We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We recently returned from a three week tour of New Zealand. We stayed at many motels but this one was our favourite.

The owner is extremely friendly and goes out of his way to give information about the surrounding area and places to visit.

The rooms were great and we loved the free wifi (some motels charge).

Only a few minutes walk from a great park with thernal features - boiling mud etc. Shops close by too. Only a short distance from the beautiful little church and village of Ohinemutu. Don't miss seeing this church!!

If we ever go back to Rotorua we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie1_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

The owner is a kind, patient human being. He provides vouchers for sights around Rotorua. Toward the end of my stay, I found out that he is currently renovating all the hotel rooms. My hotel room hadn't been renovated yet, but I found nothing wrong with it. The floor, kitchen, and bathroom were clean. Refrigerator was tidy. Overall, the hotel is affordable and conveniently situated near most of the tourist sights in Rotorua. I didn't try the mineral spa or swimming pool, so I can't comment on them. Nonetheless, I enjoyed the free Wi-Fi. It's so hard to find a hotel in New Zealand that doesn't charge/limit your access to the internet.

Great owner, great hotel.

Room Tip: If you'd like to stay in a renovated room, you could try asking the owner. Although I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AsianTraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Good basic comfortable accomodation with good self-catering kitchen facilities. Helpful hosts/owners (Brij). Moderately easy walking access (10-15 minutes) to downtown ped mall via thermal parks and the hospital or direct via Lake Road. Shops (veggie, meat, bread/milk)right across the street. Sorry we missed having any pool time - too much else to do in and around the town.

Room Tip: Nothing particular - all seemed like OK locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank injasutidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our third stay at the Cleveland on our annual three day visit to Rotorua, and was originally tried on the recommendation of friends. Previously we always stayed at the city centre Millennium hotel, but is definitely not to be recommended.
Our hosts at Cleveland are warm and welcoming and our rooms have always been clean, comfortable and offered everything we've needed.
We make and enjoy full use of the pools and the location makes it easy to reach the city and other places of interest. Parking outside our room was never a problem and always better for us -my partner being disabled.
We left behind an item of clothing but this was promptly packaged and posted on to us, and was much appreciated.
We look forward to returning next year and definitely recommend it to you for your stay in the meantime.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms for preference if you have problems with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Based on Tripadvisor reviews we chose to stay here. I'm so glad we did. Whilst the motel is a bit old and tired, it is spacious, has a great pool, good location and well priced. Maybe the highlight was the owner Brij, who made us feel incredibly welcome, had tremendous local knowledge and was a terrific ambassador for Rotorua. Would gladly return and no hesitation in recommending.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the Cleveland Motel in February 2014, and wished it could have been longer. The proprietor was very helpful and friendly, gave us good advice about places to go, things to see. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed for self catering. WiFi/TV system worked great. Parking was right in front of the room, very convenient, and we had a nice quiet nights sleep there. Just wish we'd had more time to sample the pools! Great location, could walk to downtown through a lovely park with many geothermal features, and after paying for going to the "name" places during the day, felt the "free" park experience was just about as good! Downtown was quite nice, they are working on a pedestrian mall area with a concentration of restaurants, and it looks like it will be very nice when done, it already was a good stop for food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Excellent facilities, everything you would need to make your stay very comfortable. Room was cleaned everyday and if not to many pots, they were washed. Mineral pools were very relaxing so you must try them, heated outdoor provided too. The owners were just amazing, so friendly and helpful and we miss them already! Please do not go anywhere else, get booked in here and you will not be disappointed! Kraig & Lisa

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kraig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
461 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
891 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
252 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Thermal Motel

Address: 113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly The Cleveland Thermal Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £63 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleveland Thermal Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cleveland Thermal Motel. The Cleveland Thermal Motel is perfectly situated only minutes from both Rotorua's lake front and city centre, and in close proximity to many leading tourist attractions. We are an outstanding accommodation option for those visiting this tourist haven in the central North Island. Set in over 2 acres of spacious grounds with manicured lawns and beautiful gardens, the motel also offers a great outdoor heated pool, two hot thermal mineral pools, and a large children's playground area. Our comfortable rooms and amenities make The Cleveland the perfect accommodation choice for couples getaways, large groups, and in particular, family holidays. We have plenty of parking for boats, trailers, second cars or large vehicles, and with our location within walking distance of the markets at the lake, the central city, and the hospital, we are ideal for those without transportation too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cleveland Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Rotorua
Cleveland Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing