We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Union Victoria Motel
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this Motel and thoroughly loved every minute, naturally we were out and about seeing and doing things while we were there so we didn't spend a lot of time at the motel but it was clean, comfortable and had heaps of room. The thermal pool was popular with our entire family and the mineral pools were a nice interlude. A big up for the owners you couldn't ask for a more pleasant friendly and welcoming hosts, your passion and love of Rotorua was evident plus your knowledge, recommendations etc were invaluable, a big thanks from us and if we ever get back there you know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Hi Nigel, WOW what a great review thank you very much, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see and do the many things that Rotorua has to offer, take care and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Union Victoria Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel seventeen years ago with our extended family. We have always remembered how great it was with a large, clean and inviting thermal pool to keep the children entertained while the adults relax. We went back recently with the same family plus grandchildren and found it just as we remembered. The units are clean and spacious with full kitchen, separate bathroom and toilet and large screen televisions. The location is perfect as it is off the main street and just across the road from a shopping complex with supermarket. It is close to the center of town and many of the local attractions. The owners are helpful and friendly and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OTfamilysis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you so much for the great review it was our pleasure having you all stay with us and glad you had a great time with your family. We are nice and handy to everything and just a short walk into town, thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our group of 10 spent three nights at the Union Victoria Motel. It was clean and comfortable, and the owners were welcoming and very willing to share their love of Rotorua which, as [owner] Bruce told me, has been chosen as the most beautiful city in New Zealand for the past 12 years!

He also highly recommended some of the local sights (including Rotorua Museum and the Government Garden, and the Buried Village - 15 km outside of town).

The Union Victoria is located a few blocks from the center of town in a quiet neighborhood. We felt safe walking a few blocks to a nearby Countdown grocery story, where we could purchase the items needed to prepare our meals in our well-equipped kitchen. Alternatively, we could easily walk to one of the nearby restaurants on the main street.

Although a cooked breakfast was available (for a fee), we chose to have the complimentary continental breakfast each morning.

Although I did not use the swimming pool, others did and enjoyed it. After a long day of sightseeing, I did take advantage of the spa and mineral pools, which were delightful. (My only wish is that they all had handrails, which would make them more accessible for people with disabilities.)

I would definitely stay at Union Victoria Motel in the future, and I would certainly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SactoJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Hi There, Thank you for the great review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see what Rotorua has to offer our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed two nights at the Union Victoria Motel, the family unit we stayed in was a single story dwelling at the entrance of the Motel, the room could sleep six people and was possibly the largest accommodation we stayed in during our holiday in New Zealand.
The Owner was friendly and knowledgeable, and gave us some good info on the area, the location was close to Shops and Supermarkets and close to the many attractions Rotorua has to offer.
We had thermal heating to the unit which was very efficient almost too efficient, our beds were soft, however we still were able to sleep well.
We had a large separate kitchen, and large lounge with full size dining table under a large television.
The only criticism would be the unit was possibly one of the oldest we had stayed in and some of the wooden windows/cupboards etc were showing signs of age and required a little TLC.
We enjoyed our stay in Rotorua and it has many attractions on offer, more than our two day stay would be required to see them all .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WAPerthFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Hi There, Thanks for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your time in Rotorua and were able to see what the area has to offer. Thanks for the comments on the room you stayed in and I'm glad it was to your liking, it is in the older part of the Motel and being big family units they do tend to get a bit more wear and tear however they are on the agenda for refurbishment..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We took our nephew from Fiji to Rotorua for an overnight stay. This motel was convenient, quiet and pleasant. Our room was warm, cosy and clean. The plants and cats were lovely and added a nice touch. The man that was at the desk was wonderful, welcoming and very knowledgable about the area. The men loved the pools, which were clean and provided the relaxation they needed after a long drive. The motel and host provided a ray of sunshine on an otherwise very wet weekend.
We would definitely stay here again when we visit Rotorua in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feef738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Manager at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you for the great review I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope your nephew enjoyed what Rotorua has to offer. It is nice and quiet, making for a good nights rest especially after a long soak in the hot pools. It's been a long time since I have been called a ray of sunshine!! hope to see you again in the future?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night. Not a bad place. Room heated well and was cozey. The oven was old but worked well. Overall it was tidy and clean. Beds where comfortable and warm Nd we both slept well. If you want a reasonable place to stay then this is a good place.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_Devaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thanks for the positive review and am glad you enjoyed your stay with albeit only one night. I hope you had a safe journey back to Dunedin and your new car went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at this motel on the 8 & 9th of April 2013. We have read the other reviews and all we can say is that we must have had the "fly in the ointment" room.

We enjoy retro settings but this room's kitchen was grubby, the sink tap filthy and hanging utensils greasy. Washed everything before use. The toilet bowl had rusty water marks and needed a good clean with bleach. The window ledges were dirty also.

We asked for our room not to be serviced as we like our privacy but found this was violated upon our return.

Note also that free WIFI is a take. We only had a $5 voucher for 2 nights. This lasts all of a few minutes then you have to buy more credit. This is by a Zenbu - be aware.

Unfortunately our room was paid for in advance otherwise we would have moved. There are numerous to choose from in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Hi there, thanks for writing a review on our business. However there are a few misleading comments that needs to be pointed out to the reader.

The rusty water mark as you put it in the toilet bowl is in fact caused by the minerals in the water [unfortunately this is typical of Rotorua] and that sometimes this leaves a ring at the water line, we are aware of this problem are constantly bleaching the toilets concerned to alleviate it. As for the sink tap and hanging utensils being dirty there is no excuse for this oversight and hopefully this is an isolated case as we normally get excellent reviews regarding cleanliness. This has been addressed to the housekeeping staff. Servicing of the units is carried out automatically as part of your stay with us as we need to take out any rubbish change your towels [if required] and yes you did tell me not to bother with your unit but by the time I got around to telling my staff it had already been done, however on doing so we discovered that you had placed a dirty suit case on the spare bed and not on the luggage racks provided and in turn had left dirty marks on the bedspread which then had to be taken off and drycleaned. We offer free limited WIFI of 50MB which in most cases is enough to catch up on emails not to do any downloading, after that you can purchase 50MB NZD5.00, 100MB NZD10.00 [a lot cheaper than if you were staying in a Hotel], Zenbu is probably the most user friendly system that is available.

Writing reviews on sites like this is a privilege and should be written fairly. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Union Victoria Motel but find your review very unnecessary misleading and unfair and your rating certainly reflects this. Please consider in the future that this effects people’s livelihoods when writing an unfair review such as this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 92 in Rotorua
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#22 of 92 in Rotorua
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ambassador Thermal Motel
#28 of 92 in Rotorua
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £53 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Victoria Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing