We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the worst place we stayed in.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Brylin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brylin Motel
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This is the worst place we stayed in.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were booked to stay 3 nights here but left after one night. To say we wer disappointed is an understatement. This place is more like a backpacker hostel than a proper standard of motel. The apartment was dowdy, hadn't been painted for years and the furniture looked like it had been sourced from a second hand shop. Nothing matched. The bathroom fixtures were ancient and really basic. The fridge was bashed and rusty. I mean it was just rubbish ! My sister's room had a few hangers on a wall hook, that was the wardrobe ! The parking is down a steep narrow lane at the side where you can hardly turn your car.
We moved up the road to the Holiday Inn and boy what a difference!
Take my advice, avoid this place.,

Room Tip: I don' know if there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevandPhill, Owner at Brylin Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
We are shocked to receive such a derrogatory review, after we parted on such amicable terms. Your reason for leaving was due to there only being 1 bathroom between 3 of you ( we were unaware that 1 of your party had medical reasons for requiring seperate bathroom facilities) This should have been made clear when you booked through your travel agent.
Unlike the multi billion dollar Holiday Inn chain, we do not have an unlimited budget, we have spent the last 2 years improving and refurbishing these units. That said, we hold a 4 star Qualmark rating and offer free Wi Fi.
Our car park is small, but there was only 1 other vehicle when you stayed and if you had a problem parking, you could have parked on the front.
We welcome constructive criticism, to help us deliver a better service, but your comments are totally unjust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    26
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
45
24
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We love it. We spent two nights here. and it was my second time to stay in brylin motels. My family love here. it is very clean, and comfortable. It is good location and far away from famous Chinese takeaway. the owner were very friendly and helpful. We love it somuch and will come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We had a 2 night stay in Rotorua at the Brylin ,great hosts made our time more enjoyable by sharing their knowledge of the best tourist attractions. Clean, comfortable & in the perfect location, even though situated on a major road very quiet.Thanks for booking us in for the fantastic meal at Skyline.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We spent one night in Rotorua, we found the Motel on the AA website, so really was lucky dip! We were lucky as there was nothing to complain about at Brylin's. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The owners greeted us and couldn't be more helpful. I would highly recommend stay at Brylin's.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f_j_r_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KERIKERI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

The Brylin Motel is one of the cleanest places we have been to, which counts for a heck of a lot in my book, the owners were so friendly they were just like family, good old fashioned english welcome.

Room Tip: Two bed appartment, spotlessly clean although a bit hot without windows in the upper bedroom, fan wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TROPHYKerikeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moura, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stays like this one make me so happy as they really make a holiday worthwhile. Being on the road i was surprised how quiet the room was. Free wifi is definately a plus and the spa bath was a real treat after a long day. But the best part of my stay was definately the managers. Many many thanks to Bev for ringing up and rearranging tours and making sure i waz booked in for some and also for her lovely suggestions for eating out. They really do go the extra mile to help you out. Thank you both. I hope to come back one day!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyCaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Sometimes it is the hosts, rather than the accommodation that really define the experience. The owners of this hotel are some of the nicest you'll ever come across and went above and beyond to help us get the most out of our two days in Rotorua.

The budget-friendly studio room was more than comfortable for the three of us, with plenty of floor space, a big TV and the progressive free WiFi service. Only downfalls perhaps are location (for those who don't have a car), it's about 10-20mins walk to the main CBD area. I'd gladly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
#17 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#45 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#58 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#35 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brylin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brylin Motel

Property: Brylin Motel
Address: 315 Fenton St, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brylin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brylin Motel offers quality accommodation at affordable prices. There are 3 spacious Studio Units and 1 Access Studio Unit (sleep up to 3 people) and 7 Two Bedroom Units (sleep up to 5 people). All Units include kitchen facilities, a 42 inch Plasma TV, SKY TV, a spa bath (except the Access Unit), shower and internet access. The 2 Bedroom Units have a dining and lounge area and a outside balcony. There is a tour desk, laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, free off road car parking available. The Motel is located approx 1Km from the city centre and in close proximity to the racecourse, restaurants, golf course and many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brylin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing