We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Union Victoria Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Six on Union(Rotorua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terume Resort(Rotorua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
68
68
22
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
68
22
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmineral poolcomfortable sleeppowerful showeracross roadgames roomclothes linetwo storeybig supermarketseparate kitchenfriendly ownersquiet locationstay there againroom was largeenjoyed our staygreat facilitiespoolsmotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were met by the happy smiling face and obliging disposition of Bruce-straight away we were put at ease-the room was excellent as were the facilities including hot spa and mineral spa plus a great swimming pool. Bruce was most obliging in finding us our next accommodation for our on going trip-he directed us to excellent eating venues all with in easy reach of the accommodation.

Room Tip: Just ask and Bruce will do anything in his power to oblige
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannaneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hi Eve, It was a pleasure having you stay with us and that you enjoyed our Motel. I hope the rest of your holiday was a good experience and you arrived home safe & sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A great, handy, Kiwi owned and operated place to stay in Rotorua. The motel was very well presented and quiet with exceptionally clean and tidy rooms. The operators were pleasant and very helpful. We'd definitely choose to stay here again when next in Rotorua. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Range of options - have a look on their web-site it is very helpful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for the positive review , I'm glad you happy with your accommodation and hopefully see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this Motel and thoroughly loved every minute, naturally we were out and about seeing and doing things while we were there so we didn't spend a lot of time at the motel but it was clean, comfortable and had heaps of room. The thermal pool was popular with our entire family and the mineral pools were a nice interlude. A big up for the owners you couldn't ask for a more pleasant friendly and welcoming hosts, your passion and love of Rotorua was evident plus your knowledge, recommendations etc were invaluable, a big thanks from us and if we ever get back there you know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Hi Nigel, WOW what a great review thank you very much, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see and do the many things that Rotorua has to offer, take care and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel seventeen years ago with our extended family. We have always remembered how great it was with a large, clean and inviting thermal pool to keep the children entertained while the adults relax. We went back recently with the same family plus grandchildren and found it just as we remembered. The units are clean and spacious with full kitchen, separate bathroom and toilet and large screen televisions. The location is perfect as it is off the main street and just across the road from a shopping complex with supermarket. It is close to the center of town and many of the local attractions. The owners are helpful and friendly and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OTfamilysis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you so much for the great review it was our pleasure having you all stay with us and glad you had a great time with your family. We are nice and handy to everything and just a short walk into town, thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our group of 10 spent three nights at the Union Victoria Motel. It was clean and comfortable, and the owners were welcoming and very willing to share their love of Rotorua which, as [owner] Bruce told me, has been chosen as the most beautiful city in New Zealand for the past 12 years!

He also highly recommended some of the local sights (including Rotorua Museum and the Government Garden, and the Buried Village - 15 km outside of town).

The Union Victoria is located a few blocks from the center of town in a quiet neighborhood. We felt safe walking a few blocks to a nearby Countdown grocery story, where we could purchase the items needed to prepare our meals in our well-equipped kitchen. Alternatively, we could easily walk to one of the nearby restaurants on the main street.

Although a cooked breakfast was available (for a fee), we chose to have the complimentary continental breakfast each morning.

Although I did not use the swimming pool, others did and enjoyed it. After a long day of sightseeing, I did take advantage of the spa and mineral pools, which were delightful. (My only wish is that they all had handrails, which would make them more accessible for people with disabilities.)

I would definitely stay at Union Victoria Motel in the future, and I would certainly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SactoJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Hi There, Thank you for the great review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see what Rotorua has to offer our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews