We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous friendly place to stay, even in the winter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sport of Kings Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fabulous friendly place to stay, even in the winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Was blown away by the management of this hotel.
There with family wanting to enjoy a night out in Rotorua. Pete could not have been kinder, suggested aces to dine and then when taxis were scarce drove us into town and then....offered to pick us up....even tho it took him two trips both ways!! Legend!!
The rooms were spotlessly clean, lots of lovely heaters and the private hot pool was fabulous.
We live in HK but would suggest or stay there ourselves again in an instant !
Places like this that offer good old NZ hospitality make me feel proud to be Kiwi.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - it was an absolute pleasure to have you all to stay and we hope to see you again on your next trip to New Zealand!
We do what we can to ensure our guests have a fantastic time when they stay with us and it is so lovely to hear comments like your as it acknowledges that we are doing things right - good old Kiwi hospitality is something special and your comment saying 'makes me proud to be a kiwi' is the best comment we could get! Thank you so much!
Take care and please let us know when you are coming home next - we would love to see you and have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    220
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
393
549
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Opotiki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed one night and enjoyed every minute of it. This motel is super clean and comfortable, had everything we needed including a lovely big spa off the bedroom, easy parking out front of unit, a quiet street etc. But best of all was the outdoor heated pool. This was the drawcard for us for booking at Sport of Kings and it totally lived up to expectations. On a morning when the car was covered in ice crystals it was just wonderful to float around in the heated pool with the steam rising while enjoying the privacy of the location of the pool and the sound of Tuis singing nearby - what a great way to start the day. We left feeling like we had a longer break than just one night. Thank you to Pete and Tristen for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed having our own private spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you another time!
Our heated outdoor swimming pool is fantastic - and like you said, the best way to start the day no matter what the weather! The colder the morning the better the pool is - quite magical!
We have a fantastic team who all genuinely care about our guests and this is evident when you walk into the rooms and see the cleanliness and the care that goes in to to ensure every guests has a fantastic stay and walks away with wonderful memories of their holiday!
Take care and please let us know if you are back over this way - it would be great to see you and have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson Nz
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom unit for two nights. Outstanding friendly service from Tristen who went out of her way to make sure everything was in order. We enjoyed relaxing in the outdoor thermally heated pool which was gorgeous considering it was the middle of winter.
Very comfortable beds and overall this is an excellent motel that we would not hesitate in recommending and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnieNelsonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay!
Our heated outdoor swimming pool is the best way to relax after a busy day and the perfect way to start the day! Great temperate any time of year - wonderful in any weather!
Our two bedroom apartments are wonderful rooms, sleeping up to 6 people with a large kitchen and lounge area, great for a family holidays or a group of friends wanting plenty of space!
Take care and please let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We received the warmest of welcomes from Tristen.Nothing was too much trouble.She upgrade us to a studio with a spa pool just off the bedroom. Such decadence!! We had plenty of wi fi and no trouble connecting our android and tablet to it.The room was compact but recently refurbished and had everything we needed to cook a simple meal.
We didn't take advantage of the spa pool in the private garden but it looked most inviting.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this motel as it had a very nice 'feel' to it and was obviously being run by people who cared about the comfort of their guests. Thanks Tristen!

Room Tip: Choose one with its own spa pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay!
Our 1 bedroom spa apartments are wonderful rooms with their own private spa - the best way to relax after a busy day!
Most of these room have just had new kitchens and bathrooms, with the last 3 remaining to be completed next month! They are lovely homely rooms with everything you need for a relaxing comfortable stay!
Our heated outdoor swimming pool is also wonderful, you must try this next time! It is fantastic to relax after a busy day and a fantastic start to a day!
Take care and please let us know if you are back this way - it would be wonderful to have you to stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were made to feel welcome the minute we arrived,we didnt know where we wanted to stay until we met tristen,her hospitality nailed it for us,any thing we need seems to b a priority!! Home away from home

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teeganrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and to have you to stay with us!
We meet some wonderful people in the job we do and it is people like yourselves that make our job even more more wonderful! Thank you!
We love helping our guests get the best out of their time in our wonderful city and we will do everything we can to ensue you leave with wonderful memories!
Thank you again for staying with us! Please let us know next time you are up this way - we would love to see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Everything about our stay was perfect. Rooms are spacious, well kept and the spa pool was the best thing after a day out exploring. Owners are so lovely, genuinely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Great value for money and close to everything we went to.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you to stay!
I am so pleased you enjoyed our private spa pools - they really are the best way to relax after a busy day! And our heated outdoor swimming pool is the prefect way to relax also and a fantastic start to the day!
It is great being able to help our guests enjoy their time with us and anything we can do to help enhance their stay we will!
Thank you again for your lovely review, Please let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Really friendly proprietors and very good advice on places to visit. Lovely to swim in hot pool in winter and great having a spa whenever you want!! Quiet street but close to amenities.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get one near the pool or one with a spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
Our heated outdoor swimming pool and private indoor spa pools are fantastic, winter or summer. We increase the temperature slightly in winter and is the perfect temperature no matter what the weather! The best place to relax after a busy day!
It is great being located on a quiet residential street away from the busy traffic noise but still being close to fantastic Rotorua attractions, the prefect place to relax while on holiday!
Take care and ease let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing