We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home base for tours around Rotorua” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cleveland Thermal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great home base for tours around Rotorua”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Good basic comfortable accomodation with good self-catering kitchen facilities. Helpful hosts/owners (Brij). Moderately easy walking access (10-15 minutes) to downtown ped mall via thermal parks and the hospital or direct via Lake Road. Shops (veggie, meat, bread/milk)right across the street. Sorry we missed having any pool time - too much else to do in and around the town.

Room Tip: Nothing particular - all seemed like OK locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank injasutidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    187
    43
    7
    4
See reviews for
276
130
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our third stay at the Cleveland on our annual three day visit to Rotorua, and was originally tried on the recommendation of friends. Previously we always stayed at the city centre Millennium hotel, but is definitely not to be recommended.
Our hosts at Cleveland are warm and welcoming and our rooms have always been clean, comfortable and offered everything we've needed.
We make and enjoy full use of the pools and the location makes it easy to reach the city and other places of interest. Parking outside our room was never a problem and always better for us -my partner being disabled.
We left behind an item of clothing but this was promptly packaged and posted on to us, and was much appreciated.
We look forward to returning next year and definitely recommend it to you for your stay in the meantime.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms for preference if you have problems with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
274 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Based on Tripadvisor reviews we chose to stay here. I'm so glad we did. Whilst the motel is a bit old and tired, it is spacious, has a great pool, good location and well priced. Maybe the highlight was the owner Brij, who made us feel incredibly welcome, had tremendous local knowledge and was a terrific ambassador for Rotorua. Would gladly return and no hesitation in recommending.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the Cleveland Motel in February 2014, and wished it could have been longer. The proprietor was very helpful and friendly, gave us good advice about places to go, things to see. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed for self catering. WiFi/TV system worked great. Parking was right in front of the room, very convenient, and we had a nice quiet nights sleep there. Just wish we'd had more time to sample the pools! Great location, could walk to downtown through a lovely park with many geothermal features, and after paying for going to the "name" places during the day, felt the "free" park experience was just about as good! Downtown was quite nice, they are working on a pedestrian mall area with a concentration of restaurants, and it looks like it will be very nice when done, it already was a good stop for food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Excellent facilities, everything you would need to make your stay very comfortable. Room was cleaned everyday and if not to many pots, they were washed. Mineral pools were very relaxing so you must try them, heated outdoor provided too. The owners were just amazing, so friendly and helpful and we miss them already! Please do not go anywhere else, get booked in here and you will not be disappointed! Kraig & Lisa

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kraig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Not your typical bland modern motel!
Its older, but has quiet, good sized rooms set in spacious grounds with a traditional Rotorua mineral pool and a warm swimming pool.
Well located and a very helpful proprietor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RobBrowW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This was a last minute booking as we couldn't decide where to go for the weekend. And what a little gem we found!
We were warmly greeted by Brij. He was extremely helpful and so friendly.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious and very clean. We were very happy with what we saw.
The wifi was very quick and easy to use.
There is a butchers, grocers and bakery right across the road - and it is a 2 minute drive into town.
We were stuck as what to do activity wise one day, as it was raining heavily, and Brij was very helpful and knowledgeable about local attractions.
We would recommend The Cleveland to anybody, and highly recommend a visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Thermal Motel

Property: Cleveland Thermal Motel
Address: 113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly The Cleveland Thermal Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleveland Thermal Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Econo Lodge Cleveland. Econo Lodge Cleveland is perfectly situated only minutes from both Rotorua's lake front and city centre, and in close proximity to many leading tourist attractions. Econo Lodge Cleveland is an outstanding accommodation option for those visiting this tourist haven in the central North Island. Set in over 2 acres of spacious grounds with manicured lawns and beautiful gardens, the motel also offers a great outdoor heated pool, two hot thermal mineral pools, and a large children's playground area. Our comfortable rooms and amenities make Econo Lodge Cleveland the perfect accommodation choice for couples getaways, large groups, and in particular, family holidays. We have plenty of parking for boats, trailers, second cars or large vehicles, and with our location within walking distance of the markets at the lake, the central city, and the hospital, we are ideal for those without transportation too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cleveland Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Rotorua
Cleveland Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing