We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Union Victoria Motel
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Found the hosts absolutely lovely and very accommodating and even had a locked space for our trailer!! Place was clean, well appointed and quiet. Will definitely go back next year!!!
Cheers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJNZMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    66
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
72
48
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Awesome stay choice clean modern room at a affordable price our hostess was amazing so helpful and very understanding would definitely stay again A big special thanks to our Host Bruce for helping us out

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipukurau
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Handy location, walk to the CBD, friendly and helpful hosts, clean, warm, comfy beds and spacious, everything you needed and good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have stayed twice at the Union Victoria and both times have found it to be excellent. The rooms are very clean and well priced. We have stayed at a range of motels in Rotorua from high end to very budget and find this very good value for money. The rooms are clean (which is something I couldn't say about the most expensive motel we have stayed in - which was disgusting). The mineral pools and heated pool are great. Bruce is friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The close proximity to town is an added bonus with most things within walking distance, i.e. shops, supermarket, restaurants. A little road noise which we are not used too as we live in a rural area but nothing excessive.
Altogether a very enjoyable stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1410_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brucher, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Hi Guys thanks for those kind words, it was great to catchup again. We appreciate any feed back good or bad it keeps us on our toes, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

If you are used to staying in basic motels and aren't fussy where you sleep you probably won't mind this place. We usually pay more to stay in nice hotels or B&Bs but decided to take a last minute trip to Rotorua so thought we'd try a motel - i will not be staying at one again! This place is dated and basic. The oven and decor looked older than me. The locks on the door and windows didn't feel secure and looked like they could be easily broken into and our room was noisy from road traffic. We didn't use the pools because they didn't look inviting. If you paid extra for wifi you couldnt disconnect and restart your connection - once you connected the timer ticked and that was it - this was not the impression given when we paid extra for the wifi. The only positive was the price. I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nattie224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

I was very happy with my stay at this motel. The manager was very friendly and helpful with activity bookings and restaurants. I was on my honeymoon so my husband and I were over the moon to be able to have a spa each night =) the games room was also a ball-above and beyond the expected facilities. Great if you would have kids I assume-I can't wait to come back with mine. The rooms were very clean and spacious, I had a great relaxing time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brucher, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback, we always endevour to make our guests stay with us as pleasant as possible. All the best to you both and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed for two nights. Most outstanding thing was the help we recevied with bookings for tours, prebooking other accomodation. Motel was clean, comfortable, close to shops, and the flowers around the motel beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berylst8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#33 of 93 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#37 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#81 of 93 in Rotorua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Property: Union Victoria Motel
Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Victoria Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing