We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest and warmest welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at Sport of Kings for a couple of nights this month on our last leg of our trip of New Zealand. What an absolutely brilliant place! The owners couldn't of been more helpful, they had all the information on the area they advised us on all the best trips to do whilst there and they were very knowledgeable on the area. Because of this we made best use of our short time there. We had a wonderful time, room very comfy with own private spa. If you are looking for some where to stay in Rotorua look no further, you won't be disappointed, this place is a little gem.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your review and we are thrilled that you felt so welcomed. Our Managers are very experienced with their public relations as they have lived and worked in Rotorua for a long time and they would give you the best of local knowledge when advising you on what activities to do.
So thank you once again and we look forward to a return visit from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,245)
There are newer reviews for Sport of Kings Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at a few different places in rotorua, but we have found that Sport of Kings motel has all the facilities you would need when travelling with a family. The pool is absolutely sensational. Full cooking facilities helped us save some $. The service is great I would highly recommend

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

The benefit of having full kitchens in the family apartments is that you can make it home away from home, relax, make your own meals and enjoy the pool and BBQ facilities. So thank you for your review and recommendation to other travelers. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A lovely family await your arrival at this motel! The friendly staff were awesome to deal with and SO helpful. The rooms are fabulous - I loved having the spa at the back of our unit and the bigger pool too. They seem to cater well for the sports person too, with places for you to clean your gear after busy days of sport. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petal1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us as Sport of Kings and your kind review. It is lovely to be able to cater for the needs of sports people and to store or have them wash down their gear. Best of all though
is being able to provide the wonderful spas and heated pool where you can relax and soak the aching body after the sports activity that gives us a lot of pleasure. All the best for your future holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I can't give these guys a good enough review they went WAY above & beyond great customer service!

When you are visiting somewhere that you are unfamiliar with receiving such amazing service & advice can just make your trip & it really did!

We stayed here NYE & was chauffeured FREE OF CHARGE to & from our NYE venue... Yes that's right we were picked up after midnight so we didn't have to wait for a taxi to get home!!! Now that's above & beyond to start with!! But there's more...

The next morning we had a glorious swim in the outdoor heated pool along with yummy coffee & when we were ready to leave the owners / managers spent 20mins or so advising us on additional things to do & see that we would have missed if it hadn't been for them taking time out of their already busy life to help us.

Just when you think there couldn't possibly be more... there is... We have a 12 & 13 year old & as we were about to leave they were both given a tiki as a 'thank you for staying here' from the owners / managers.

Not only was the service amazing but the room was lovely, the pool was glorious & the spa in our room was divine.We will DEFINITELY tell our friends who go to Rotorua to stay here & if we are back we will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeppoon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Wow!! What can we say in response to your review other than a big THANK YOU.
Our Managers are as amazing as you say and nothing is too much trouble for them. Oh to be as young and energetic as they are. They are inspiring and we are very grateful to have them on the team. I am sure they are looking forward to another visit from you. THANK YOU once again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed here 2 nights at the end of Dec in room #1, which is directly opposite the office. this two bedroom unit was immaculate, with lovely beds and bedding. Very nice bathroom with shower had many fluffy big towels. I used both the beautiful warm pool and private spa room, which were of very high standard. The hosts were so kind and helpful, even called to tell me I'd left behind my phone charger, and they posted it back to me after sending a postage paid envelope. The only minor negative I experienced here was the sound of car doors closing early in the morning, due to the fact that I left the windows open overnight. This was no fault of the motel. In fact it was extremely quiet, all around. I will definitely be back to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words. It is easy to get caught up in the busyness of the place but when people are as appreciative as you and make fantastic comments the hard work is all worth it. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This motel was lovely. Had an awesome private spa and lovely outside pool. The Managers/Owners was so lovely, caring and helpful. Anything you needed they provided for you. Recommended great places to go with the best deals. The breakfast is a must, it was so delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

To have local knowledge and be able to recommend the best deals and discount vouchers is a must for hosts in this industry. Our Managers are gifted in this area and able to guide you to the places you want to see. Thank you for giving us a review and appreciating them for what they do.
Their breakfasts are delicious and something to look forward to. Thank you for staying with us at Sport of Kings Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Awesome biker friendly motel went out of their way to keep our bike safe (which wasn,t needed in the end) room was exceptionally clean. Helpful very hospitable beautiful outdoor pool fantastic in room spa all also extremely clean! 5 star plus service and property happily recommend and have done. Thankyou so very much for a fantastic stay. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildwench1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

With the amazing Redwood forest so close to us where so many bikers go to enjoy the great outdoors, and world famous bike trails there, it is a must for us to be able to provide lock up security for their mountain bikes. So yes we are biker friendly. After biking for hours and then to be able to have a soak in a hot spa or heated pool is the ultimate. Thank you for your review and your next visit can't be too far away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £72 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing