We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, even better hosts”
Review of Brylin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brylin Motel
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great place, even better hosts”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, the location is great, the rooms are great value for money. During our stay our car developed a fault, Phil & Bev gound us a repair shop, and offered us a lift to and from there.

They are people who understand customer service! Kerp up the good work

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    26
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
45
25
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This place was excellent we had the best time and so did our kids thanks to the owners, They made us so welcome and gave us all the info we needed to get around. Room's where very clean and big and the balcony was great to have a beer on with our friends that where staying in the room next door. We would stay there again.
Brett and Nicole Morris

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvlonGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singleton, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have had the best stay at the Brylin in Rotorua. Bev and Phil were wonderful hosts. The two bedroom apartment we stayed in was very clean and had 2 TV's, an equipped kitchen with microwave and stovetop. Fantastic, would definitely stay with them again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
436 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

There are a lot of options in terms of accommodation in Rotorua and this is a pretty good one. We stayed 2 nights and for $130 a night we got a 2 storey apartment style room - bottom floor had bedroom and bathroom (spa bath and high pressure but rather small shower) and top floor the very spacious lounge and dining area plus another bedroom.
Seemed well maintained, quite good for our 2 year old, but if you have a child not confident / able on stairs it wouldn't be so good. Had some trouble adjusting the heating to the level we wanted but overall quite comfortable.
Hosts very friendly and they even did our dishes for us which was an unexpected bonus. Refreshments were also topped up and beds were made - not always the case in NZ motels.
Would benefit from a better range of tv channels - especially for youngsters.

Room Tip: There are units down the ramp and these are further from the road, which can be quite busy. We had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were booked to stay 3 nights here but left after one night. To say we wer disappointed is an understatement. This place is more like a backpacker hostel than a proper standard of motel. The apartment was dowdy, hadn't been painted for years and the furniture looked like it had been sourced from a second hand shop. Nothing matched. The bathroom fixtures were ancient and really basic. The fridge was bashed and rusty. I mean it was just rubbish ! My sister's room had a few hangers on a wall hook, that was the wardrobe ! The parking is down a steep narrow lane at the side where you can hardly turn your car.
We moved up the road to the Holiday Inn and boy what a difference!
Take my advice, avoid this place.,

Room Tip: I don' know if there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevandPhill, Owner at Brylin Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
We are shocked to receive such a derrogatory review, after we parted on such amicable terms. Your reason for leaving was due to there only being 1 bathroom between 3 of you ( we were unaware that 1 of your party had medical reasons for requiring seperate bathroom facilities) This should have been made clear when you booked through your travel agent.
Unlike the multi billion dollar Holiday Inn chain, we do not have an unlimited budget, we have spent the last 2 years improving and refurbishing these units. That said, we hold a 4 star Qualmark rating and offer free Wi Fi.
Our car park is small, but there was only 1 other vehicle when you stayed and if you had a problem parking, you could have parked on the front.
We welcome constructive criticism, to help us deliver a better service, but your comments are totally unjust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We love it. We spent two nights here. and it was my second time to stay in brylin motels. My family love here. it is very clean, and comfortable. It is good location and far away from famous Chinese takeaway. the owner were very friendly and helpful. We love it somuch and will come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We had a 2 night stay in Rotorua at the Brylin ,great hosts made our time more enjoyable by sharing their knowledge of the best tourist attractions. Clean, comfortable & in the perfect location, even though situated on a major road very quiet.Thanks for booking us in for the fantastic meal at Skyline.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#39 of 92 in Rotorua
213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brylin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brylin Motel

Property: Brylin Motel
Address: 315 Fenton St, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brylin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brylin Motel offers quality accommodation at affordable prices. There are 3 spacious Studio Units and 1 Access Studio Unit (sleep up to 3 people) and 7 Two Bedroom Units (sleep up to 5 people). All Units include kitchen facilities, a 42 inch Plasma TV, SKY TV, a spa bath (except the Access Unit), shower and internet access. The 2 Bedroom Units have a dining and lounge area and a outside balcony. There is a tour desk, laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, free off road car parking available. The Motel is located approx 1Km from the city centre and in close proximity to the racecourse, restaurants, golf course and many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brylin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing