We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The motel is at the South end of the town about a 5 minute drive away. The owners were very helpful and friendly with good sensible suggestions for what to do in the area and plenty of discount coupons. The accommodation is clean with full cooking facilities. We bought supplies from the supermarket a couple of minutes drive away and cooked for ourselves. There are also DVD's to borrow from reception. There are a couple of private thermally heated spa pools at the motel as well as a pool and BBQ. On the hosts suggestion we visited Wai -O-Tapu which is not as "touristy" perhaps as some options in the area and is a good choice for viewing the geo thermal sights. Near to Wai O Tapu is the Waikite Valley Thermal Pools. These appear to be a cheaper way to experience a thermal spa than some of the options in town. It was quiet during our visit and a good way to relax after a morning at Wai O Tapu.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 769John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your,lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us!
It is great being so close to the centre of Rotorua and many famous attractions while being situated on a nice quite side street so you do not get the traffic noise that you usually get in the centre of a city!
Our two private spa pools are fantastic if you opt for a room without it's own private spa pool - the perfect way to relax after a busy day sightseeing around our beautiful city!
All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes which is wonderful so you can cater for your selves without having to go out for each meal.
Thanks again for your lovely review! it was a pleasure to have you to stay and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    223
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
402
557
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We have just had a four night stay at this wonderful motel. From the moment we arrived my wife and I were very impressed with the wonderful hosts. Pete and Tristen have certainly got the x factor which makes this immaculate motel one of the best motels we have been to in New Zealand. The one bedroomed apartment was superb, the highlight being our private spa. The bed was very comfortable, I had a good night sleep every night as did my wife. The LazyBoy chairs, quite unique in my travels around New Zealand. In a nutshell the accommodation was superb. The outside heated pool was fantastic with lovely surroundings. Our days were very busy and the hosts gave us great information, nothing was a bother to them. Great walks through Redwood Forest, lovely walk at Hamurana Springs, a fantastic time at Waikite Valley. We will definately be back and I recommend this motel very highly!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thanks you for your lovely review! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and your wife and have you to stay with us!!
Our 1 bedroom spa apartments are great, it is so nice to be able to relax in your private spa day and night, and you sleep so well afterwards! And our heated outdoor swimming pool is also wonderful to relax, a fantastic way to start your day or finish after a busy day!
There are so many wonderful things to do in our beautiful town and it is so nice being able to pass our local knowledge onto our guests so they get the most out of their time with us.
Take care and let us know next time you are up this way - it would be wonderful to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Both Pete and Tristen were wonderful to deal with - and their advise on what to see in town were invaluable. The rooms were comfortable and clean and well set out for just the 2 of us.

I would recommend this place to anyone who are travelling around New Zealand as a prime place to stay - we would stay here again and will be if we get a chance to go visit New Zealand again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The four of us stayed here for two nights. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable with fully equipped kitchen.
Owners are helpful and are happy to advise about sightseeing, restaurants, local attractions etc.
We will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A very warm welcome greeted us when we arrived. Our unit was extremely clean. It was well laid out with a queen size bed, small dining table and 2 chairs, an area for writing with a chair, 2 comfy lazy-boy armchairs. The kitchen had everything required. There were 2 hot plates, a microwave, fridge and appropriate utensils, cutlery and dishes. The bathroom was exceptionally clean. There was a show, WC and vanity with a hairdryer in the cupboard. There was an alcove in the corner of the lounge with an iron, an ironing board, brush and pan. Outside there was a lovely, inviting, warm pool with some outdoor furniture and a bbq. Although we did not use the pool or the bbq, I could see the area was very well maintained. I would not hesitate recommending this motel. Lovely friendly hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ_NURSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

we stayed 2 nights at Sport of Kings. nice location- quiet and off the main road. we were warmly welcomed by the hosts who made our stay really pleasant. nice room with kichenette . only drawback was that we needed to draw the curtains to maintain privacy and that darkned the room. but i would stay here again if we went back

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RMMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
204 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent a few nights here on a recent trip and enjoyed our stay very much. The facility appears a little bit dated, but it is very clean, quiet and the owners are extremely friendly and hospitable. The room we had booked was a one bedroom unit that had a small kitchenette, lounge area with extra bed, a small bathroom (with a shower cubicle) and a fantastic hot spa bath in an adjoining room.

The bed was bit soft for our preference, but we had very quiet restful sleep and we certainly did not hear the neighbouring occupants.
The motel is close to town, although perhaps a bit far to walk at night. There is parking available on site (seemingly for every room) and there was free wireless internet access available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWGH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing