We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Victoria Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Union Victoria Motel
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night. Not a bad place. Room heated well and was cozey. The oven was old but worked well. Overall it was tidy and clean. Beds where comfortable and warm Nd we both slept well. If you want a reasonable place to stay then this is a good place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Devaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thanks for the positive review and am glad you enjoyed your stay with albeit only one night. I hope you had a safe journey back to Dunedin and your new car went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    63
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
69
47
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at this motel on the 8 & 9th of April 2013. We have read the other reviews and all we can say is that we must have had the "fly in the ointment" room.

We enjoy retro settings but this room's kitchen was grubby, the sink tap filthy and hanging utensils greasy. Washed everything before use. The toilet bowl had rusty water marks and needed a good clean with bleach. The window ledges were dirty also.

We asked for our room not to be serviced as we like our privacy but found this was violated upon our return.

Note also that free WIFI is a take. We only had a $5 voucher for 2 nights. This lasts all of a few minutes then you have to buy more credit. This is by a Zenbu - be aware.

Unfortunately our room was paid for in advance otherwise we would have moved. There are numerous to choose from in Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Hi there, thanks for writing a review on our business. However there are a few misleading comments that needs to be pointed out to the reader.

The rusty water mark as you put it in the toilet bowl is in fact caused by the minerals in the water [unfortunately this is typical of Rotorua] and that sometimes this leaves a ring at the water line, we are aware of this problem are constantly bleaching the toilets concerned to alleviate it. As for the sink tap and hanging utensils being dirty there is no excuse for this oversight and hopefully this is an isolated case as we normally get excellent reviews regarding cleanliness. This has been addressed to the housekeeping staff. Servicing of the units is carried out automatically as part of your stay with us as we need to take out any rubbish change your towels [if required] and yes you did tell me not to bother with your unit but by the time I got around to telling my staff it had already been done, however on doing so we discovered that you had placed a dirty suit case on the spare bed and not on the luggage racks provided and in turn had left dirty marks on the bedspread which then had to be taken off and drycleaned. We offer free limited WIFI of 50MB which in most cases is enough to catch up on emails not to do any downloading, after that you can purchase 50MB NZD5.00, 100MB NZD10.00 [a lot cheaper than if you were staying in a Hotel], Zenbu is probably the most user friendly system that is available.

Writing reviews on sites like this is a privilege and should be written fairly. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Union Victoria Motel but find your review very unnecessary misleading and unfair and your rating certainly reflects this. Please consider in the future that this effects people’s livelihoods when writing an unfair review such as this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Only have a hand rail on one side....use it as you get out as tiles very slippery...I broke my wrist due to no handrail on both sides...

The manager despite giving my wife directions to hospital and then despite an ambulance pulling into complex didnt seem to think I had injured myself at the time....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
I feel this review has to be defended as it is a different story that was told at the time of the alleged accident and indeed different to what was told to the Department of Labour inspector that you put forward your complaint to. Department of Labour have since visited the Motel following up on your complaint and are perfectly satisfied that everything is in order, but then you new this because they also contacted you with their final report.


The alleged accident happen when your wife came up behind you, tapped you on the shoulder gave you a fright you slipped and fell spraining your wrist [your words not mine], it wasn't until a couple of weeks later that you emailed me informing me that you had in fact broken you wrist.


The Motel along with the pool complex was built in the late 1970's to the building code of the day which did not require two hand rails to be installed.
The tiles feel slippery due to the silkiness of the mineral water, we do tell all our guests this when we are showing them the pool complex on arrival [some listen some choose not to] this is also written in the pool rules on the wall. I do not recall an ambulance coming onto the property during this time and am wondering if this was the case then why would I give your wife directions to the hospital?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Here's a slice of the real Kiwi experience in the heart of Rotorua. The Union Victoria Motel is, as you might expect, an old-skool motel, probably built in the 1960s, with a victorian style to it that is in that grey area between tasteful and cheese. The rooms are clean and comfortable (a rare thing in Roto-Vegas' motels), but very unassuming. The painted cinder-block walls keep out the noise and the cold. The kitchen is dated but very functional. Nice shower. Clean toilet. The beds are comfortable. The TV has Freeview and a handful of SKY channels that includes SKY Sports for you rugby fans (if you are a visitor to NZ, watch some ruby. It's a part of the experience). The location is brilliant, but just far enough off the main street to keep traffic down.

And don't forget to try their spa and mineral baths. They are a nice and somewhat unexpected feature for any motel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Angelino-Jafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
WOW! what a great review thank you so much, being an older property does have it's advantages with much larger rooms than a lot of the newer properties.
We do take the cleanliness inside and out very serious and it becomes personal if it's not quite right.

Incidentally it was built in the late 70's of a Colonial Style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were fortunate to stay here and were surprised to find that it has its own "Thermal Pools"...We found the Host very knowledgeable about the area and enjoyed our stay here very much.
We had a 2 bedroomed unit and everything you would expect was there.
The "Bonus" was the pools and that is more than enough to recommend you to stay here above all others...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Hi Robert, Thanks for your positive comments, I'm glad you enjoyed a relaxing dip in our heated pools. I hope the rest of your time was as enjoyable while visiting New Zealand and hopefully you will come back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

My wife and I visited New Zealand for a 2 week holiday this March, and Rotorua was one of the places we visited. We stayed at this motel, which is good value for money. The host was very helpful, but seemed a little grim faced (haha). The actual accommodation was clean and nice. Location is good, and it even has some thermal hot spa pools.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Hi, Thanks for the nice review, I'm glad you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and especially Rotorua, it's a shame you only had one day here as there is so much to do, hopefully we will see you again.............not sure what you mean by a little grim faced??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This motel was good value for money and our host was very pleasant and helpful. The actual accommodation was slightly old fashioned but clean and comfortable. The added bonus of thermal pools was good. The location in respect of downtown restaurants was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosek963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Hi Rose, Thank you for the positive review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#37 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Property: Union Victoria Motel
Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Victoria Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing