We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arista of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$558
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$470
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
27
39
21
11
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
39
21
11
25
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The place was ok, to be honest not the best place we have stayed. Our room was soo hot it was really difficult to sleep at night and couldn't really open the window as it lead onto the roof of the next building. The kitchen was under repair and the pots we used to cook our food left our dinner tasting of Rust. The owner and his son however were very nice and were always there to help with any questions of the local area. They recommended we try the Canopy Tour which was really quite expensive @ $129 pp, and we nearly didn't do it because of this but it was totally worth it as it was a 3 hour event. We Stayed in a double private with own bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Thanks for the feedback, When we are made aware of issues we address them.
We have placed a fan in the room to alleviate the heat that Rotorua has been experiencing.
Have checked the pots and couldn't find any dirty or rusty ones that is a mystery because the pots are stainless steel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I loved Cactus Jacks, a little rough and ready whilst undergoing some changes but was made to feel very welcome. Clean and spacious kitchen, clean bathroom facilities and social areas and very affordable too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nofixedabode85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Thanks for the kind words. We have a lot of renovations [planned to bring our place up to a higher standard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

After staying in YHA, BBH and XBase hostels, Cactus Jack was a nice change. The fun murals and western decor added character to my stay. This was a very affordable option for me. I got a single room with shared facilities for the lowest price in town. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I enjoyed the help from reception as they were engaging and helpful. The hostel was under renovation so I expect improvements as things progress. There is the Thursday night street market just down the block which I really enjoyed. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thanks for the kind words
Yes we are upgrading and this will continue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This backpackers is awesome! The staff were really friendly and helpful, the showers are AMAZING, the rooms were nice and comfortable. Really got our moneys worth here. We had a BBQ in the courtyard and overall had a really good night. Definately recommend Cactus Jacks if your in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Thanks for the kind words lets try to live up to the praise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Nice little warm hostel with great staff and guests. Clean, awesome atmosphere and everyone has been very friendly to me. The price is great, especially for someone on a budget like me. The rooms were pretty nice and the beds very comfortable. The showers were tidy and great. I had a great time and great sleep and I will recommend this hostel to anyone who visits Rotorua because it's a great find!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Now that the geothermal is working properly the hostels warmth is radiating better
Thank you for noticing the efforts my staff are doing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews