We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Location off the main road is just one of the many advantages of the Sport of Kings. The room was large and clean, and came with a well-equipped kitchen. Heating ensured that the room was warm on arrival, which is something that is always welcome. The queen size bed was comfortable and the quiet locality ensured a good night’s sleep. The staff were friendly and happy to assist with information, tour bookings and laundry, making the stay very relaxing. The Sport of Kings is located just of Fenton Road, which is a hotel/motel strip. Surprisingly there are very few restaurants within walking distance. This is unlikely to be an issue for guests at the Sport of Kings being self-catering accommodation. Two supermarkets with extended opening hours are just a very short drive up Fenton Road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waddles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
Being located just off the main road we don't get the traffic noise so you can relax in peace and quiet while being amongst all of the motels!
Our rooms are homely, comfortable and newly refurbished and our team pride themselves in what they do which you can see as soon as you walk into a room!
Take care and let us know if you are back over this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,245)
There are newer reviews for Sport of Kings Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

856 - 862 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Super friendly staff and very clean facilities and lovely surrounds. Kids enjoyed the pool and spa. Good sized two bedroom hotel rooms and good services in the kitchen. They also gave us a good recommendation for some geo thermal spots.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank 5holdens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you all to stay!
Our 2 bedroom apartments are great for families with plenty of room and two bedrooms so the kids can go to bed and the parents are able to stay up in the lounge! Our geothermally heated spa pools and swimming pool are fantastic too - with the BBQ and BBQ table poolside perfect for the whole family to have fun, relax and enjoy!
Being Rotorua locals we know all the best spots to go in and around Rotorua and we have discounts available for many Rotorua attractions!
Thanks again and please let us know if you are back in Rotorua - it would be great to have you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very helpful and enthusiastic hosts but I found they were out of touch with what was happening in the city. The rooms while clean and functional were basic. Wifi access was flakey and not up to current day expectations.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sreyemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are the managers of the Sport of Kings and were away during your visit and I am so sorry to hear that your stay was not up to our usual standards! I can ensure that if you come back again we will definitely make your stay better!
Sorry to hear about the issues with the WIFI also. This is normally fantastic and I have had a look into the problems you were having which is now resolved. We are in the process of getting a much faster system installed so soon it should be the best you can get!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Absolutely great accommodation! Loved staying here and would again if we get the chance. Thoroughly recommend! Loved the private spa and the comfy chairs and bed. Great value at the price too. But best of all was the lovely hosts, with their great help and advice, always ready to make us feel like family. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and hopefully you will get back to stay again in the future!
Our private geothermally heated spa pools are wonderful and so relaxing after a busy day as are our super comfy lazy boy chairs! We are so pleased you liked them! Much nicer than sitting on a bed to watch TV!!
We love our job and meeting people like yourselves and hearing comments like yours is the reason we do what we do! Thank you!!
Take care and we hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have stayed at the Sport of Kings 3 times before and will certainly stay with them again when I next visit Rotorua! My friend and I found Tristen, Pete and Mikayla absolutely wonderful hosts and by the end of your stay you felt like part of their family :) Tristen is always available to answer any question or help in any way possible. The motel itself is clean, comfortable and great value money. Our rooms had everything we needed, and the private thermal spa attached to the room was wonderful.
I would definitely recommend this motel to anyone staying in Rotorua!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nh993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay again!
We meet some wonderful people in our job and meeting people like yourselves makes our job what it is - fantastic!! Getting comments like yours is the reason we go our our way to do everything we can to make our guests stay as memorable as possible! We want you to enjoy our beautiful city as much as we do!
We have a wonderful team working with us who take pride in everything they do which is evident when you meet then and come and stay in our rooms!
Take care and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay out door g o thermal pool and spar room very clean our room had it's own thermal spare in it's own private room 38c has cooking all pots pans included the owners are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moloneywayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review!
Our Geothermally heated private spa pools and outdoor swimming pool are fantastic and the perfect way to relax after a busy day! The pool is looking great being newly landscaped and with gorgeous lighting it is so peaceful and inviting at night as well as during the day!
Take care and let us know if you are back over this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I can't say enough good things about this motel and its owners. They were really friendly, the rooms were immaculate and the facilities were great. Would definitely recommend this to people staying in that area and I will be staying there anytime I'm in Rotorua. Seriously, they were great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay and we are looking forward to your next visit!
We are so pleased you enjoyed our motel, we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and our facilities and it is great to hear that people like what we offer.
Take care and we look forward to seeing you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £72 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing