We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travelling with the elderly parents” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot On Fenton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ascot On Fenton
Ranked #55 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Travelling with the elderly parents”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We needed somewhere with full access facilities and picked Ascot on Fenton. Mike was really helpful when I phoned to book, answering all my questions. Three days before we were due to stay my father ended up back in hospital. I phoned and Mike was happy to change our booking to a unit suitable for 3 able bodies. Then there was a brief period of confusion when it looked at though my father would be able to travel, so I phoned Mike again and he was happy to try and arrange something to suit our needs, then I has to phone back again (poor Mike) and it was back to just 3 for a unit. Finally made it to the motel, Mike was as nice in person as on the phone, so obliging. We had a lovely couple of days, my mother really enjoying the private spa pool each night. We will definitely be staying there again (hopefully with Dad next time)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    28
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
24
32
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had our 1year wedding aniversary here and well in truely enjoyed ourselfs the hosts organising for us to get from place to place as well alot of the attractions having discounts. Very happy and will definatly stay there next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ray-chill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I arrived in Rotorua really late, tired and hungry. The only motel along fenton street that had any lights on was Ascot on Fenton. Mike the owner took me to my unit and I asked where I could get something to eat. Being so late there was nothing close by. He made me a snack. Bacon, avocado, tomato and cheese toasted sandwiches. How cools that!
My early morning breakfast was egg benedict with smoked salmon, juice and toast. Really nice.
My one bedroom unit had a nice big CLEAN private spa pool and a fabulous CLEAN shower. I was really impressed. I will return. Thanks Mike.

Room Tip: If travelling solo the one bedroom unit is ample
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed at Ascot on Fenton on the recommendation from travellers we met in Whitianga.
We were two couples travelling for 19 days in NZ, we were on day 4 of out trip. Hilary greeted us in Reception and suggested one of their large 2 x Bedroom Apartments. Two levels complete with own wonderful big spa pool in a covered courtyard. We had everything we needed.
Our laundry, no problem, Hilary saved us having to worry about it. Fantastic!
Mike enquired if we needed any help in deciding where to go and what to see? He arrived back at our apartment with a handful of discount vouchers for us and spent at least 30 minutes helping us to plan our afternoon and the entire next day including where to go to eat. Excellent!
We thoroughly recommend Ascot on Fenton to anyone who wants a great stay in ROTORUA.

Room Tip: Large 2 x Bedroom Apartment, two levels with own big covered courtyard spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globe236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

This was our 5th return trip to stay at Ascot on Fenton, Hilary and Mike are great hosts and always make us feel so welcome. They go out of their way to tell us about any new activities in Rotorua and always ensure that they supply us with discount vouchers and their Restaurant recommendations are allways great
The Apartments are always squeaky clean and very well maintained, the beds are some of the best we have ever slept in and the bed linen is fabulous. The large fresh water spa pools in the covered courtyards are just amazing.
Many thanks for another lovely stay we will keep returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Apartment style rooms, which can be taken as a two room or single room dependent on needs. Decor is tired, but you get what you pay for. Helpful guy on the front desk who makes sure any excursions are booked. Good location on the main motel strip a short walk from town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEggChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We booked 2 nights at the Ascot on Fenton in a standard room on LastMinute.com (it may have been wotif) the night before we arrived there (March 2010). I don't recall what it cost exactly but it was about $100 a night.

When we tried to check in using the reservation number we had been provided the proprietor said he did not have a booking.

We expressed concern because we had provided our credit card details to lastminute.com for payment. When we asked the proprietor about this, he told us that the payment would not have been processed and was taken only for reservation purposes. This information was incorrect - we found out later we had been charged.

The proprietor then said he had rooms available and showed us one. We were hoping for something a little more cheerful and would have preferred to find somewhere else – the rooms were clean but kind of gloomy, with dated décor (although it adequately matched the pricing) - but as he was hovering over us we agreed to stay for one night in a spa suite for a price of about $130 which we paid using our credit card.

Later that day the proprietor contacted us to tell us that he had found the reservation and payment receipt in HIS SPAM FOLDER. Who would have reservations from such a big agency drop into their spam folder??

He told us he would not refund us for our lastminute.com booking, because it was “too complicated”, even though we said he could deduct the commission that he had to pay them – generous of us, considering the mistake was his. He still would not refund us the lastminute.com accommodation payment, although he did refund the fee for the second booking we made - the single night. This left us about $70 out of pocket, which we found unfair. He started arguing that we had booked 2 nights anyway. We responded that since he told us we did not have any booking, we had changed our travel plans and were driving onwards to Wellington a day earlier.

The proprietor got more and more unreasonable, hostile and uncooperative until we decided we did not want to stay at any cost, and returned the keys and left. The problem with this kind of owner-operator set up is there is no recourse in situations like this. Do not stay here - there are so many other alternatives in this town, and they could only have more competent staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#37 of 93 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#59 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
#17 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot On Fenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot On Fenton

Property: Ascot On Fenton
Address: 247 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot On Fenton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ascot Motel of Rotorua offers a selection of superior units to suit all tastes and budgets. Relax in one of our Private Spa Pool units. Spa pools are individually filled and controlled. All units are well insulated and thermally heated to keep you and your family warm during the cooler months. We have 10 channels of television, including Sky TV. Our complex is 300 to 400 metres from the City and directly opposite a Supermarket for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ascot On Fenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot On Fenton Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing