We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend this motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Think the owners were away when we stayed, the couple we encountered were very pleasant.
Very clean and comfortable motel. Nice pool, lovely spa baths. Wifi and parking free and good.
Bit too far from town to walk easily but quiet and peaceful location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagsymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Thank you Pete, Tristen and Mykayla for your tremendous hospitality during our recent 2-night stay at your motel in mid-March. We noted that you were very obliging and responded to any request for assistance with great enthusiasm - even supplying an ice-pack for a twisted shoulder nerve that was causing me much pain.

The room and venue facilities (eg spa and pool) were spot on and really suited our needs, as did the laundry.

We observed that you operated an efficient and well-run facility. Keep up the good work - I'm sure your patrons appreciate your efforts as much as we did.

We will certainly book in to your establishment again if we ever return to Rotorua.

Best wishes for continued success with your motel venture.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our stay at this peaceful, well situated little motel could not have been any better. Tristan and Pete are absolute professionals and go so far out of their way for their guests that they felt like a part of our own family by the time we left. They were excellent at recommending the best tourist attractions, both free and fee attracting places and they regularly visit the places that they recommend to make sure their guests will enjoy themselves and get value for money. Tristan also booked us in for a fabulous night time cultural show and meal and got us a discount. Pete also runs hunting and fishing charters and he even took my husband and I out one night to a forrest to see glow worms and local wild life. If we return to this amazing part of the world again we would most definitely stay here again. The thermally heated spas in the one bedroom units are perfect to relax at the end of a long days sight seeing. Loved this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a great experience at Sport of Kings Motel!! Pete, Tristen and Mikayla made us feel at home! They are incredibly nice and kind people, always ready and eager to help with any questions, bookings, they provided us with options and always had a nice smile!!! The apartment was very clean and tidy, nice and spacious, with a clean kitchen very well equipped! ... We definitely recommend this Motel to any family looking to stay in Rotorua!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guscol2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for one night on our drive across NewZealand. Spacious and very clean room. Owner was very gracious and extremely helpful with advice on what to see, etc. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lizron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent accomodation host could not do enough for you. No issue when we asked for a later check out so that cyclists could shower after a race in Rotorua. Lovely setting fabulous facilities quiet. Excellent all round. will stay every time we come to Rotorua and would highly recomend to all

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asmo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The couple running this quiet little motel did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They also pointed out the best places to visit in Rotorua. It made a real difference to our overall holiday experience and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: The room we had a spa bath which was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
767 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#2 of 91 in Rotorua
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 91 in Rotorua
483 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £79 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing