We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts are as great as the reviews!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Sport of Kings is a great option amongst the hundreds of choices you have in Rotorua. We only stayed one night but wished we would have planned for longer. The owners are as nice and helpful as all the reviews suggest which is something that sets them apart. The apartments are large and accommodate families nicely. Its quiet and still centrally located. In our humble opinion, the smell was not as bad as we thought given all the warnings we read about. Would definitely come back again and stay right here!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Susie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Very quiet location but a 20 minute walk into the town centre, good supermarket 10 minutes walk. 2 ring hot plate and microwave in a kitchenette (we had a studio apartment). Small outdoor spa pool with sun loungers for relaxation in between the sightseeing! Owners very welcoming and helpful with good advice about what tourist attractions to visit. Good internet access. Good value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pgmflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Breakfast was extra and Ok. Could have cooked in the In-room kitchen. Beds comfortable. Owners are friendly and helpful! Sliding glass doors open directly onto parking. Difficult to downgrade this older style motel because of the family's obvious desire to make guests comfortable. Just be aware that if you have stayed in luxury hotels the many "excellent" reviews may disappoint.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designergirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic stay at the Sport of Kings. The thermally heated pool was great and staring up at the stars whilst in the pool was wonderful. Hot tub in the room was also great. Fantastic accommodation and very reasonable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

It was our second stay in North island after Wellington, Our 3 weeks trip to NZ was coming to end & think there can`t be anything more to surprise us in this very friendly country, but I was once more surprised. Hosts were so helpful & charming. Tristen even took me to supermarket in first evening because it seems for him I`m too tired to walk this short distance :-). Room was very clean, breakfest perfect, swimming pool wonderful. Hosts were so helpful - unbelievable, that we were not close relatives of them. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Džeimss R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

From the warm welcome to fond departure this was a very relaxing place to stay.Rooms are excellent with terrific amenities.Nice pool and away from the busy main road. A good value breakfast .We liked Rotorua especially the Government Gardens .Elegant buildings with a very English feel.Rotorua museum is a must.History of the baths fascinating and wonderful account of the Maori Battalion.
To experience the volcanic landscape the Waimangu Valley is splendid.Stunning features,views ,and a great walk.
Thought the breakfast delivered to the room was good value.
Had an excellent meal at the Tandoori Palace Restaurant

Roger and Sara Mitchell

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorenzo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Highly recommended. I traveled two weeks in New Zealand and this place was tops. The room was immaculate, reasonable and quiet. Best of all, the owners are charming and helpful. They gave me really good advice on what to see and what to avoid. In driving around the North Island, I stopped at several Information Offices (with the familiar "i" logo) and the Sport of Kings people were more knowledgeable and helpful than any of the official info people. Rotorua is nicknamed RotoVegas because it has 100-plus motels on the main drag. This is centrally located, but a block away from the main drag, so was calm and quiet, which is exactly what I needed. Loved it.

Room Tip: There are only about 16 rooms, and I suspect they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimG90025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
734 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
453 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £77 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing