We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Union Victoria Motel
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Hotel owners are very lovely. Room was cosy and comfortable. Excellent facilities. Walking distance of shops. Great location. Love the private spa pools and the fact that the swimming pool is blocked off so the public can not see in. Our room was clean and spacious and the showers were hot with great water pressure. Fantastic heating with the radiator, room was warm in no time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Leah,
Thanks for the great review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to get out and see some of the attractions that Rotorua has to offer. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Union Victoria has well kept rooms and are of good sizes. The motels own hot pools are also kept lovely and clean are are a real feature of the whole property. The owners themselves obviously spend a lot of time and effort keeping everything tidy and clean. However given all this, these are old breeze block style motels with not much seeming to have changed in the decades since they were built. Our unit had tired walls, no extractor fan, an old ring oven, hardly any power points, over-soft beds and an old (but clean) bathroom. The room rate however is on par with the rest of expensive Rotorua and these are not really a bargain. Wifi is capped at 50MB.The location is great as they are very near to a new mall and supermarket. Perhaps time to invest and upgrade to bring these well located motels into the new decade.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairlieflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks for you review, Firstly the Motel was built in 1978, I'm not sure what you mean by tired walls, if you mean the walls should be lined then maybe you are right but that costs a lot of money and would I get return on my investment probably not. You say the room rate is on par with the rest of expensive Rotorua, Rotorua is not expensive it is in unfortunatly one of the cheapest tourist destinations in New Zealand, you also say that our Wifi is capped at 50MB this also is not true we offer you a 50MB voucher on arrival which is enough to check your emails, we can give you up to 20000MB if you want to pay for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

An old motel, but well cared for. All the fixtures are well maintained. New curtains and carpets maintained the care. The studio room had an odd layout mostly due to the aged style. A two story Motel where the only access is via a narrow staircase. Very convenient to shops, town and included in the pickup run of main attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you cant manage stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi Lou, Thanks for the nice review, yes it is an old Motel [built 1978] and we do try and keep as up to date as the Colonial design will allow but it does have nice big rooms and a great feel about it which is something that the modern Motels don't have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The accommodation was very good, clean, with TV, kitchen essentials included fridge, toaster, microwave, kettle and more - all you would need for a holiday. A homely comfortable-feel with flower baskets hanging from the balcony outside. The owners Bruce & Cheri Beesley could not have been more accommodating, helping with all our needs. The geothermal pools so inviting.

The location was so central to shops, restaurants, and local sights, even a racetrack. The Airport was only a 10-minute drive away, where we were able to fly home directly to Sydney.

I would recommend this Motel to my family and friends, because of it's central location and such great hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi Lois, Thank you so much for the wonderful review I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see what Rotorua has to offer. The hanging baskets are lovely at this time of year showing off their colours. Say hi to Rhonda and hopefully we will see you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Bruce And Cherri made me so welcome staying at there motel it is so centre to all the shops and attractions and they go out of there way to give me maps to places within the Rotorua . Ill be going back and stay at there motel with theres pools

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hi Alex, Thanks for the great review we 're glad you enjoyed your time with us and were able to see what Rotorua has to offer and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Although a little 'older' in style, this motel was very central and provided a high standard of accommodation blended with extremely friendly and efficient service thanks to owners Bruce and Cherri who just can't do enough for their guests. They helped us with bookings and lots of recommendations for things to do. The unit was very clean and comfortable. Thoroughly recommended!
Michael & Lucy M.
Melbourne

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICMIK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi Michael & Lucy, Thank you for a great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good look at what Rotorua has to offer. We do take pride in our Motel and hope all our guest have a comfortable stay, thanks again and hopefully we will see you sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

It's hard to know how to review this hotel. Our room was comfortable and had most things that we needed. It was fairly basic and not very stylish. Some of the other guests were very noisy. I would usually rate this standard of hotel as average, but I will give it extra points because the warm pools were excellent, and our whole family enjoyed them.The staff were very nice and helpful, and the location was also very good. It's not The Ritz, but it had a lot going for it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hi Anita, Thanks for you comments, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 92 in Rotorua
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#55 of 92 in Rotorua
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
0.5 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#85 of 92 in Rotorua
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £65 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Victoria Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing