We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Ranked #12 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the Cleveland Motel in February 2014, and wished it could have been longer. The proprietor was very helpful and friendly, gave us good advice about places to go, things to see. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed for self catering. WiFi/TV system worked great. Parking was right in front of the room, very convenient, and we had a nice quiet nights sleep there. Just wish we'd had more time to sample the pools! Great location, could walk to downtown through a lovely park with many geothermal features, and after paying for going to the "name" places during the day, felt the "free" park experience was just about as good! Downtown was quite nice, they are working on a pedestrian mall area with a concentration of restaurants, and it looks like it will be very nice when done, it already was a good stop for food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Excellent facilities, everything you would need to make your stay very comfortable. Room was cleaned everyday and if not to many pots, they were washed. Mineral pools were very relaxing so you must try them, heated outdoor provided too. The owners were just amazing, so friendly and helpful and we miss them already! Please do not go anywhere else, get booked in here and you will not be disappointed! Kraig & Lisa

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kraig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Not your typical bland modern motel!
Its older, but has quiet, good sized rooms set in spacious grounds with a traditional Rotorua mineral pool and a warm swimming pool.
Well located and a very helpful proprietor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RobBrowW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was a last minute booking as we couldn't decide where to go for the weekend. And what a little gem we found!
We were warmly greeted by Brij. He was extremely helpful and so friendly.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious and very clean. We were very happy with what we saw.
The wifi was very quick and easy to use.
There is a butchers, grocers and bakery right across the road - and it is a 2 minute drive into town.
We were stuck as what to do activity wise one day, as it was raining heavily, and Brij was very helpful and knowledgeable about local attractions.
We would recommend The Cleveland to anybody, and highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A place where we felt at home, clean, good service and friendly owner.
Yes very happy and highly recommended for families...
Good position and plenty of easy parking, towels replaced and cleaned each day....
Will visit again...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezelboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with an old schoolfriend of mine who was visiting NZ for the first time. I booked it based on the excellent tripadvisor reviews and I was not disappointed. Brij did everything he could to ensure we had a wonderful stay - you simply could not find a more kind and generous host. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which had ample room for the two of us with an additional bed in the sitting room and separate kitchen and bathroom. Everything was immaculately clean and well thought out. We had a swim in the lovely pool every morning and going for a dip in the lovely warm water at 7 am was an absolute pleasure. Brij helped us sort out various trips (would highly recommend Tim from Tim's tours who took us round the Thermal Wonderland and was an entertaining and informative guide and also the Canopy Tour experience.) We also loved the Redwood forest which is on the outskirts of town - Brij took us out there in his car. (He told us that it was his mission to provide superlative service and this is just one example of his kindness.) His manageress (whose name I'm afraid I have forgotten) was also fabulous - we felt we were leaving friends behind when we reluctantly had to depart.
This was my first trip to Rotorua but I am hatching plans to take my family there next year - we will definitely stay at the Cleveland. I am 100% confident my husband and kids will love it as much as we did!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aberdeendunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were just looking for somewhere child friendly to lay our heads at night, with a kitchenette. We were greeted by the owner, who instantly made us feel welcome and provided great incite to the tourist attractions, as well as plenty of discount vouchers to be used during our stay. Cleveland offers superbly tidy rooms, which are serviced daily, a gorgeous DEEP heated pool, mineral spa and excellent friendly service. The staff are so helpful. This was going to be a one off trip, but we now plan to go back, and will definitely stay here again. Thank you for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Don't be deterred that this place is child friendly. There is plenty of room for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
794 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
940 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 91 in Rotorua
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 91 in Rotorua
297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Thermal Motel

Address: 113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly The Cleveland Thermal Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £68 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleveland Thermal Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cleveland Thermal Motel. The Cleveland Thermal Motel is perfectly situated only minutes from both Rotorua's lake front and city centre, and in close proximity to many leading tourist attractions. We are an outstanding accommodation option for those visiting this tourist haven in the central North Island. Set in over 2 acres of spacious grounds with manicured lawns and beautiful gardens, the motel also offers a great outdoor heated pool, two hot thermal mineral pools, and a large children's playground area. Our comfortable rooms and amenities make The Cleveland the perfect accommodation choice for couples getaways, large groups, and in particular, family holidays. We have plenty of parking for boats, trailers, second cars or large vehicles, and with our location within walking distance of the markets at the lake, the central city, and the hospital, we are ideal for those without transportation too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cleveland Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Rotorua
Cleveland Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing