We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$474
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
367
241
57
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
241
57
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsecono lodgeheated poolgreat poolfree wifikuirau parkenjoyed our staythermal poolssky tvnew ownerscomfortable bedsclose to townroad noisea great place to staylovely hostsbedroom uniteasy accessgood size
Filter
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Location is good, the room is clean and tidy.
Inn keeper 'Bridge' is very nice and friendly, always ready to give a hand. He has given us appropriate advice in choosing varieties of interests. Canopy Tour was exciting yet enjoyable. The Hamurana Spring he recommended is excellent.
The lady who made our room is very mother liked, love to talk to her.
I would recommend Cleveland Motel to friend of mine.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 133kaiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Yes, it is obvious our housekeeping team love what they do. Glad to know you made it out to the Hamurana Spring; it is so beautiful to feel the "chi" in the area. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cleveland Motel. We were taking part in the Round the Lake cycling event and found the Cleveland to be in a fantastic central location with awesome hosts. Our unit was spacious and clean and the beds were comfy, so no complaints from us!!! We would choose to stay again at this motel especially for the price!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hope you are in training for this year's "Round the Lake". If you liked the Cleveland when you stayed the last time, then, you will love what we have done since. All the roadworks are complete and we now have a fabulous cycle track right by our front entrance. Thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We are just back from an around the world trip where we stayed in 69 different places over 7 months. This included a three night stay at the Cleveland Motel in March 2013. The owner was very nice, and I believe that we actually got a room upgrade for the same price. The two trampolines were fun for my kids and we all enjoyed a dip in the pool. :-)

However, the facilities were old and I thought the beds were among the least comfortable on our whole trip. The mattresses were extremely soft and the curtains could have been darker (our neighbors had their front light on and our pale yellow curtains didn't block the light sufficiently). Also, the hot pools, which look so inviting in the photos, were also run down. One didn't have any water and the other was just okay.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cleveland IF you stay in one of their remodeled rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We have refurbished 14 of the 18 units that needed a makeover. Your feedback about the curtains has been noted and we have started replacing them with a blackout backing. Mattresses are also being upgraded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My family and i had pre booked our rooms at the cleveland motel 3 months earlier through our sister chanel robinson and kenji porter.We came to Rotorua to do the tough guy tough gal challenge on saturday 18th august 2013 .we booked the biggest unit that was there number 5 and a small unit for my sister and brother which was close to the office The large room we stayed in was big enough for the 8 of us.The carpet in our room was a bit worn but i was told the room was soon to be renovated, a bigger t.v in our room would have been great as there were 10 of us trying to watch the game saturday night but the screen was too small for the ten of my whanau members trying to watch it .besides that we all really enjoyed our stay.The pool was awesome and it really made our day having to come back from our 6km run then jump in the pool.To the motel manager thank you so much for letting us leave at 12pm which we should have left by 10am but we were running a bit late.The location we were at is close to the bakery,garage,wholesale vege shop and town is just a 3min drive.Loved the weekend stay and my whanau are all looking forward to coming back next year to do the tough guy tough gal challenge for 2014.Thank you to the motel manager hope our rooms were up to standard when we left on sunday.we did make sure all blankets and sheets were stripped off the beds and all rubbish put into recycling bins.great stay and will see you next year 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your detailed review; much appreciated. The unit you stayed in has now been repainted, a new bathroom is being installed, then new carpet and yes, we are putting a bigger tv. This will be 42" with all the bells and whistles including wifi (free of course). Look forward to seeing you next year or earlier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just want to say that Cleveland Motel is one of the best motels I have stayed at. Very friendly and helpful hosts.... place lovely and clean.....great location.....and kids just loved the nice clean hot pool. I have already recommended this motel to some of my friends!!!
Awesome!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Naturally we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at the Cleveland. Most families prefer the 2-bedroom apartments as they are over 50 square metres in size, plus these have just been refurbished. Tony will be very happy to hear you liked the pool as he takes great pride in keeping it clean. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews