We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Owner and Awesome pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Ranked #11 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great New Owner and Awesome pool!”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed one night, two adults and one almost teenager. The NEW owner (Brij) was very hospitable and really made us feel at home. Had a night swim in the pool, simply awesome. We will be going back to stay and would recommend to anyone. Rob H.

Room Tip: Studio Unit was perfect for two adults and one child!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    194
    44
    9
    4
See reviews for
295
135
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Comfortable, well-serviced units and awesome facilities. The swimming pool is beautiful and made our holiday. The hot mineral pools are beautiful, too.
The new owners have made it their responsibility to ensure that your stay is great and nothing is too much trouble.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: away from the road if possible, but all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Was booked for 3 nights at motel, but arrived to rainy Rotorua. Nice rooms, very hospitable management. Seems it has been taken over recently (Early Dec 2011), by new management. Requested to cut the stay from 3 days to 2 days, due to rain. Brij (the new owner), smilingly agreed to it, without charging anything for the cancelled third night.
My daughter loved the heated pool (one of the few things we could in the rain) and jumping on the trampoline in the rain.
Would definitely recommend this place for family. Am planning to go back for a couple of days, if the rain Gods decide to stay away.

Room Tip: Was in one of the back rooms. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khozema M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matakana, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We arrived in the afternoon and fond a room here, Very large rooms, more spacious than normal, easy to cook in the kitchen, comfy beds and lots of room. Very hospitable host, who made sure we were fully looked after. We really enjoyed the mineral baths. Many thanks for a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
148 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Thermal Motel

Property: Cleveland Thermal Motel
Address: 113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly The Cleveland Thermal Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleveland Thermal Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cleveland Thermal Motel. The Cleveland Thermal Motel is perfectly situated only minutes from both Rotorua's lake front and city centre, and in close proximity to many leading tourist attractions. We are an outstanding accommodation option for those visiting this tourist haven in the central North Island. Set in over 2 acres of spacious grounds with manicured lawns and beautiful gardens, the motel also offers a great outdoor heated pool, two hot thermal mineral pools, and a large children's playground area. Our comfortable rooms and amenities make The Cleveland the perfect accommodation choice for couples getaways, large groups, and in particular, family holidays. We have plenty of parking for boats, trailers, second cars or large vehicles, and with our location within walking distance of the markets at the lake, the central city, and the hospital, we are ideal for those without transportation too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cleveland Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Rotorua
Cleveland Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing