We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Union Victoria Motel
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
perth
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

A really traditional two storey motel, located a few blocks east of the CBD and very near supermarkets and a food court. Friendly and helpful hosts with good current advice and discounts to the local activities and two natural geothermal pools that are just as good as the commercial ones - as long as you close your eyes. Also a heated swimming pool and spa. With a kitchenette, separate bedrooms, a dining table and cable tv, this place is really great value. Also many thanks to our hosts who have posted us items left behind despite us not realising that we had!

Room Tip: Wheelchairs choose ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    67
    19
    12
    5
See reviews for
74
49
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here overnight in early January 2012. What a great experience. The rooms are very nice and clean but the mineral spa there is to die for. 1st into a warm spa room, then into the mineral spa, water about 34 degrees I think. Then into another spa and then into the pool that is also nice warm water. Our bodies just felt so great after we used it in the evening that we had to get back in again before we left the next day.

The motel was just a couple of blocks away from the main eat street so great location too.

Janice B, Perth

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Found the hosts absolutely lovely and very accommodating and even had a locked space for our trailer!! Place was clean, well appointed and quiet. Will definitely go back next year!!!
Cheers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJNZMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Awesome stay choice clean modern room at a affordable price our hostess was amazing so helpful and very understanding would definitely stay again A big special thanks to our Host Bruce for helping us out

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipukurau
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Handy location, walk to the CBD, friendly and helpful hosts, clean, warm, comfy beds and spacious, everything you needed and good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have stayed twice at the Union Victoria and both times have found it to be excellent. The rooms are very clean and well priced. We have stayed at a range of motels in Rotorua from high end to very budget and find this very good value for money. The rooms are clean (which is something I couldn't say about the most expensive motel we have stayed in - which was disgusting). The mineral pools and heated pool are great. Bruce is friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The close proximity to town is an added bonus with most things within walking distance, i.e. shops, supermarket, restaurants. A little road noise which we are not used too as we live in a rural area but nothing excessive.
Altogether a very enjoyable stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1410_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brucher, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Hi Guys thanks for those kind words, it was great to catchup again. We appreciate any feed back good or bad it keeps us on our toes, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

If you are used to staying in basic motels and aren't fussy where you sleep you probably won't mind this place. We usually pay more to stay in nice hotels or B&Bs but decided to take a last minute trip to Rotorua so thought we'd try a motel - i will not be staying at one again! This place is dated and basic. The oven and decor looked older than me. The locks on the door and windows didn't feel secure and looked like they could be easily broken into and our room was noisy from road traffic. We didn't use the pools because they didn't look inviting. If you paid extra for wifi you couldnt disconnect and restart your connection - once you connected the timer ticked and that was it - this was not the impression given when we paid extra for the wifi. The only positive was the price. I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nattie224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 92 in Rotorua
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.0 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
405 reviews
0.9 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#39 of 92 in Rotorua
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Property: Union Victoria Motel
Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Victoria Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing