We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service - we'll be back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sport of Kings Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly service - we'll be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just spent 3 days at Sport of Kings with our netball team (booked 2 x 1 bdrm apartments and 1 x 2 bdrm apartment). PERFECT for our team - full kitchen with dishwasher, lots of beds, plenty of towels (quite a feat with 5 girls in the 1 apartment). The facilities were the cherry on top for our team - 2 large private spas next to our 2 bdrm apartment, private spas inside our 1 bdrm apartments, the large toasty heated outdoor pool was our favourite (complete with pretty garden lights at night and a great BBQ area that our team put to use). But more importantly, the service was super friendly (even when we got a bit noisy on Sat night - sorry!). They even finished up laundering our netball uniforms and delivered them to our room - nice to have that done for us after a long day playing. It was such a great stay, we already re-booked for next year :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_lovin_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you all to stay and I am so pleased you liked our rooms and facilities!
Our outdoor pool and BBQ is great for groups with a large BBQ table poolside it is the perfect area to cater for a large group while enjoying the beautiful outdoor heated pool!
Our 2 bedroom apartment are great for groups having separate bedroom and large lounge and kitchen - they have everything you need! And with spa pools to relax weary bodies after a day of playing - what more could you want?
Take care and we look forward to seeing you all again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    220
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
393
551
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Great little motel with spacious rooms.we were greeted by tristan and pete who were lovely and so helpful. the motel has great little private spas and a heated pool which is a bonus. our stay was slightly ruined by noisy guests playing music at 7am and the very slow wifi. tristan did reassure us that had we informed her it would have been sorted therefore we cannot really fault this place for other people to stay.. maybe we just had a slightly noisy neighbours!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank england12320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and I am so sorry about the noise! There was a large netball tournament on in Rotorua when you stayed I am sorry the girls were a bit noisy! I will ensure that next year the teams are quieter and let others know to advise us if there is noise as we will definately go and ask them to be quiet! Sorry again!
We are in the process of getting a new High Speed Wifi system installed so soon it will be fast and super efficient!
Take care and thank you again for staying with us! Let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taihape, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

OUr netball team stayed here again for 3 nights, and again enjoyed our visit. The managers are new and what lovely people they are, they went the extra mile in providing us with top customer service. We have booked in to go back again next year i highly recommend this place lovely rooms, awesome pool and spa's and awesome staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you all here again!!
Our rooms and pool had been done up since your last visit and are looking amazing! We are glad you like what we have done!
Take care and we look forward to seeing you all again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Sport of Kings Motel is everything you wish you'd experience on your
holiday. As you start dreaming up your hotel experience and browse
the accomodation options, Sport of Kings stands out as the one place
that just doesn't require you to compromise. Want to sleep in a great
bed, but want it to be centrally located? Want it to be in a
happening place where tourist attractions are just a walk away but
don't want to deal with the noise of tour buses and tourists passing?
Want to have a swimming pool, a chance to bbq, a hot pool at your
disposal that you can walk to in your jandles and not pay an
additional fee? Well, let's really dream now come on, might as well
wish for a private geothermic spa pool inside the bedroom
too...But...While we're dreaming, let's also make it affordable. Oh,
and while we're dreaming this much, let's just require that everyone
be pleasant and genuine too.

Welcome to the Sport of Kings Motel, a family-managed establishment
that's been around for decades and making a new comeback under new
management. The fact that it's family-managed is what you need to
catch here, it's their home and they treat you like family...We're
talking like you wake up to see Pete, your host; washing your car's
windshield at 7:30am, at no extra cost, no tricks, just coz he can and
he's that kind of person.

Tristen, his wife and your other host at the motel is dazzling with
her energy and sincerity in advising you to the better places in and
around town to make your experience as down to earth and rewarding as
possible. The advice we received from her saw us experience places
(cafes and shows) that we would have otherwise missed through sheer
lack of local know-how.

All those things you think you'll want to get away for, this place and
this family makes sure you get. The best part of it all is the human
respect you receive...The last thing any traveler wants after a long
journey is to arrive to short sentences, weak eye contact and fake
greetings. Sport of Kings management sees to it that you arrive and
think 'Wow, I'm so glad we chose this place'

Go for it.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a private spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ttravellingreviewerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you so much for your absolutely amazing review! It was such a pleasure to have you both to stay and we are so pleased to hear you had such a great time!
We are very proud of our motel and what we offer our guests. We want you all to feel that you are home away from home and to be totally relaxed and comfortable ans it is so nice to hear that people do enjoy it!
It is nice to have the spa pools and swimming pools that are free for all of our guests to use so that you can relax and enjoy you time in Rotorua!
We meet some wonderful people in the job we do and it is people like yourselves that make our job just so wonderful!
Take care and please let us know next time you are planning a trip to Rotorua - we would love to see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The rooms were spacious and clean. The pool was fantastic and at night with the lights on it added to the ambience. We stayed for two nights and it was a great location. The owners were friendly and helpful with local information so we didn't miss any of the wonderful sights of Rotorua. Would throughly recommend this hotel to anyone and when over again it will be my choice of stay again.

Room Tip: During winter our room was heater so in summer it would have the A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanieLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
The heated outdoor pool is great and so nice at night under the stars - and the subtle lighting just adds to the lovely relaxed feel!
Our rooms are spacious and have everything you need, some with full kitchens and some with kitchenettes, some with spas and some without - something to suit everyone!
Take care and let us know next time you are over this way - it would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

we stay here for 2 nights, it's amzing, worth to stay here, great location, room is clean and lovely, Tristen is a fairly nice and helpful host, warm welcome to us, the thermally heated swimming pool is more better than polynesian, more clean and more

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shutingchen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you all to stay with us!
And I love your photo of the pool at night - is is so nice under the stars with the great lighting!
The pool is wonderful and is so nice to have it so you do not have to go anywhere!
Take care and let us know if you are back over this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

After a long drive from whitianga I had a glance at Tripadvisor Snead usual put my trust in the reviews there. Another good choice !
Friendly service beyond words, the lovely last went out of her way to give me a great room with in room spa and a good price with it.
The room has all you require, 2 flat screen tv's, microwave, plates cutlery etc, separate towels for shower and spa.
DVD player was installed on request at no charge and they have an uptodate library of movies.
The outdoor heated pool was a lovely treat after a long drive, followed by my in room spa.
By the way, make sure you go to Sabroso if you want a tasty and reasonably priced meal.
The best thing about the Sport of Kings, without doubt the friendly help at all costs service, I'll be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay and I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us!
Our 1 bedroom spa apartments are great and have everything you need after a long day! And the spa is so nice and relaxing!!
Our outdoor thermally heated swimming pool is so nice to relax in also and you sleep so well after a long soak!!
Take care and let us know next time you are down this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing