We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average....”
Review of Four Canoes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Canoes Hotel
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average....”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The price was right and the free wifi was good. The beds were comfy and I slept quite well. However.....the shower was rubbish - the height of the shower rose was far too low and impossible to "get under", the water pressure & temperature control was terrible. On our first night the double bed in our room had a leg snap off (and we crashed to the floor....). Reception were helpful - came to our room straight away, tried to fix it once, it didn't work so we were moved to another (bigger) room. My gripe was this "move" occured at around 9:50pm, and as I was collecting the new key I was told that the water was being shut off for the whole town of Rotorua from 10pm-12am that night, giving the three of us ten whole minutes to get upstairs, unpack, shower, brush teeth, use the toilet etc etc....am sure if the water was being shut off for the whole town they would have known long in advance and could have advised us on check in and/or left a note in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Kia Ora,

Thanks very much for your feedback and it sounds as though you did not have a very good experience which is not good.

We have taken on all your feedback and have implemented so extra procedures as you should have been told that the hot water was going to be shut down by the council at 10.00pm so I do apologise for this.

If you are coming through Rotoura again, please get in contact with us as I will be happy to offer you a complimentary night.

Once again thank you so much for your feedback.

Safe travels

Regards
Four Canoes Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    40
    26
    15
    18
See reviews for
25
40
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

A mate and I stayed here at the start of December 2013 and it was probably the best hostel we stayed in New Zealand. It's huge and looks like it used to be a motel, but that means it has loads of rooms. We had an 8 bed dorm to ourselves, which was great as we could comfortably add to the sulphuric smell in Rotorua without offending people. However, we did meet a solo traveller who was in a room on her own, which would perhaps be a bit miserable.
The facilities like the kitchen an the tv room are fantastic, and the pools looked pretty good (but we didn't go in).
I'd definitely recommend this hostel. And if you do find yourselves in Rotorua, please (if it's the only thing you do) go to the luge.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Kia Ora,

Thanks so much for your great review, we really appreciate it.

We wish you safe travels and we hope you come back and visit us in the future.

Take care.

Regards
Four Canoes Hostel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here with a group of family and friends for sports and leisure and we just knew we had booked the right place the moment we stepped in the doors of Four Canoes and was welcomed by a lovely lady Kat. She had a great sense of humor and organised our 2 days in Rotorua not even 10 minutes being in the Four Canoes Hostel. All our days were planned, our activities were booked and payed for right there (at a discounted price too which was a huge bonus) and we could just relax and chill for the rest of the day knowing that she had booked all our Activities for us right there on the spot.
When we were checked in we were shown around the place and our first impressions were unbelievable. We had read on Trip Advisor the other reviews about how great this place is but i think words cannot really explain how awesome this Hostel Backpacker is even though they are still under reconstruction. They have 2 hot pools which are naturally heated and i gotta say was our favorite spots along with there wicked Cinema Room that has Sky TV, DVD and free DVD hire and free pop corn machine. Free Wifi that actually is fast and the place is opened 24/7 with night security.THE BEDS WERE SO COMFORTABLE EVEN THE BUNKS MATTRESSES WERE THE THICK PROPER COMFY MATTRESSES. Just overall a FANTASTIC Hostel!!!! We definitely will be back next year hopefully with more people to enjoy this awesome spot. Thanks to all the staff for just being so friendly, helpful and making us feel at home. It truly was the highlight of our stay in NZ .

Room Tip: Bunk Beds have proper thick mattresses so everyone is in a win win at this hostel whether you book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jada L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Kia Ora,

Wow what a fantastic review, it is just so lovely to receive great feedback from our guests and we are just so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You are more then welcome to come back and stay anytime.

Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hostel was absolutely amazing!! I stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every minute of my stay.
The rooms were exceptionally clean and beds were very comfy *thumbs up!!
The reception staff were awesome! Knowledgeable, efficient and helpful. I didn't have to do a thing; They helped checked prices/discounts/shuttles to and from tours. Super easy.
Not too far from the central city, it's only about a 15min walk. Plenty of shops/restaurants/parks to keep you busy. If you plan on going to Rotorua I would recommend staying a couple days, there's loads to do.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qingahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and review. We really appreciate feedback and we are happy to know that we are doing a good job.

Thanks once again and we wish you safe travels and we hope you come back and stay with us!

Hope you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This Hostel has the BEST service and accommodated a Large group of 54! Thank you for making our Stay a positive experience for us ALL!!! Parents and kids just loved the place and were made to feel comfortable and safe!!! Thanks to all the helpful staff!! Beds were FANTASTIC!! Clean and Thick Innersprung mattresses... Facilities were Awesome...I can't say enough about this place!! Right from making the Booking with the lovely Receptionist to the very end of our stay... We miss Four Canoes... Great prices and a Great time... Our Sports Teams are coming back!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeiniD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Kia Ora,

We also thoroughly enjoyed you staying with us also and that everyone had a great time.

Please let us know if we can accommodate you at anytime and we look forward to you coming back to stay with us.

Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Córdoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hostel is clean, good service, and something very important regarding to hostels: COMFORTABLE BEDS!!! Kitchen incredibly tidy, the pool is a plus. It's not in the center of Rotorua, but it really worth the blocks you walk. I stayed only one night but would go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraLaLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Wow we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you come back to visit in the future.

Safe travels and have a great day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I cannot fault this place. Reception staff is really nice, the room was large and clean, bathroom was a nice size (make sure to take a towel as they only provide mat). The common areas were very charming. It was a 15-minute walk to town, but very pleasant and loads of supermarkets nearby. Free internet is definitely a bonus. Overall, a great place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissi2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Kia Ora,

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to know that we are doing a good job and that you had a comfortable stay with us.

Hope you come back and visit us and we wish you safe travels :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Canoes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Canoes Hotel

Property: Four Canoes Hotel
Address: 273 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Canoes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished the Four Canoes Hotel is now a 3 Star Qualmark rated Motel in central Rotorua. Rooms offer free unlimited WIFI, Free Tea/Coffee in the rooms, all rooms are ensuite with Shower and toilet. Two outdoor heated pools, and 1 Thermal Mineral Water Pool free to or guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Canoes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Canoes Hotel
Four Canoes Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing