We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Right from the get go this was a great time. Asked for a portacot which was ready and waiting when we arrived. Good recommendations for places to go and late check out helps with a baby. Nice and quiet too. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms with outdoor spa are a must
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GarthGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay!
We are more than happy to offer late check outs or early check in's where possible and I am pleased it made things easier for you!
Being located on a residential street, it is nice and quiet so you get a peaceful relaxing stay yet still being amongst all of the other motels.
We have just built a childrens playground so next time your baby may be big enough to play on it!!
Take care and please let us know when you are back this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    224
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
404
559
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were warmly welcomed by Pete, Tristan and Mikayla when we arrived and shown to our room. The room was clean and tidy and the in-room spa was ready to enjoy. The facilities were fantastic with a beautiful outdoor heated pool and BBQ to enjoy as well as the private spa in our room. Tristan and Pete were very genuine, friendly people who happily gave advice on activities to do and even gave us a discount voucher for one of them. We would happily stay at Sport of Kings again.

Room Tip: The rooms with the private spa are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay and we hope to see you again soon!
It is great to hear your enjoyed your stay, our rooms have all been recently renovated and are kept to the highest standard - and our thermally heated outdoor swimming pool and private spa pools are the best at the end of a busy day or a great way to start one!
Take care and please let us know next time you get a chance to come and stay - it would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

another excellent stay, the people are fantastic, friendly and helpful, the amenities are first rate and we would go no where else.top rate again Tristan and Pete, thank you My mother in law travelled with us, she was visiting from South Africa and was blown away by the service and family feel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you all to stay and we look forward to your next visit! It is people like yourselves that make our job so wonderful!! Thank you!
It was lovely to meet your Mother in law and we are so pleased she enjoyed her time with us!
Take care and please let us know when you will be back - it will be great to catch up with you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We checked in somewhat late and they upgraded us to a larger room; one with a hot tub. The owners were very nice; more friendly that in many other places. Pete and Tristan helped us figure out which venues to see in the area. It is not a fancy place, it's a motel, but the service was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you to stay!
It is great to see you enjoyed our private thermally heated indoor spa pool - they are lovely and a great way to relax after a busy day of sightseeing!
Our rooms have been renovated over the past 2 years and kept to the highest standard and have everything you would need for a comfortable, relaxing stay - rated 4 1/2 out of 5 star Qualmark rating.
Being Rotorua locals we know all the best things to see and do in Rotorua and it is great being able to share this knowledge with out guests.
Take care and please let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to have you to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great reception at Sport of Kings. Tristan?? I think gave us an upgrade to a larger room to start with and then advised on dinner venues and gave us an excellent tip on touring the Thermal Wonderland. Also good for a chat. Good room with a comfortable bed and all that we needed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay and it is great to hear your enjoyed your time with us!
Being Rotorua locals, we know all the best things to see and do and it is great being able to share this knowledge with our guests so the get the most out of their time in our beautiful city!
Take care and please let us know if you are back over this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

That title is quite a claim but in 60 years on the planet and travelling widely to most continents I have never been received anywhere as well as The Sport of Kings.
Nothing was too much trouble and every request had an enthusiastic response.
Rooms clean, comfortable, well equipped and well kept with a quiet location.
Superlative. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us!
We pride ourselves in delivering accommodation and service to the highest standard and it is so lovely to hear that people enjoy what we do! Thank you again for staying with us and please let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for one night and I'm glad i didn't book for more than one day,I highly recommend Tuscany Villas where i stayed after, there is a huge difference. yes owners are nice but this place is overpriced for what it is and don't seem to spend a lot of money maintaining it, has very old carpets.and you might want to charge them a reasonable price to be fair. SOME ROOMS ARE VERY OLD AND SOME SEEM TO BE BETTER, SO WHEN YOU GET YOUR ROOM, MAKE SURE YOU CHECK THE OTHER ONES OUT TO, DON'T OVERPAY FOR AN OLDER ROOM.

But as a better alternative TRY TUSCANY VILLAS you'll LOVE the difference,newer rooms and maintained well. believe me there are much better places in Rotorua you just have to spend 10 or 15 bucks more than this place, money worth spending.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Viv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello, Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to hear about your disappointing stay in Rotorua. Unfortunately I think this review has been written about the wrong property. We have had a look through our records and we have not have anyone from Hong Kong staying with us for only 1 night this year.
All of our carpets are less than 4 years old and are all in very good condition. As can been seen on all of our other reviews our maintenance is kept to a very high standard.
I have contacted the author through Trip Advisor and am waiting to hear back from them to clarify this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing