We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, reviews overrate it ”
Review of Four Canoes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Canoes Hotel
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here after reading all the great reviews on here and were slightly disappointed. The wi fi was pretty bad, the room didn't seem as clean as it could be but the staff were friendly and it was close enough to town. You got what you paid for but don't expect anymore.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Kia Ora,

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. It is such a shame that our property
did not fulfill your expectations and we do hope that this does not effect you from ever coming back to stay with us. We have taken your feedback very seriously and have been working extremely hard to make sure that the quality of our rooms and cleanliness is kept to excellent standard as we know we are. If you are ever back in Rotorua we would love to have you stay with us again.
We appreciate your honest feedback and hope to meet you again in the near future.

Thank you kindly,
The Four Canoes Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

I really enjoyed my time here at Four Canoes, the great facility's were just outstanding and the awesome lady with the big laugh was really funny and helpful.
Free wifi is great and also the hot pools,
Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseHathaway13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Kia Ora,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Four Canoes.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again in Rotorua.

Regards
Four Canoes Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night for a running event happening in Rotorua. The place is easy to find with large signage along the road. The complex appears to be a hotel/motel which has been converted into a hostel. The staff were super friendly on check in and throughout the stay, and the front desk lady took the time to walk us around to show us the property.

The hostel has a large kitchen with a number of new hotplates and ovens, and large stainless steel benchspaces for preparing meals, however could do well to have some larger commercial style refrigerators. Found there were enough utensils for our use, however it could be somewhat limited in the availability of pots and pans when busy.

There is a large TV room with lots of lounge seating and a huge LCD television with SKY tv box, DVD's available from reception, and you could plug in a hard drive using the USB port to watch your own movies.

We stayed in a 8 bed dorm which we had to ourselves the first night, and shared with 3 others on the second night. Each of the dorm rooms has their own ensuite bathroom which is cool. The shower was adequate and there was also a hairdryer fitted to the wall. The beds are probably the best I've ever slept in at a hostel, and much better than many hotels I've stayed at. I had the best sleep here thanks to these beds! They are also made when you arrive, which is awesome - you can just rock in and rack out if you want too. Also they don't allow anyone to check in to occupied rooms after 10pm so you won't be disturbed late at night by late arrivals.

The pools are great - there is a cold one, hot one, and a mineral water spa which felt awesome on the skin. They also have free wifi, you collect a code from reception which gives you 4 hours of access (which became a little tedious having to enter codes every now and then - but it worked and was pretty fast).

Great hostel, good sleep quality, plenty of space, pools, large kitchen, awesome TV room, friendly staff. What more could you want? Its only a short walk from town. If I'm back in Rotorua I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have good beds - just choose how many people you want to share with
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Kia Ora,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about Four Canoes Hostel.

It is great to hear that you had a good stay with us.

Once again thanks so much and we are glad you got home safely.

Regards
Four Canoes Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The price was right and the free wifi was good. The beds were comfy and I slept quite well. However.....the shower was rubbish - the height of the shower rose was far too low and impossible to "get under", the water pressure & temperature control was terrible. On our first night the double bed in our room had a leg snap off (and we crashed to the floor....). Reception were helpful - came to our room straight away, tried to fix it once, it didn't work so we were moved to another (bigger) room. My gripe was this "move" occured at around 9:50pm, and as I was collecting the new key I was told that the water was being shut off for the whole town of Rotorua from 10pm-12am that night, giving the three of us ten whole minutes to get upstairs, unpack, shower, brush teeth, use the toilet etc etc....am sure if the water was being shut off for the whole town they would have known long in advance and could have advised us on check in and/or left a note in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Kia Ora,

Thanks very much for your feedback and it sounds as though you did not have a very good experience which is not good.

We have taken on all your feedback and have implemented so extra procedures as you should have been told that the hot water was going to be shut down by the council at 10.00pm so I do apologise for this.

If you are coming through Rotoura again, please get in contact with us as I will be happy to offer you a complimentary night.

Once again thank you so much for your feedback.

Safe travels

Regards
Four Canoes Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

A mate and I stayed here at the start of December 2013 and it was probably the best hostel we stayed in New Zealand. It's huge and looks like it used to be a motel, but that means it has loads of rooms. We had an 8 bed dorm to ourselves, which was great as we could comfortably add to the sulphuric smell in Rotorua without offending people. However, we did meet a solo traveller who was in a room on her own, which would perhaps be a bit miserable.
The facilities like the kitchen an the tv room are fantastic, and the pools looked pretty good (but we didn't go in).
I'd definitely recommend this hostel. And if you do find yourselves in Rotorua, please (if it's the only thing you do) go to the luge.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Kia Ora,

Thanks so much for your great review, we really appreciate it.

We wish you safe travels and we hope you come back and visit us in the future.

Take care.

Regards
Four Canoes Hostel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here with a group of family and friends for sports and leisure and we just knew we had booked the right place the moment we stepped in the doors of Four Canoes and was welcomed by a lovely lady Kat. She had a great sense of humor and organised our 2 days in Rotorua not even 10 minutes being in the Four Canoes Hostel. All our days were planned, our activities were booked and payed for right there (at a discounted price too which was a huge bonus) and we could just relax and chill for the rest of the day knowing that she had booked all our Activities for us right there on the spot.
When we were checked in we were shown around the place and our first impressions were unbelievable. We had read on Trip Advisor the other reviews about how great this place is but i think words cannot really explain how awesome this Hostel Backpacker is even though they are still under reconstruction. They have 2 hot pools which are naturally heated and i gotta say was our favorite spots along with there wicked Cinema Room that has Sky TV, DVD and free DVD hire and free pop corn machine. Free Wifi that actually is fast and the place is opened 24/7 with night security.THE BEDS WERE SO COMFORTABLE EVEN THE BUNKS MATTRESSES WERE THE THICK PROPER COMFY MATTRESSES. Just overall a FANTASTIC Hostel!!!! We definitely will be back next year hopefully with more people to enjoy this awesome spot. Thanks to all the staff for just being so friendly, helpful and making us feel at home. It truly was the highlight of our stay in NZ .

Room Tip: Bunk Beds have proper thick mattresses so everyone is in a win win at this hostel whether you book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jada L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Kia Ora,

Wow what a fantastic review, it is just so lovely to receive great feedback from our guests and we are just so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You are more then welcome to come back and stay anytime.

Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hostel was absolutely amazing!! I stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every minute of my stay.
The rooms were exceptionally clean and beds were very comfy *thumbs up!!
The reception staff were awesome! Knowledgeable, efficient and helpful. I didn't have to do a thing; They helped checked prices/discounts/shuttles to and from tours. Super easy.
Not too far from the central city, it's only about a 15min walk. Plenty of shops/restaurants/parks to keep you busy. If you plan on going to Rotorua I would recommend staying a couple days, there's loads to do.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qingahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Kia Ora,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and review. We really appreciate feedback and we are happy to know that we are doing a good job.

Thanks once again and we wish you safe travels and we hope you come back and stay with us!

Hope you have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Canoes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Canoes Hotel

Address: 273 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £40 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Canoes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished the Four Canoes Hotel is now a 3 Star Qualmark rated Motel in central Rotorua. Rooms offer free unlimited WIFI, Free Tea/Coffee in the rooms, all rooms are ensuite with Shower and toilet. Two outdoor heated pools, and 1 Thermal Mineral Water Pool free to or guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Canoes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Canoes Hotel
Four Canoes Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing