We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Kiwi Experience in Roto-Vegas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Union Victoria Motel
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Here's a slice of the real Kiwi experience in the heart of Rotorua. The Union Victoria Motel is, as you might expect, an old-skool motel, probably built in the 1960s, with a victorian style to it that is in that grey area between tasteful and cheese. The rooms are clean and comfortable (a rare thing in Roto-Vegas' motels), but very unassuming. The painted cinder-block walls keep out the noise and the cold. The kitchen is dated but very functional. Nice shower. Clean toilet. The beds are comfortable. The TV has Freeview and a handful of SKY channels that includes SKY Sports for you rugby fans (if you are a visitor to NZ, watch some ruby. It's a part of the experience). The location is brilliant, but just far enough off the main street to keep traffic down.

And don't forget to try their spa and mineral baths. They are a nice and somewhat unexpected feature for any motel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Angelino-Jafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

WOW! what a great review thank you so much, being an older property does have it's advantages with much larger rooms than a lot of the newer properties.
We do take the cleanliness inside and out very serious and it becomes personal if it's not quite right.

Incidentally it was built in the late 70's of a Colonial Style.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Union Victoria Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were fortunate to stay here and were surprised to find that it has its own "Thermal Pools"...We found the Host very knowledgeable about the area and enjoyed our stay here very much.
We had a 2 bedroomed unit and everything you would expect was there.
The "Bonus" was the pools and that is more than enough to recommend you to stay here above all others...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Hi Robert, Thanks for your positive comments, I'm glad you enjoyed a relaxing dip in our heated pools. I hope the rest of your time was as enjoyable while visiting New Zealand and hopefully you will come back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My wife and I visited New Zealand for a 2 week holiday this March, and Rotorua was one of the places we visited. We stayed at this motel, which is good value for money. The host was very helpful, but seemed a little grim faced (haha). The actual accommodation was clean and nice. Location is good, and it even has some thermal hot spa pools.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Hi, Thanks for the nice review, I'm glad you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and especially Rotorua, it's a shame you only had one day here as there is so much to do, hopefully we will see you again.............not sure what you mean by a little grim faced??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This motel was good value for money and our host was very pleasant and helpful. The actual accommodation was slightly old fashioned but clean and comfortable. The added bonus of thermal pools was good. The location in respect of downtown restaurants was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosek963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Hi Rose, Thank you for the positive review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Bruce and Cheryl are lovely hosts....they make sure people's needs are taken care off, always a smile, a suggestion...... whatever the reason for the visit to Rotorua........the hotel is close to amenities, its kept clean, tidy. with range of pools for aching muscles..........privacy is assured if you want it, or if you're social......you can certainly strike up a yarn with the hosts or others staying near by.......

Room Tip: apartments offer space and kitchenette...great for families and a busy schedule........shops are in...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

"Wow" what a great review, the pools are great aren't they? you certainly get a good nights sleep after you have had a dip especially the Mineral Pools and there is always around to strike up a conversation with, thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

First impressions last! To be greeted genuinely and be interested in how my day was going spoke volumes.Then to be shown to your room and made to feel welcome - good old fashioned hospitality. Although dated, the rooms gave a homely, relaxing feel. Exceptionally clean and the beds were most comfortable. Loved the water pressure in the shower!. Shopping mall across the road for all necessities and close to restaurants but yet set in a quiet location. Real value for your money. Recommend this Motel to everyone. Thankyou for a wonderful stay. Will certainly look you up when next in need of accomodation in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Hi Wai, What nice comments....thank you, I'm glad you had a relaxing stay with us, we do try and give that personal touch that sets us apart from the others, thanks again hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Great place to stay for a few nights. Excellent location just off Fenton St. Sizeable rooms, really comfortable beds. Living room very nice and dining area. Wi-Fi available at a cost. Metal flooring in the shower was not the best touch but otherwise clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ideal to stay for a few nights
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoegazer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Hi, Thanks for the great review I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 92 in Rotorua
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ambassador Thermal Motel
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £54 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Victoria Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing