We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and fun place with a good atmosphere. Can easily be improved.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

3 nights in rotarua.
Cactus jack gave us a warm welcome. The main negative for us was that the room was uncomfortably hot and the beds were knackered, and mattresses need replacing and lights improving.
There are lots of friendly long residents, we liked that.
Kitchen good and social areas and tv good. Sad that the lions lost. . Bugger. Excellent location, helpful; slightly quirky staff - really helped us get to the best activities. Really disappointing that the hostel location shifted by 2 blocks when we went out jogging!!!! Lol

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gacco29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thanks for your kind words
Good eviews enourage us in our efforts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

This hostel is quirky; a host of long-term residents with varied personalities and stories to tell give it a more colourful vibe than your standard hostel. This may not be to everyone's taste - if you're not particularly friendly or a good conversation maker, then avoid this place. If you want to meet people and have some good chat, then stay! The rooms are comfortable, the kitchen is pretty big for the number of people staying, the decor is cheesy western, and there is a pool table, internet access and dvd rooms. Staff are friendly and always available, and it's in the centre of Rotorua and hard to miss - look for the bright yellow building with a stetson on top and cacti outside!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finbarr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thanks for the kind words we will strive to maintain our standards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at cactus jacks! Although it is a bit under construction that won't disturb your sleep at all, and we thought all the guys that worked there that we met in the kitchen were so lovely! Fantastic value for money, and both guys on reception were really helpful. Would recommend to any backpacker!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoupleabroadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thanks for your review, it's nice to be appreciated. The upgrades are still continuing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Character? Lots. A Tijuana experience. I applaud whoever turned a pretty old, run-down place into that. But it doesn't compensate for the tiny, cramped rooms with old & dirty carpet, or for the feel that nothing is super clean, or for the loud noise at night (music, chatter). Not inviting or comfortable! Worst of all, we decided to leave 1 day early (couldn't take it anymore), and they refused to give our money back, even though we paid cash in advance. They argued, were rude and inflexible. :-(

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mileni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Front Office Manager at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

We thank the reviewer for this review because in our unequal world all opinions count
Our response to this review is
This reviewer made the following threat “If you do not refund my money I will be write the worst review of this place.” My parents taught me the values of standing up to bullies and that you can never live your life in fear with people who try to push you around.
The reviewer booked through hostelworld and their terms and conditions are
“By making a reservation with your credit card or debit card, you agree that in the event that you cancel your reservation less than 24 hours from your agreed check-in date or that you fail to arrive by your agreed check-in date, you authorise the travel services provider to charge to your credit card or debit card without further reference to you an amount not exceeding one night's charge in the case of accommodation.” You, (The Reviewer) failed to cancel within the 24 hours of your second booking and so by Hostelworlds terms and conditions you are obligated to be charged for your first night of your separate booking. Your family had booked during the Christmas period and consistently complained about how the majority of services closed down for Christmas. We in New Zealand are a Christian country, and celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ often means a number of businesses are closed. The reviewer was rather frustrated with these closures and moaned consistently as it limited their ability to experience many of Rotorua’s Attractions.
Much of this frustration was then, I felt directed at me, which I have little control of.. The reviewer’s consistent moaning disrupted many of the other guests stay who were trying to enjoy the festivities especially at a time when they would like to be at home with their families. The majority of people who stay at Cactus Jacks love their stay. We also noticed that some people commented on how the vibe of the place improved with the reviewer’s departure. .We have to congratulate the reviewer for the courage to carry out the threat that was made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The place was ok, to be honest not the best place we have stayed. Our room was soo hot it was really difficult to sleep at night and couldn't really open the window as it lead onto the roof of the next building. The kitchen was under repair and the pots we used to cook our food left our dinner tasting of Rust. The owner and his son however were very nice and were always there to help with any questions of the local area. They recommended we try the Canopy Tour which was really quite expensive @ $129 pp, and we nearly didn't do it because of this but it was totally worth it as it was a 3 hour event. We Stayed in a double private with own bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Thanks for the feedback, When we are made aware of issues we address them.
We have placed a fan in the room to alleviate the heat that Rotorua has been experiencing.
Have checked the pots and couldn't find any dirty or rusty ones that is a mystery because the pots are stainless steel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I loved Cactus Jacks, a little rough and ready whilst undergoing some changes but was made to feel very welcome. Clean and spacious kitchen, clean bathroom facilities and social areas and very affordable too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nofixedabode85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Thanks for the kind words. We have a lot of renovations [planned to bring our place up to a higher standard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

After staying in YHA, BBH and XBase hostels, Cactus Jack was a nice change. The fun murals and western decor added character to my stay. This was a very affordable option for me. I got a single room with shared facilities for the lowest price in town. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I enjoyed the help from reception as they were engaging and helpful. The hostel was under renovation so I expect improvements as things progress. There is the Thursday night street market just down the block which I really enjoyed. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thanks for the kind words
Yes we are upgrading and this will continue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#6 of 58 in Rotorua
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 58 in Rotorua
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spa Lodge
Spa Lodge
#11 of 58 in Rotorua
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Backyard Inn
The Backyard Inn
#46 of 58 in Rotorua
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#10 of 58 in Rotorua
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Jacks Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Address: 1210 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £24 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun Themed Hostel with Cartoon and Movie Characters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Cactus Jacks Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing