation went really well, very succesful, thank you, I fell great, heaps more energy, no more medication, Yippe. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ. We look forward to visiting your country some day.
Kind regards Ian & Jyl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Basic NZ hotel room with kitchen. Clean. No complaints.
Hot tub is nice feature, I like really hot water in a hot tub-- this one was not hot enough. Sulfer smell comes with the hot water-- of course, this is Rotorua. Well thought out divider between room and private hot tub area, so no trouble with condensation.
The owners were away during our stay and the locum host was pleasant but did not have any knowledge about the city. For example, the covering host could not find the phone number for the i-Site.
Location: Not in central city. We walked with our luggage from the i-Site, this was a mistake- it was quite a long walk with luggage.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Hot Tub Spa's. However we are sorry that it was not quite as hot as you would have prefered. Sometimes the wife wonts it hotter while the husband wants it cooler or visa versa. Also we are under local regulation to consider that young chilren may go in with their parents.
Sorry that we were away when you were here, but I had a late call up to hospital for 3 days for an operation. We were lucky to be able to find Locum Host @ such short notice. We apologise for their lack of local knowledge. However we are pleased they drove you into town & later returned you to the City Centre, exactly what we would expect them to do.
All the best for the new year.
Regards Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed for a night, good location and well managed apartment. The oweners are extremely helpful... assisted us in drying our laundry in their own comercial dryer to speed up the process. We were very lucky that my son left his wallet in the room, the owners took the initiaive to trace us all the way at Wai-O-Tapu, managed to return to the motel and got back his wallet.... Thanks Ian and Jyl

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khongsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to be able to trace you @ Waiotapa so we were could return your son's wallet. We had a similar situation while on holiiday with our grandsons. One of them left his somewhere however we could not trace it. This caused him some grief-- we didnt wont you to have the same. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ.
Regards Ian & Jyl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews