We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding accommodation and friendly helpful hosts”
Review of Brylin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brylin Motel
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Outstanding accommodation and friendly helpful hosts”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were so pleased when Phil and Bev had a room ( their last) as we had just turned down two rather grotty and similar priced rooms earlier.

The room was so clean and fresh, bedding crisp and white and everything we needed to make a simple supper as we were so tired from hiking all day. We were even treated with fresh milk to make a much needed cuppa ( all tea and coffee was provided)
The spa bath was a treat and a blessing to our sore feet. They even provided us with helpful advice for our onward travelling. Brylin is a super place to stay so don't miss it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    26
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
45
25
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. I had read reviews of the lovely owners which swayed my decision to stay here. The rooms, beds etc were fine, the kitchen table whilst a little awkward was OK for a short stay. Little noisy - we could hear one of our sons in the fold out sofa-bed (which was extremely uncomfortable) every time he moved upstairs above our room. We received no clean linen or towels, no top ups for toiletries or tea/coffee etc throughout the stay – no advice that we apparently had to request this as per owners feedback to another review. Overall the motel was clean and the WiFi not bad but did drop in and out as we attempted to enroll my son into Uni. But, be warned! Do not overstay your welcome!! At 10am sharp we received a call from the owner Phil to inform us that it was a ‘10am’ departure – and that ‘…come on guys!’ I have never received such a rude call in all my years of travelling the world. We arrived 3 hours after the check in time on the Wed and had already packed, washed our dishes by hand, taken rubbish out of the unit… Then, as we were leaving, Phil put his face aggressively into my car window, (at 10.15am), aggressively asking us where the key was. We said it was in the door (as we had no inclination to speak with him after his rude call) and then he proceeded to tell us why our 10.15am departure had drastically affected his life! He also asked what my occupation was and would not stop – he apparently needed to have the last word so followed our car as we turned to go – Stay somewhere else, you don’t want to see Phil when he’s had a bad night!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JocelynMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev R, Owner at Brylin Motel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
We have been in the Motel/Hotel business for 10 years both here and in Europe. We have always responded to Trip Advisor reviews objectively & with some reserve. We need to make an exception in your case and feel it necessary to put the record straight.
To answer your points - Room service is carried out daily between 10am & 12pm, any unit still occupied after this time is left, so as not to intrude or disturb. Had you required towels or top ups, you should have just asked. We tell all our guests (you included) on checking in, "Anything we can do for you, please let us know"
The WI FI rears its ugly head again by a guest whose life depends on it. Again we explain on check in that it is adequate for general use and its speed is dependant on how many users are on at any time. Hence it being FREE.
Our check in & check out times are there for a reason, like any business, to help with the smooth running of a day.
I phoned your unit at 10.05am and spoke to one of your sons, my exact words (politely put) were "It's gone 10 o clock, are you going to be long?" He replied "We are just packing, we won't be long" At 10.15am, you were sat in your car studying a map, I approached your closed car window, which you then wound down. I politely asked where your key was and attempted to explain that 10am check out was just that. I did not expect the torrent of angry verbal abuse you subjected me to and found myself unable to get a word in! I merely asked your occupation with a view to trying to make some comparison with your work ethics and mine. I was denied the last word by yourself calling me - "A whinging Pom, with a sad little life and business, you drive all your customers away, you have ruined my holiday and I am going to destroy you on Trip Advisor"
You left the Motel at 10.25am. Pity you didn't notice that you were the only guests still on site. Other establishments would have charged your card after 10am as a matter of course - we don't, that's why we politely remind people with a phone call AFTER 10am. If you would have had the courtesy to tell us you were running late, there would not have been a problem. But it was obvious you had your own agenda, and woe betide anyone who got in your way!
Reading your other Trip Advisor reviews, you seem to have a problem with anyone attempting to exert any control over you. Far from doing us any damage, you have merely made yourself stand out with the few reviewers that are written by serial whingers, who can't appreciate the extra mile we actually go for our guests.
Boy, we wish there was a Guest Advisor!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverell
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Phill and Bev, our hosts, were absolutely fantastic. Warm and friendly, they were able to suggest places for us to visit that were a little different from the usual tourist attractions. The room was fantastic and the washing service brilliant - freeing up lots of time for us to maximise our site-seeing. Would definitely recommend Brylin Motel for a family stay. Thanks, Phill and Bev. Loved meeting you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MaznDaz1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Phill & Bev made me very welcome,one of the best hotel's i have stayed in here in New Zealand,very friendly, told me of the local area for food/drinks ect.
Rooms Very clean,tidy, well looked after, if you don't stay here your missing out.

Room Tip: The room by parking bay one, very nice and cosy, {good double bed}
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We briefly legged it to Rotorua on our way from Coromandel back to Auckland (yes, bit of a detour) and picked this place to stay on short notice. The owners were very friendly and helpful and showed us around the room, the only thing that we struggled to find was the light switch (!) After a 20 minute search we managed to find it. Perhaps this could be pointed out.

The room was very spacious, maybe slightly dated but comfortable beds. I was surprised about the facilities such as a small kitchen and a jacuzzi pool (we did try it and enjoyed it!).
WiFi worked fine and we could park straight in front of the room which was great.

Of-course, like any place in Rotorua you will smell the sulphury scent nearly everywhere. It's a natural effect so nothing to remark negatively on this motel.

Rotorua is great fun, it's not for nothing the locals call it "Rotovegas". Lot's of things to do and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We (my husband, two teenage kids and myself) stayed at the Brylin Motel for two nights and found Bev and Phil to be the friendliest and most welcoming motel owners we have ever encountered. Their tip for a good pub meal (at The Pig and Whistle) was spot on. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and found it to be very clean, comfortable and roomy. The motel is close to the centre of town and all the local attractions are easily accessable from here. We would definately stay here again. Mel and Ron Noorderbroek

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Great Place to stay.

Rooms are affordable and well maintained, Good location. Very friendly hosts who went out of their way to assist us. Would recommend to all. We really enjoyed our stay. 2 bedroom apartments are ideal for a few couples or a family

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Braeden87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#40 of 92 in Rotorua
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#39 of 92 in Rotorua
213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brylin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brylin Motel

Property: Brylin Motel
Address: 315 Fenton St, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brylin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brylin Motel offers quality accommodation at affordable prices. There are 3 spacious Studio Units and 1 Access Studio Unit (sleep up to 3 people) and 7 Two Bedroom Units (sleep up to 5 people). All Units include kitchen facilities, a 42 inch Plasma TV, SKY TV, a spa bath (except the Access Unit), shower and internet access. The 2 Bedroom Units have a dining and lounge area and a outside balcony. There is a tour desk, laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, free off road car parking available. The Motel is located approx 1Km from the city centre and in close proximity to the racecourse, restaurants, golf course and many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brylin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing