We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and wonderful hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service and wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at Sport of Kings in November for 2 nights while visiting Rotorua. Owners were so wonderful in making our stay comfortable, and went out of the way to help us book excellent restaurants and tours. We enjoyed the spa tub in separate room of suite, this was a real plus, specially after a whole day hike and activity. Room was very clean and comfortable. Fabulous area, close to redwood forest, and Rotorua city center, but in a very quiet neighborhood. Excellent service and great hospitality! Highly recommend this fabulous motel! Pete, Tristan and lovely baby Mikaela, Thank you for an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsunvpcalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - it was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay!
Being located on a quiet side street just off the main road, you are away from the traffic noise yet amongst all of the motels and close to many famous Rotorua attractions! The best of both worlds!
Our 1 bedroom spa apartments are great with your own private spa pool - the perfect place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing - and you sleep so well afterwards!
Our outdoor heated swimming pool is great too - so relaxing and peaceful - especially at night under the lights!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    222
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
398
554
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I am so glad there was a vacancy when I arrived as I had not booked ahead. I was given the option of a spa/no spa and even tho the pool looked wonderfully enticing I chose the spa. So worth it - having a spa you can step into and out of at leisure. There is parking for one car per unit, the furnishings are comfortable, there is plenty of space in the units and the bed is great. Tristen and Pete are extremely helpful, booking tours and suggesting options based on local knowledge and experience. It is no surprise these guys get such good reviews as they are prepared to help above and beyond what you would reasonably expect. Will certainly return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Book well ahead to ensure you get a room then spoil yourself and take the spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisinCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! it was a pleasure to have you to stay with us!
Our 1 bedrooms spa apartments are wonderful with your own private spa to relax after a busy day - perfect! And you sleep so well afterwards!
Thanks for the great photos - they are brilliant!
Being locals we know all the good spots and many secret spots and we love sharing our local knowledge so our guests get to see what our amazing city has to offer!
Take care and let us know if you are back over this way - it would be great to see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed here with my mum for three nights and we had a one bedroom unit with a spa (which was nice and relaxing to have) and found the hosts (Ian and Jyl) helpful. The motel (i found) is quiet and relaxing and handy to Rotorua's city center. If there was any thing that we needed all we had to do was ask and it was dealt with. I would stay here again and recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitashie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you both to stay!
Our 1 bedroom spa apartments are great with full kitchens, plenty of room to relax and your own private spa pool! And being located on a quiet side street you don't get the traffic noise so can relax in peace and quiet!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Motel was splendid. Private hot tub was a particularly special treat, obviously. Nothing was too much trouble for Pete and Tristen - Pete picked us up from the bus and was happy to run us into town for dinner, even though it isn't far to walk. They arranged tours and sightseeing so that we could fit in what we wanted in the couple of days that we were there. Room was quiet and comfortable, with all of the kitchen facilities that we needed. Also happy to bring in your washing for you should it rain - which is definitely above and beyond! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Sport of Kings - lovely, welcoming people with great facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary_and_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us!
Our private spa pools are wonderful as is our heated outdoor swimming pool - the perfect place to relax after a busy day sightseeing and you sleep so well afterwards!
Being located on a quiet residential street away from the traffic noise is great as you get to relax in peace and quite yet still amongst the motels and close to restaurants. city centre and famous attractions!
There is nothing worse than to have to plan your day around mundane jobs like washing so we are always happy to help so you get the time to see the most of our amazing city!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I chose this Motel based on reviews from Trip Advisor. And boy does this place live up to expectations. From the minute I checked in, Pete & Tristen made me feel right at home. I booked a 1 Bedroom Spa Unit and was very impressed. The unit was very clean and modern. Bed super comfortable. Quiet location with no noise at night. Spent many hours relaxing in the spa in complete bliss. But what made this motel stand out more than anything was the staff. They treat you more like a friend than a customer. Even the housekeeping staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I stayed 5 nights and will definitely be staying again. Would recommend this motel to anyone visiting Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - it was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay and we are looking forward to your next visit!
We have many fantastic people to stay with us and is people like yourself that make our job wonderful! We do have a fantastic team who care about our motel and about our guest and do everything they can to ensure they enjoy their time in our fantastic city!
Take care and let us know next time you get a break - we would all love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Motel is perfect ,very quite compare to ones on Fenton street
It takes 25 minutes if you walk to go in rotorua center .You can walk all around the lake.You can walk in the forest .There is a lot of activities all around.We stayed one week without cars .
It is easy to find transportation .
Kings motel is very comfortable ,you have every thing inside if you want to cook.
The thermal spa in your room is every appreciate
Pete and Tristen are always available ,very professional.
We will recommend this motel
Jean marie

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
Being located on a quiet side street is wonderful as you don't get the traffic noise and you can relax in peace and quiet in comfortable surroundings!
Rotorua is a wonderful city with amazing attractions and there is so much to do for everyone! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed it!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Thank you Pete, Tristen and Mikayla!!! They were all extremely helpful, ultra friendly and rooms were very clean and spacious. Kitchen is clean and equipped. There is also private spa and hot pool to use. Pete was helpful with our transportation, giving us a lift whenever we made a request. Tristen was very experienced, efficient and helpful in planning and booking of activities for me and my friend. She did not waste a minute to help us phone and search for any queries for us! Everything is in placed with them around. Mikayla is the CUTEST girl i ever met. seeing her brought a smile to our faces. Among all the accomodation i stayed from south to north island, Sport of Kings Motel is the one you cannot miss staying over!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay with us and it is so nice to hear that we were your best accommodation in New Zealand! We do have a lovely motel with all the comforts of home and more, including the heated outdoor swimming pool and private spa pools - and a wonderful hard working team who care about their motel and our guests!!
It is a pleasure to share our local knowledge with you so you get to see the best Rotorua has to offer on your limited time with us! We have an amazing city and we love others experiencing it!
Take care and let us know if you are back over this way - it would be great to see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing