We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convienient, and value”
Review of Brylin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brylin Motel
Ranked #47 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The staff are so friendly and gave us some milk for a cuppa. Our unit had a huge backyard for the kids to run and comes with a bath spa. The unit was clean and decently set out for the price. the very friendly owners were eager to give us discounts on anything we wanted to do and were eager to share their knowledge of Rotorua.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed 1 night, a wonderful welcome and were shown to our room. Really large room with couch area and well set out. Large TV with Sky, large bathroom with spa and a kitchenette. The owners were really nice and helpful with directions to attractions. Would definitely recommend to others

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabbygogo1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at the motel for an initial 3 night stay whilst visiting Rotorua and we enjoyed it so much that on our return trip from Napier back to Auckland we booked in again for another 2 nights. Phil and Bev the owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. They recommended places for us to visit and every one that we did was excellent. Our accommodation was very good and excellent value for money and we would not hesitate to recommend this little gem to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a nice little gem very close to Rotorua CBD/Town. The owners of this motel are friendly, helpful and very happy to have you stay with them, rooms and living areas were spotless, upon arrival we were provided with discount vouchers (where possible) and flyers for the local attractions, etc - We had 2 cars but were only renting one unit, this was no problem and we were accommodated without any issues whatsoever! We stayed for 3-4 days and needed some washing done while we were there which they did for us at only $10 per load, washed, dried, and folded! amazing service, would recommend to anyone needing a place to stay in Rotorua, we will be back next time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevandPhill, Owner at Brylin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time and giving us such a great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the motel for 3 nights, great value for money and absolutely amazing service. Phil and Bev the friendly owners from the uk, who have been in the business for 15+ years were welcoming from the moment we checked in. They recommend places and activites for us to go to. For just $20 they did four peoples laundry and folded them before returning them to our room. The cleanliness was to perfection and clean towels were given each morning, we hired the bbq for breakfast for $5 which came with all the utensils and very clean. I cant fault this motel, close to everything you need, free wifi, clean, comfy and very helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommend :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were so pleased when Phil and Bev had a room ( their last) as we had just turned down two rather grotty and similar priced rooms earlier.

The room was so clean and fresh, bedding crisp and white and everything we needed to make a simple supper as we were so tired from hiking all day. We were even treated with fresh milk to make a much needed cuppa ( all tea and coffee was provided)
The spa bath was a treat and a blessing to our sore feet. They even provided us with helpful advice for our onward travelling. Brylin is a super place to stay so don't miss it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendyethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. I had read reviews of the lovely owners which swayed my decision to stay here. The rooms, beds etc were fine, the kitchen table whilst a little awkward was OK for a short stay. Little noisy - we could hear one of our sons in the fold out sofa-bed (which was extremely uncomfortable) every time he moved upstairs above our room. We received no clean linen or towels, no top ups for toiletries or tea/coffee etc throughout the stay – no advice that we apparently had to request this as per owners feedback to another review. Overall the motel was clean and the WiFi not bad but did drop in and out as we attempted to enroll my son into Uni. But, be warned! Do not overstay your welcome!! At 10am sharp we received a call from the owner Phil to inform us that it was a ‘10am’ departure – and that ‘…come on guys!’ I have never received such a rude call in all my years of travelling the world. We arrived 3 hours after the check in time on the Wed and had already packed, washed our dishes by hand, taken rubbish out of the unit… Then, as we were leaving, Phil put his face aggressively into my car window, (at 10.15am), aggressively asking us where the key was. We said it was in the door (as we had no inclination to speak with him after his rude call) and then he proceeded to tell us why our 10.15am departure had drastically affected his life! He also asked what my occupation was and would not stop – he apparently needed to have the last word so followed our car as we turned to go – Stay somewhere else, you don’t want to see Phil when he’s had a bad night!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank JocelynMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev R, Owner at Brylin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We have been in the Motel/Hotel business for 10 years both here and in Europe. We have always responded to Trip Advisor reviews objectively & with some reserve. We need to make an exception in your case and feel it necessary to put the record straight.
To answer your points - Room service is carried out daily between 10am & 12pm, any unit still occupied after this time is left, so as not to intrude or disturb. Had you required towels or top ups, you should have just asked. We tell all our guests (you included) on checking in, "Anything we can do for you, please let us know"
The WI FI rears its ugly head again by a guest whose life depends on it. Again we explain on check in that it is adequate for general use and its speed is dependant on how many users are on at any time. Hence it being FREE.
Our check in & check out times are there for a reason, like any business, to help with the smooth running of a day.
I phoned your unit at 10.05am and spoke to one of your sons, my exact words (politely put) were "It's gone 10 o clock, are you going to be long?" He replied "We are just packing, we won't be long" At 10.15am, you were sat in your car studying a map, I approached your closed car window, which you then wound down. I politely asked where your key was and attempted to explain that 10am check out was just that. I did not expect the torrent of angry verbal abuse you subjected me to and found myself unable to get a word in! I merely asked your occupation with a view to trying to make some comparison with your work ethics and mine. I was denied the last word by yourself calling me - "A whinging Pom, with a sad little life and business, you drive all your customers away, you have ruined my holiday and I am going to destroy you on Trip Advisor"
You left the Motel at 10.25am. Pity you didn't notice that you were the only guests still on site. Other establishments would have charged your card after 10am as a matter of course - we don't, that's why we politely remind people with a phone call AFTER 10am. If you would have had the courtesy to tell us you were running late, there would not have been a problem. But it was obvious you had your own agenda, and woe betide anyone who got in your way!
Reading your other Trip Advisor reviews, you seem to have a problem with anyone attempting to exert any control over you. Far from doing us any damage, you have merely made yourself stand out with the few reviewers that are written by serial whingers, who can't appreciate the extra mile we actually go for our guests.
Boy, we wish there was a Guest Advisor!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#58 of 92 in Rotorua
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Maria Motel
Santa Maria Motel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brylin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brylin Motel

Address: 315 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £49 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brylin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brylin Motel offers quality accommodation at affordable prices. There are 3 spacious Studio Units and 1 Access Studio Unit (sleep up to 3 people) and 7 Two Bedroom Units (sleep up to 5 people). All Units include kitchen facilities, a 42 inch Plasma TV, SKY TV, a spa bath (except the Access Unit), shower and internet access. The 2 Bedroom Units have a dining and lounge area and a outside balcony. There is a tour desk, laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, free off road car parking available. The Motel is located approx 1Km from the city centre and in close proximity to the racecourse, restaurants, golf course and many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brylin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing