We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was a great place to stay in Rotorua. It was off the main road and was nice and quiet.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful. There is an outside heated pool which was just wonderful even on a not so nice day.
We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris5072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
Being situated in a quiet residential street just off the main road but still amongst all of the motels and closet to famous Rotorua attractions, you can relax in peace and quiet yet being central to everything!
Our geothermally heated outdoor swimming pool is fantastic day and night, the perfect way to relax after a busy day and a great way to wake up in the morning!
Take care and let us know next time you are down this way - it would be great to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a family holiday. We loved the spa pools which we used frequently and were so warm and relaxing. Our hosts were extremely friendly and provided some great recommendations for our time in Rotarua. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephmacmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you all to stay!
Our private spa pools are wonderful! They are the perfect way to relax at the then end of a busy day or a great way to start your day!! And our heated outdoor swimming pool is fantastic to - another great way to relax!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Like everyone says, they're really friendly and helpful. Just one example of how nice they were - our pram was broken by New Zealand airlines and so we had no pram for the whole trip, and guess what, Tristen lent us a pram to get around Rotorua!

Great value for what you get. Not really a negative - the room we booked is more for a family (which is what we wanted) rather than a luxury getaway. Slightly away from the town centre, but I presume most people would be driving anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuhkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you all to stay - hopefully next time you can stay a bit longer!
I am pleased we could help you with a pram - it is so hard when you do not have what you need and we like to do everything we can to help where possible! I hope the pram you got for the rest of your trip was okay and that your one is back now!
The two bedroom apartment you were in is great for a family, with plenty of space and everything you need to feel at home and make your stay comfortable and relaxed!
With private spa pools, newly decorated rooms, heated outdoor swimming pool and BBQ area, you have everything you need to make your holiday perfect!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed two nights last week at Sport of Kings Motel. We have stayed at many Motels in Rotorua over the years. This would be by far be the best. Tristen and Pete are great Hosts nothing was too much trouble. Booked a one bedroom spa unit, lovely decor, the unit was very clean with Lazi-boy chairs in the lounge. My husband and I loved the outdoor pool which was lovely and warm. We would recommend Sport of Kings if ever you are in Rotorua. Have already told all our friends and family. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Couple1821937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay!
Our 1 bedroom spa apartments are lovely rooms having everything you need including the super comfy lazy boy recliner chairs and you own private spa pool - the perfect way to relax after a busy day and you sleep so well afterwards!
And our geothermally heated outdoor swimming pool is so nice, the perfect temperature to relax in day and night and especially nice at night with the lovely lighting!
We look forward to seeing you again and meeting your family and friends!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our room was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed for our two nights stay. Never having been in NZ, the hosts, Tristen and Pete, helped us with planning our activities in the area. All the suggestions were on target and we enjoyed everything that was recommended. Breakfasts delivered to the room were excellent. Pete, the host is also a fishing guide. We hired him to take us fishing and he was terrific. We caught fish and even if we had not, his demeanor, professionalism and stories made the trip an experience that went beyond our expectations. The fishing trip was one of the highlights of our trip to NZ. Should we ever visit Rotorua again, there is no doubt that Sport of Kings would be our first choice..

John & Betty from Texas and Eva from Hong Kong

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Hello John, Betty and Eva, it was such a pleasure to have you to stay with us - we wish you could have stayed longer!
I am so pleased you enjoyed your fishing charter with Pete - he is one of the top guides in Rotorua and as you can see is absolutely passionate about fishing and the outdoors! With many years experience he knows the best places, times and ways to catch fish and I do not think you could find a guide who would catch more or who would deliver such a professional, entertaining and wonderful experience! And it was delicious!!
Being Rotorua locals we know all the best things to see and do in Rotorua and I am so pleased you enjoyed everything you did in our beautiful city!
Take care and please let us know if you are back this way - we would love to see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our stay in Rotorua was rather brief unfortunately with only one night, but I was very pleased to have chosen this motel from the selection on the internet. The family running it are lovely and were very helpful in their suggestions for things to do in Rotorua on our tight schedule. They booked dinner for us at a scenic restaurant while we were checking in and told us the best time to visit thermal areas to avoid tourist buses. The room was very clean and tidy and a soak in the outside thermally heated swimming pool was just the thing after a busy day touring. The motel is only a short drive to the city centre but is very quiet with no traffic noise. I would definitely stay there again when returning to Rotorua.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
Our heated thermally heated swimming pool is the best way to relax after a busy day - fantastic during the day and amazing at night with the gorgeous lighting - and you sleep so well afterwards!
There are so many things to do in our beautiful city and being Rotorua locals we know the best kept secrets of our beautiful surroundings! We love helping people cram as much as they can into their time with us and we will do everything we can to help!!
Take care and let us know if you are back over this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights with family. All the way from the Scottish Highlands on an 'autumn break'. Booked the spa suites, three in total, all of which afforded very comfortable accommodation. Superbly sited in a quite area, close to the amenities, and the local knowledge of our hosts ensured our short stay was packed with many things to fill our days. The optional breakfast was a delight and highly recommended as you don't have to leave early to source a convenient restaurant. All in all, a superb service from our hosts who thoroughly deserve the super comments that they have attracted on TA.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murdo428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and kind words! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and your family and we enjoyed your stay as much as you did!
Being located on a quiet residential street you do not get normal city noise yet we are amongst all of the motels and famous Rotorua attractions - the perfect quiet place to relax after a busy day!
Being Rotorua locals we know all the best things to see and do in our amazing city and it is wonderful being able to share this knowledge with our guests, especially those who have come from overseas to explore the best parts of what New Zealand has to offer!
I am so pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts - it is great being able have breakfast delivered without having to step outside - you really feel like you are on holiday!!
Take care and let us know if any of you are back this way - it would be wonderful to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
735 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £77 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing