We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforts of a motel, hotel service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Comforts of a motel, hotel service”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were just looking for somewhere child friendly to lay our heads at night, with a kitchenette. We were greeted by the owner, who instantly made us feel welcome and provided great incite to the tourist attractions, as well as plenty of discount vouchers to be used during our stay. Cleveland offers superbly tidy rooms, which are serviced daily, a gorgeous DEEP heated pool, mineral spa and excellent friendly service. The staff are so helpful. This was going to be a one off trip, but we now plan to go back, and will definitely stay here again. Thank you for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Don't be deterred that this place is child friendly. There is plenty of room for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    192
    43
    9
    4
See reviews for
290
134
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Cleveland for 3 nights in early November 2013. I couldn’t give a higher recommendation for this place. The accommodation was good value for money and the service was spectacular- far beyond what a guest could reasonably expect.

The Motel is located a km or two from the centre of town. This was great, because we were far enough away from the main strip to get some much needed peace and quiet, but close enough to drive there in two minutes! There’s also a 24 hour convenience store across the road.

We purchased a studio room, but were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment at no extra cost. We were grateful to them for doing this, but I think even a studio room would have been good value because all the rooms have basic kitchen facilities. The motel itself is quite old, but we had no problem with this because our apartment looked like it’d had a partial renovation at some point, ie: The interior isn’t as dated as the exterior. In fact we noticed a painter doing one of the other apartments whilst we stayed. The place was very clean and tidy, and everything was in working order.

As I mentioned earlier, the thing that really set the Cleveland apart for us was the service from Brij and Ronette. I’m sure you can get good value accommodation all over Rotorua but I doubt you’ll get looked after like we were from the lovely host couple. We were very busy in the lead up to our trip, and so we hadn’t pre booked much by way of activities. Not to worry! Brij was happy to provide helpful suggestions about places to go and things to do. Their helpfulness even extended to lending us an umbrella on one particularly rainy day.

The only minor quibble I’ll mention, in the interests of objectivity, is that the wifi was fairly slow. Fortunately for us the main purpose for using the internet was reading up on the many things to do in Rotorua. But with the amount of brochures there are to read- most of which you’ll find available from the office at the Cleveland- we hardly needed it anyway.

Good value, great service. 5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravfromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great family environment. Safe play area for the kids. Awesome pool, nice and big. Clean rooms but the one bedroom apartment is a little small for family of five. The two bedroom would be the better option next time. Friendly host.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candbbir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It is a nice place and the receptionist was helpful and friendly. There were a number of activities kids can do in the playground. However, the geothermal pool didn't seem as good as shown in the website.

Room Tip: There are different room types to accommodate different number of occupants
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HYS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this great place. Everybody loved the pool,and there was a great mineral water bath that helped some scratches of walks we did disappear. The playground was great for the kids. The unit was clean, and the kitchen very well equipped. I thought the bathroom was good too. We found the unit spacious for 5 people. We had some trouble with the wifi but in the end we solved it ourselves. It is walking distance from the park, great. On the other side of the road are a fruit and veggie shop and bakery and butcher. Further down the road (towards town) is another bakery with delicious jummies. Brij is a great host. Would come back here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heleen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A very helpful host! The apartment style rooms are great for a family (5 and 3 yr olds) and there is a play area just outside that is easily seen from the patio area outside the room. Great heated outdoor pool even made swimming in the rain pleasurable. Mineral pools and laundry on site. Easy access to the attractions and town. Would definitely visit again :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Willemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Greetings from Malaysia! Our family of 6 enjoyed our stay at Cleveland Motel on the 8th. The owner, Brij was very friendly and gave great advise on places to visit. The room was very clean and everything needed was provided. The kitchen and utensils were very impressive. This motel is like home away from home. Thank you, Brij for making my family feel so welcomed. We only wished we could stay longer....next time! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.9 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Thermal Motel

Property: Cleveland Thermal Motel
Address: 113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly The Cleveland Thermal Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleveland Thermal Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cleveland Thermal Motel. The Cleveland Thermal Motel is perfectly situated only minutes from both Rotorua's lake front and city centre, and in close proximity to many leading tourist attractions. We are an outstanding accommodation option for those visiting this tourist haven in the central North Island. Set in over 2 acres of spacious grounds with manicured lawns and beautiful gardens, the motel also offers a great outdoor heated pool, two hot thermal mineral pools, and a large children's playground area. Our comfortable rooms and amenities make The Cleveland the perfect accommodation choice for couples getaways, large groups, and in particular, family holidays. We have plenty of parking for boats, trailers, second cars or large vehicles, and with our location within walking distance of the markets at the lake, the central city, and the hospital, we are ideal for those without transportation too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cleveland Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Rotorua
Cleveland Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing