We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Union Victoria Motel
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The room suited our family needs, the hosts were welcoming and always helpful and they even arranged to send on some items that we left behind. I'd certainly recommend this accommodation. It is centrally located.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hi Paul, Thanks for the comments, they are nice big rooms ideal for families and with the Mall and Supermarket across the road makes it nice and convenient. I hope you parcel arrived safe and sound

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Quite a few positives. Very good location; well managed by the owners - Bruce and Cherri were spot-on with their recommendations for things to do for a young family like ours; clean and well maintained. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and mineral spas. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanoze U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Quite a few positives. Very good location; well managed by the owners - Bruce and Cherri were spot-on with their recommendations for things to do for a young family like ours; clean and well maintained. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and mineral spas. Good value for money.

Hi Hanoze, Thanks for the positive review I'm so glad you enjoyed your time in Rotorua and were able to see the things we have on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

For a motel with swimming pool and mineral spas on site, this is a good value option. The thermal pools were really clean and great for relaxation after a day tripping in Rotorua. The location is quite convenient, shopping centre right across the street and city centre more or less within walking distance. Rooms were kept quite clean. I would recommend this motel to people with a car and on a budget.
The room is a bit shabby and furniture quite worn. Not for people who are particular about modern interior. Also, guests are not allowed to cook spicy food or seafood in the kitchen, which is not a big deal but we prefer to have the option. Having said all that, I will definitely book here again on my next trip to Rotorua.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peng Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

For a motel with swimming pool and mineral spas on site, this is a good value option. The thermal pools were really clean and great for relaxation after a day tripping in Rotorua. The location is quite convenient, shopping centre right across the street and city centre more or less within walking distance. Rooms were kept quite clean. I would recommend this motel to people with a car and on a budget.
The room is a bit shabby and furniture quite worn. Not for people who are particular about modern interior. Also, guests are not allowed to cook spicy food or seafood in the kitchen, which is not a big deal but we prefer to have the option. Having said all that, I will definitely book here again on my next trip to Rotorua.

Hi Peng, Thank you for your comments, I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Rotorua and found the Motel to be to your satisfaction. I have just been and had a look in the room you stayed in and although the furniture is not the latest fashion I wouldn't call it shabby, mine you we are not a 5star Motel either. As far as your comment about "guests are not allowed to cook spicy food or seafood in the kitchen" that's not quite true we do ask that guests refrain from using fish oil or cooking curry in particular as they leave a unpleasant smell in the room and is not very pleasant for the next guest. In the past we have had rooms out of commission for up to a week because of lingering smells.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the union Victoria motel for 2 days I was greeted by Bruce who was very friendly and happy guy who went out of his way to make us feel at home thanks so much!!! we had our two young children, whom absolutely loved the heated swimming pools that also had a toddlers pool. It was hard to get them out, it was so peaceful and quiet didn't notice any traffic noise slept like a log, would have loved to stay longer good value for your money was a bit tight with 5 in the room we had but it was very clean and tidy would definitely stay again perfect location

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Hi Patricia, Thanks for the positive review it is much appreciated we do try and make our guests feel as comfortable as possible, I'm glad you and the kids enjoyed the pools they are great aren't they. The One Bedroom Apts are better suited for 3 or 4 guests and can get a bit tight with 5 we do however have other options available for future stays with us, Two Bedroom Apts and Two Bedroom Bungalows which have that extra bit of room to spread out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Met by a very friendly and helpful,Bruce. Units large, spacious, very clean. Comfortable beds, powerful shower heads, very good location, helped with shopping centre over the road. A plus thre is a games room available, a minus that you have to pay for the pool table. In areas of Rotorua you get h unpleasant smell, unfortunately it was evident at the Union Victoria. By no means overbearing, but for people with sensitive noses, could be an issue.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChadGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for your review. The unpleasant smell you are referring to is sulphur, [Rotorua is renowned for it] and depending on which way the wind is blowing you can get it a little stronger but I'm glad it didn't put a damper on your time in Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We chose this because of thermal pools but were very satisfied with accommodation. My sister and I took our mother for the first time to enjoy the thermal waters of Rotorua but wanted to stay at a place that had its own thermal pool. We have been here previously and enjoyed it then so it was only logical to go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs if you have elderly people with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATHY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Hi Kathy, Thanks for your positive review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm glad your mother enjoyed her geothermal bathing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Did the bookings because of the chain badge and research on TA. Stayed there for 2 days, 6th Nov, 2013 in and today morning, 8th out, me and my wife on an end-to-end drive in NZ. Bruce is warm and friendly and was available at the reception within minutes you being the, sometimes running :) you can see he wants to make the customer happy as much as possible. Had ample parking space right next to the rooms, the rooms were one of the best we have stayed in our travels all over the world with full amenities. The kitchenette was full-blown, a range, microwave, lots of things kitchen things you can use, you can cook up a feast pronto :) space adequate for 2 ppl to move about, unlike the cubicles we have seen in many places. The toilets were spacy, spotless and soaps of the best quality. All activities are around 5-10 kms radius, the countdown right opposite the place. We were very we stayed there and are panning to spend 7-10 days in Rotorua, there are so many lakes there you can call it the Lake District of NZ :)

--Arkz
====

Room Tip: Most rooms are OK, if you have laundry to do, rooms 6-7 are very near the common laundry facility gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Hi WOW! what a great review thankyou very much, I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us and that you are planning on coming back to Rotorua there is so much to see and do here. I hope the rest of you holiday goes well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 92 in Rotorua
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ambassador Thermal Motel
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#39 of 92 in Rotorua
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £65 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Victoria Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing