We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our parents and we stayed at the Cleveland Motel in November 2013 and were really impressed with the customer service and cleanliness of the place! The owners, Brij and Ronette (and Happy the Cat), were like having family in a foreign country. They drove us and picked us up, whenever possible, to the downtown area of Rotorua (less than 5 minute drive), Agrodome Show, and the Skyline Luge. They even helped us with things to do in the area! This rustic place is clean and they are almost done with the renovation. Our parents particularly LOVED the motel thermal water pool (accommodated the four of us comfortably) which allowed them the privacy and the flexibility to use it whenever they wanted. Hot springs water was like a miracle drug for their skin! The thermal water at Cleveland Motel felt better and cleaner than the Polynesian Spa thermal water, and it was free! It was also very convenient to have one of the best meat pie bakery in Rotorua and a grocery store across the street. We used the kitchen in our motel rooms and the laundry machines in the premises regularly. They also have a lovely garden and pristinely clean swimming pool. Anyone who loves to soak in hot springs water and likes the personal touch of a boutique hotel should definitely check out the Cleveland Motel! Thanks Brij and Ronette for making our stay in Rotorua FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kncmmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
We thank you for your kind words and are pleased to you enjoyed your stay at the Cleveland. You are right, our pools are really great. It was a pleasure to be of service to you. Wishing you and your parents a Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    189
    43
    8
    4
See reviews for
281
130
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This motel does what I think a motel should - provides you a clean shower, a comfortable bed and a place for breakfast!
It doesn't look much from the outside, and the room we stayed in for 2 nights was old and in need of decor. However, as with other accommodation I have stayed in, where old equates dirty, this was absolutely spotless, I can't stress that enough. Large, spacious room, with fresh linen and a comfortable bed and large television. We had good maid service with fresh towels.
The bathroom and shower were a good size, and again, spotlessly clean. Hairdryer, soap and shampoo were provided.
The kitchenette was well stocked, and we received a carton of milk when we checked in. Lots of cutlery, cups, dishes, etc and a new kettle. Tea, coffee, washing up liquid, etc.
We stayed in a unit near the main road, which wasn't noisy at all, and the office were really helpful with any questions, and provided free wi-fi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Jeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
You are so right. Thank you. A number of our guests tell us they love staying at the Cleveland because they can tick 3 boxes which are important to them: A comfortable bed, a clean room and a good, strong shower that wakes them up. Yes, the studio units are comfortable as they are however, we start refurbishing them in January to make them more comfortable. Happy travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This motel is a real gem. The owners are lovely people and very helpful. Nothing was too much effort and they are extremely friendly. I thought my room was great, very clean and spacious, then I found out it wasn't even one of the refurbished rooms (I was sure it was). It is in a great position, close to the lake, parks, city centre and a lot of great attractions. For the price this would have to be one of the best motels I have stayed in and great value. Yes, I have stayed in Sheratons and Novotels etc but the friendliness and the fun at the Cleveland is something money can't buy.

It is an awesome place for families, couples or singles. Whilst I cooked dinner on the free BBQ my granddaughters played on the fantastic playground. I loved the huge outdoor heated pool but the deal swinger for me was the hot mineral baths.

Brij and Ronette have done a fantastic job doing this motel up and their service is unsurpassed. They also have great suggestions for touring and are very knowledgable on the local and greater areas. You will not be disappointed if you stay there and I definitely will be staying there next time I am in Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod_W_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will return. The Cleveland is not a flash place; instead it offers rooms that feel like home, with lots of space for everyone. We are passionate about our guests. All of which you experienced during your recent stay. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Cleveland Motel is AWESOME! I got married last week and a lot of my guests who had travelled stayed there. The owner, Brij is absolutely lovely and welcoming. The large heated outdoor pool was so relaxing and the new lighting around it look great at night. Most of the rooms have been totally refurbished and look fantastic. The rest of them are in the process of being done. The grounds are immaculate and very family friendly. I'd recommend The Cleveland Motel to anyone!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but the room closest to reception is HUGE and really lovely!! Perfect for a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cleveland to celebrate your special occasion. We are delighted you and your party enjoyed the pool (and its new lights) and the newly re-furbished rooms were to your liking. We wish you a lifetime of happy days together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This motel is definitely worth your visit!
What a fantastic place. Thank you Brij for welcoming us to your warm and friendly motel.
I nearly forgot the name of the motel at first…but not Happy the Cat.. I googled him and up came the Cleveland Motel!
No sooner had we arrived and we were drawn to the amazing freshwater swimming pool. The relaxing warm temperature of the water was so inviting. My fiancé and I enjoyed a good half an hour just chilling in the pool and enjoying our experience in Rotorua.
Then we moved onto to the indoor mineral pool which was even more relaxing
Thank you also to Happy the Cat, he really is a character and a great mascot for this motel. It was great to meet him too.
We had a wonderful night sleep in such a comfortable bed.
We were so curious about Rotorua and the geothermal activity, this motel offered us such a great overnight visit in between our sightseeing , and the Cleveland Motel completely delivered a well worthy stay.
Thank you Brij, it was great to meet you and receive such a warm and Happy welcome. Best regards Fiona and Ian, UK.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thanks for your feedback and for all your words of encouragement. We love Rotorua and we love welcoming guests to the Cleveland. Since you so enjoyed our pools, you will like to know that we are changing the lights around the pool area to make it even more welcoming and romantic to swim during the night. Happy the cat sends his regards and wants to know when you are coming back to see him. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
229 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We enjoyed everything in this motel: first of all, the friendliness of the owner, who went above what is usually found in similar motels: for instance, giving us very good and very detailed suggestions on places to visit nearby. Then the location is excellent to visit the Rotorua area; they have a very good hot water spa, large rooms (even if the appliances are a bit old) etc.
We only had a problem with the WiFi connection: out of the two networks available, one was unstable, repeatedly disconnecting and/or blocking the data transfer, during our two day’s stay; the second one was instead stable, but the signal was not strong enough in our room; so I ended up sitting outdoor, with the laptop on my knees…Anyway the owner helped here as well, inviting me in the office and offering the usage of his PC (which I had to decline, because most of the data I needed, are stored on mine).
Overall, we’d definitely like to come back on the next occasion!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
We love Rotorua therefore it was easy to tell you about all the wonderful (and sometimes, free) things to do. And everything was so close. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Cleveland. You will be pleased to know that in a few days we will have a new wifi system inbuilt into our new 42" flat screen tv's. There will be no more problems to access internet. Ciao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Seriously great for young families! It offers a very safe play area with swings, pools, and trampolines (and Brij walking past to help the kids on the tramp when needed). Honest and reliable staff. Very convenient. A price that works for families. Easy access to laundry and clothes line. Rooms are clean and functional with no unnessicary 'extras'.

Room Tip: Rooms behind reception offer clear view of the trampolines, choose these if you have kids, or avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
The Cleveland has always focused on family fun. We are really glad you & your family enjoyed your stay. We will continue to improve facilities for young children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
792 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.9 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Thermal Motel

Property: Cleveland Thermal Motel
Address: 113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly The Cleveland Thermal Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cleveland Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cleveland Thermal Motel. The Cleveland Thermal Motel is perfectly situated only minutes from both Rotorua's lake front and city centre, and in close proximity to many leading tourist attractions. We are an outstanding accommodation option for those visiting this tourist haven in the central North Island. Set in over 2 acres of spacious grounds with manicured lawns and beautiful gardens, the motel also offers a great outdoor heated pool, two hot thermal mineral pools, and a large children's playground area. Our comfortable rooms and amenities make The Cleveland the perfect accommodation choice for couples getaways, large groups, and in particular, family holidays. We have plenty of parking for boats, trailers, second cars or large vehicles, and with our location within walking distance of the markets at the lake, the central city, and the hospital, we are ideal for those without transportation too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cleveland Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Rotorua
Cleveland Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing