We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy, comfortable and fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Easy, comfortable and fun”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A girlfriend and I took our two 13 year old sons on an adventure weekend in Rotorua. The Sport of Kings was the perfect choice for us. The hosts went out of their way to ensure adjoining units and saved the day offering an iphone charger and free internet for the teenagers. The large pool and lovely pool area meant the boys played for hours while we relaxed. One unit even had a large spa in an adjoining room that felt clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Julia we are so pleased that you and your girlfriend and sons had such a wonderful time. With the pool the children entertain themselves and you can just relax and we are so happy to provide this facility and see people enjoy themselves so much. So thank you for your review and we look forward to a return visit from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    227
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
413
564
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Pete and Tristen were born to be in the hospitality industry. Everything about them and their motel was just right. They are super friendly, love having a yarn and give great advice about the sights to see. Nothing is too much trouble for them and looking after their guests is their No1 priority. The motel is clean, comfortable quiet and central. It has a heated pool which was great to come back to in the evenings.
We were really impressed when we found Pete cleaning our car windscreen in the mornings before we went out sightseeing.
Thanks for making our stay in Rotorua special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locatelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Pete and Tristen surely are born to be in the industry and are very gifted at what they do making all who come feel very welcome and comfortable. Being so knowledgeable about Rotorua is a plus also as they can give the very best of advice to their guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review and the team look forward to another visit from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have a lovely stay in Rotorua made better by the friendliness and convenience of the Sport of Kings Motel. The room, shower room and loo were excellent, very clean and serviced daily, the rooms kitchenette facilities were also very good. The motel is just far enough away from the main road into Rotorua that there is no road noise, very quiet, so we had peaceful nights sleep. The motel has laundry facilities, pool and spa, we didn't use them but they also looked very good. We recommend the motel and hope to stay there again when we return next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SayNoToJetStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
We are very fortunate to be on a very quiet residential street and yet still close enough to the main part of the city. So yes we are in a very convenient location but far enough away from the noisy traffic. Thank you for your comments and recommendation to other searching travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A wonderful place in Rotorua. Incredibly hospitable and helpful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a nice sized family room which was very clean and comfortable. The in-room spa was a particular treat. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you Jeff for taking the time to write a review for us. We are always pleased to hear that we have had happy guests. Our rooms are a nice size and very suitable for the short of longer stay and of course the spas are a lovely treat. Thank you once again and all the best for your future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay! The room was perfect and we loved the spa pool (especially after a long day of touring around). The location was excellent and we really appreciated the recommendations, help with booking activities and discounts for attractions. Amazing place!!!!!

Room Tip: The room with the spa pool is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
To say that Sport of Kings Motel is the best place you stayed at for your entire trip means so much to us. Thank you. We are encouraged to keep on doing what we are doing and provide the very best that we can for our guests. After a long day of touring it is lovely to be able to relax in the spas
or pool and so many people comment that they sleep so well afterwards. So thank you for your
kind remarks and the team look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Sport of Kings for a couple of nights. The owners were absolute gems. I arrived with a van full of perishable food, of which Tristen stored immediately. Extra kitchen facilities were made available so I could cook & cater for the Counties womens rugby team: I was able to deliver wholesome healthy food with no stress.
The pool experience was amazing, as we relaxed, the moon was out, stars were out & we really felt like we were on a paradise island. Sensational!
We often have work contracts in Rotorua & I will not hesitate to book our operators in with Pete, Tristen & Mikayla.
I fully recommend Sport of Kings Motel, not only to couples and families, but sport & work teams.
We're really looking forward to our next stay. First class all round!

Room Tip: My room was on the very end, as I was up late cooking & using staff facilities, I found it to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
To meet the needs of our guests is very important to us and we are thrilled that we were able to facilitate you cooking needs for the team. Pete Tristen and little Mikayla are a fabulous family and we are very grateful that they are so friendly and accommodating of all their guests. To have someone go the extra mile when you are on holiday just adds to the overall experience. As for the pool it is so beautiful in the evenings and yes it is very easy to imagine you are on a Paradise Island. So thank you so much for you wonderful review and the team look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The staff provided us with local knowledge on where to go and what to do in Rotorua. The parking is ample and the rooms neat, clean and large. He pool and spa facilities are kept clean and warm. It's a short walk from many attractions and provides discount cards for many local businesses. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
We pride ourselves in keeping our premises to a high standard and we have a great team who are proud of their achievements. Most of the parks are directly outside the apartments and we have extra parks also for those with a second vehicle also. Thank you for reviewing us in the way you have and that you found the team friendly and helpful. We look forward to maybe seeing you are Sport of Kings again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
707 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing