We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Location is good, the room is clean and tidy.
Inn keeper 'Bridge' is very nice and friendly, always ready to give a hand. He has given us appropriate advice in choosing varieties of interests. Canopy Tour was exciting yet enjoyable. The Hamurana Spring he recommended is excellent.
The lady who made our room is very mother liked, love to talk to her.
I would recommend Cleveland Motel to friend of mine.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 133kaiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Yes, it is obvious our housekeeping team love what they do. Glad to know you made it out to the Hamurana Spring; it is so beautiful to feel the "chi" in the area. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cleveland Motel. We were taking part in the Round the Lake cycling event and found the Cleveland to be in a fantastic central location with awesome hosts. Our unit was spacious and clean and the beds were comfy, so no complaints from us!!! We would choose to stay again at this motel especially for the price!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hope you are in training for this year's "Round the Lake". If you liked the Cleveland when you stayed the last time, then, you will love what we have done since. All the roadworks are complete and we now have a fabulous cycle track right by our front entrance. Thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We are just back from an around the world trip where we stayed in 69 different places over 7 months. This included a three night stay at the Cleveland Motel in March 2013. The owner was very nice, and I believe that we actually got a room upgrade for the same price. The two trampolines were fun for my kids and we all enjoyed a dip in the pool. :-)

However, the facilities were old and I thought the beds were among the least comfortable on our whole trip. The mattresses were extremely soft and the curtains could have been darker (our neighbors had their front light on and our pale yellow curtains didn't block the light sufficiently). Also, the hot pools, which look so inviting in the photos, were also run down. One didn't have any water and the other was just okay.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cleveland IF you stay in one of their remodeled rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We have refurbished 14 of the 18 units that needed a makeover. Your feedback about the curtains has been noted and we have started replacing them with a blackout backing. Mattresses are also being upgraded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My family and i had pre booked our rooms at the cleveland motel 3 months earlier through our sister chanel robinson and kenji porter.We came to Rotorua to do the tough guy tough gal challenge on saturday 18th august 2013 .we booked the biggest unit that was there number 5 and a small unit for my sister and brother which was close to the office The large room we stayed in was big enough for the 8 of us.The carpet in our room was a bit worn but i was told the room was soon to be renovated, a bigger t.v in our room would have been great as there were 10 of us trying to watch the game saturday night but the screen was too small for the ten of my whanau members trying to watch it .besides that we all really enjoyed our stay.The pool was awesome and it really made our day having to come back from our 6km run then jump in the pool.To the motel manager thank you so much for letting us leave at 12pm which we should have left by 10am but we were running a bit late.The location we were at is close to the bakery,garage,wholesale vege shop and town is just a 3min drive.Loved the weekend stay and my whanau are all looking forward to coming back next year to do the tough guy tough gal challenge for 2014.Thank you to the motel manager hope our rooms were up to standard when we left on sunday.we did make sure all blankets and sheets were stripped off the beds and all rubbish put into recycling bins.great stay and will see you next year 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your detailed review; much appreciated. The unit you stayed in has now been repainted, a new bathroom is being installed, then new carpet and yes, we are putting a bigger tv. This will be 42" with all the bells and whistles including wifi (free of course). Look forward to seeing you next year or earlier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just want to say that Cleveland Motel is one of the best motels I have stayed at. Very friendly and helpful hosts.... place lovely and clean.....great location.....and kids just loved the nice clean hot pool. I have already recommended this motel to some of my friends!!!
Awesome!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Naturally we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at the Cleveland. Most families prefer the 2-bedroom apartments as they are over 50 square metres in size, plus these have just been refurbished. Tony will be very happy to hear you liked the pool as he takes great pride in keeping it clean. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Our Badminton team had such a great time last year we decided we would definitely return. The pool was a great relaxer after a hard day on the court. We were able to just relax in the heated outdoor pool. Also the units very clean and are in the process of being renovated and we look forward to returning again next year. Would recommend this Motel to suit all whether you are a team or a family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

We are glad you enjoyed staying in our refurbished unit; the first of many being given a new lease of life. By the time you return the area around the pool will have had a makeover too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We went to the Cleveland because they could accommodate a family of 6 (4 teenagers). We were disappointed with first impressions but we reluctantly took the room because it was getting late & thought it was better than sleeping in our vehicle (it was school holidays). The carpets & furniture looked very old, grubby & stained - the beds that looked like they were 30yrs old. The pullout couch was all stained with stained mattress toppers provided but no sheets to make it. When mentioned the next day that they had forgotten to give us sheets no discount was offered. Although it wasn't dirty it kind of looked it, shabby & in need of a spruceup. The swimming pool was very good though and the hosts seemed very nice. If a place is not up to its star rating then it shouldnt be let out till it is; or let out at a much reduced price. Hence we checked into the Boulevard for the next two nights which was beautiful and at a cheaper rate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fiona903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Thanks for your review. We are sorry your stay with us was not a good one. We started refurbishing the larger 2-bedroom units in April and have completed 4 of these units. We are continuing with our refurbishment programme and are on target to complete 2 units each months. Already we are getting good comments from guests who have stayed in the refurbished units. We are not a flash motel however we offer clean, comfortable rooms and provide a great environment for families to have fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
461 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
891 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
252 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Thermal Motel

Address: 113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly The Cleveland Thermal Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £63 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleveland Thermal Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cleveland Thermal Motel. The Cleveland Thermal Motel is perfectly situated only minutes from both Rotorua's lake front and city centre, and in close proximity to many leading tourist attractions. We are an outstanding accommodation option for those visiting this tourist haven in the central North Island. Set in over 2 acres of spacious grounds with manicured lawns and beautiful gardens, the motel also offers a great outdoor heated pool, two hot thermal mineral pools, and a large children's playground area. Our comfortable rooms and amenities make The Cleveland the perfect accommodation choice for couples getaways, large groups, and in particular, family holidays. We have plenty of parking for boats, trailers, second cars or large vehicles, and with our location within walking distance of the markets at the lake, the central city, and the hospital, we are ideal for those without transportation too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cleveland Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Rotorua
Cleveland Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing