We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My partner and I stayed at sport of kings for four nights and five days. We had the best time and the motel was amazing. The owners were very helpful and looked after us. When we go back to rotorua we will defiantly be staying back there. Highly recommend this motel to anyone looking at staying in rotorua.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie-lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you both to stay!
It is so good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Or newly refurbished rooms, thermally heated outdoor swimming and private spa pools make your stay with us relaxing and perfect! Take care and let us know next time you are back this way! it would be great to see you both again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Staying here was the best stay I've had in Rotorua, and I've been to Rotorua 5 times in my life.
The staff were all SUPER friendly, generous, kind, the service was fantastic, the pool and spa was terrific, overall the best 3 day stay every!

Couples/Friends trip

Room Tip: We stayed in Number 12 and 13, both rooms with bedrooms next to your own private spa, and right next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatPeraza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you all to stay!!
Our private spa pools are fantastic to relax after a busy day and our thermally heated otdoor swimming pool and BBQ area is the perfect place to spend a great evening!
Your photos are great and the BBQ looks soooo good!
Take care and let us know next time you are down this way - it would be great to have you all to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This motel was the best place we have stayed in three weeks of travelling. The hosts were amazing and there staff very helpful. The hot tubs is a bonus to the apartment, very nice after sightseeing. The motel is well situated in a quite location just off of the main strip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 248Trish63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! it was a pleasure to have you both to stay!
We have a great team and we are all here to help make your stay in or beautiful city perfect!!
Our private spa pools are amazing, the perfect way to relax after a busy day as is our thermally heated outdoor swimming pool and BBQ area!
Being situated just off the main street away from the traffic noise, you can relax in peace and quiet but still being in the middle of our beautiful city close to many famous attractions!
Take care and let us know if we can be of any assistance in the future! It would be great to have you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Having been to Rotovegas alot over the years this is only motel I would go back to. Maybe i just have bad luck? This motel has super friendly/ helpful owners. The facilities are spotless and there is a heated pool, bbq and spas to use. Abit out of town but at least its quiet. Really good

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It as a pleasure to have you to stay!
Being located on a quiet residential street just off the main street but still amongst all of the motels, we are away from the noise of traffic so you can relax in peace and quiet yet being close to many famous Rotorua attractions!
Our thermally heated outdoor swimming pool is the perfect temperature summer and winter and is the perfect way to relax after a busy day or perfect to get your day off to a great start!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be gra tot have you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed here in August for a week and it was even better than we expected. We had a limited time here and wanted to experience as much as possible. I had some plans for what to see and do but no real idea what was worthwhile. Pete and Tristen were able to recommend what was worthwhile to see, how to get there and even made the arrangements for us. They also managed to get us discounts on the places we wanted to go to anyway.

The accomodation was perfect for us. Loads of space, quiet, and lovely hot pool and jacuzzi. It was almost like a small flat instead of a room. Everything was clean and tidy. I couldn't recommend this place enough or find any fault with it.

Thank you Tristen and Pete for helping to make our New Zealand trip so good.

Tom and Kathleen Cleary

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay!
Being Rotora locals we know a lot about our city and the best places to go, things to see and many hidden gems! We love sharing our knowledge with our guests so they can explore our beautiful area and get the most out of their time in our wonderful city! And having discounts for many famous Rotorua attraction is a bonus!!
Our rooms are confortable and quiet and have everything you need for a wonderful holiday!! And our heated outdoor swimming pool and private spa pools just top it off! The perfect way to relax after a busy time exploring everything there is to see!
Take care and let us know if you are back over this way - it would be great to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The rooms are extremely clean and have a very new feel to them. The owners are amazing and so very helpful I will defiantly stay there again. My experience with Sport of Kings was by far the best and the customer service was 10/10. The outside area was beautiful we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyse48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
We have a wonderful team who all care about the motel and this is evident when you see the cleanliness and care that goes into looking after our guests! Our rooms have been recently refurbished and are kept to the highest of standards with ongoing upgrading and refurbishments!
Our newly landscaped outdoor pool and BBQ area is fantastic day and night - the perfect quiet place to relax and enjoy!
Take care and let us know next time you are down this way - it would be great to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was a great place to stay in Rotorua. It was off the main road and was nice and quiet.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful. There is an outside heated pool which was just wonderful even on a not so nice day.
We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris5072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
Being situated in a quiet residential street just off the main road but still amongst all of the motels and closet to famous Rotorua attractions, you can relax in peace and quiet yet being central to everything!
Our geothermally heated outdoor swimming pool is fantastic day and night, the perfect way to relax after a busy day and a great way to wake up in the morning!
Take care and let us know next time you are down this way - it would be great to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
736 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £77 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing