We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst backpacker ever in NZ!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Dirty and disgusting + unbelievably rude owner who literally steal your 20$ key deposit if you are a few minute late for the 10am check out! Seriously! But well done because when you arrive you write all your information on a paper (as for almost all backpackers in NZ) and you signed it. And there is a note specifying that if you check out after 10am you will loose your key deposit, so he covers himself! We stayed there for 4 days in a really not busy period. I had totally forgotten about this little note when we check out (like if this was the only thing in your mind when you travel). We were a little bit late for the check out but 1/ it is not like someone has been waiting for the room in that case I could totally understand the inconvenience 2/ the girls who were cleaning were already busy with other rooms so again it is not like we were making them wait for us. When I went to check out, he just told me in an extremely satisfied tone: you just loose your key deposit! I of course apologized for the few minutes late and thought he was kidding about not giving us back the deposit. It's not like we had checked out at 11h30 or 12h! But no no he was serious and he even told me: This will be a lesson for you! Seriously? Who does he think he is? We have been travelling for years and there are no backpacker in the world which is doing this, even more in a not busy period (because I could really understand it when it is busy and people are waiting for the room to be cleaned..etc). Anyway, just make yourself a favor and avoid this terrible place! There are so many other nice places with sooo nice owners in NZ!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank CHJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Cactus Jacks Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights and though my first impression wasn't the best, it improved once I realised what a friendly and fun hostel this is. The hostel is Mexican themed with colourful murals and signs inside and out - really wonderful and artistically rendered. The staff and guests were generally very friendly and good company making this a great place for a solo traveller. I stayed in a twin room by myself which was simple but adequate.

My only caveats were the rather somber check in experience with a young lady who treated me like a nuisance. The owner Paul was much more welcoming and friendly. They seem to be doing up the place so it should be even nicer in the near future.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Minty_Danni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thanks for your Review..
Cactus jacks is always being upgraded . It is our aim to modernise and make our Hostel into something extra special.
Your kind words are encouraging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have just gotten back from Rotorua for ragga muffin 2014, overall my experience at the backpackers was awesome an beyond I found all the people that stayed there were all super friendly and considerate! I would like to thank the manager so much for the weekend , I thought the whole set up of the place was cool and the atmosphere made it memorable thaaank you soooooo much p.s Idk wat that bad review was about cos she must of Ben some where else as her review sucked!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for the nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The Cactus Jack in Rotorua is a very charming hostel with a nice South American atmosphere, because as you walk by you see a lovely front yard filled with a lot cactuses (which isn’t the only thing which gives you the feeling of South America). We were astonished by the friendly owner called Paul, who gave us free beer and free internet vouchers, furthermore Paul can get special discounts on tours in Rotorua as he is a known person in Rotorua. The hostel itself is clean and the beds are very comfortable, what you actually wouldn’t expect for the very cheap price of the dorm rooms. First we just wanted to stay few days, but then we decided that we will stay longer in the hostel, not just because you can do a lot in Rotorua, because we really like the hostel. Furthermore the Cactus Jack is just about two minutes walk away from the “CBD”, so you profit from its central location.

All in all if you are looking for a nice and charming hostel at low price, we can recommend you going to the Cactus Jack , as there is a wide range of hostels in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 161Seb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks for the kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we booked 2 double rooms at $75 a night. One had a tv and the other one didnt which i thought was strange. Especially for what we paid. The rooms were so tiny and dirty. The shower was dirty and had no pressure what so ever, it was like taking a shower in the rain. The room was so hot that it was very hard to sleep, there was no air con and only a small window which didnt let any air in. Both nights we stayed there was loud music and people talking until 1am. You had to pay to use the pool table and the spa pool was only open from around 2pm to 930pm. when we checked in around 1pm the manager was eating lunch and didnt seem too happy that we had interupted him. Overall i would never stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

I guess there ae times when a guest is angry and posts a bad review
First I am sorry our place did not meet all your expectations.
Second If my rooms are dirty why would you not ask us to clean them and further why would you put up with dirty rooms fo two nights? I cannot figure that one out at all..
In closing we thank you for reminding us that we have to work harder to please all our guests so our blessings to you for your future.
We know that Cactus Jack backpackers provides a good quality backpackers which pleases some people all the time.
Our aim is to please all our guests all the time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Hi, I stayed a short while ago. Lovely character place. Quirky artwork. Extremely helpful staff willing to diffuse any situation amongst guests quickly & quietly. Great touristy advice. Very clean & comfortable. Loved it. Long-term stayers are welcoming with lots of stories.

Room Tip: Rooms inside are quieter. Very sociable around the courtyard.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nichole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for writing your positive review
I think that more people should write reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I don't get the whining here about this place.

Its cheap. Its a bit tacky. Tonnes of character. The minimum you expect from a cheap hostel.

Yes it was loud and a bit grimy but hey, if you wanted better...pay more!

Love the art around the place. Wouldn't stay again but enjoyed my 2 night stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thanks for taking time to write a review.
We now have an incentive to improve our place
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Base Rotorua
Base Rotorua
#15 of 58 in Rotorua
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spa Lodge
Spa Lodge
#9 of 58 in Rotorua
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#5 of 58 in Rotorua
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Rotorua
Grand Hotel Rotorua
#48 of 58 in Rotorua
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Jacks Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Address: 1210 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £19 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun Themed Hostel with Cartoon and Movie Characters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Cactus Jacks Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing