We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Ascot On Fenton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascot On Fenton
Ranked #58 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed at this motel for 1 night. It was comfortable and clean.
It is a little outdated but everything we needed was there, we had the studio unit.
We did enjoy the spa pool in the court yard, it was so relaxing.
We were in one of the back flats and the manager did warn us the water took a while to heat, but the shower was cold then hot then cold again, it was quite a mission to have a shower.
Manager was lovely, as were all the people that we came in contact with in Rotorua. eg The Art Café, AMI, and 2 lovely volunteers in the gift shop Take A Look. Good on you Rotorua, we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShonaH569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

There are 3 adults staying in a 2 bedroom unit. However, do be aware that a 2 bedroom unit is a studio + a 1 bedroom unit connected by an interconnecting door (we were awareness of this at time of booking). The studio is upstairs. Nothing wrong with this. Do be aware the upstairs unit has a shower over the bath with a curtain (I have a thing about curtains)! Would I sit in this bath - well probably not it doesn't look that inviting. However, I will have a spa that is in a tidy little courtyard just off the main bedroom..

TVs in both rooms are 21". The rooms are clean, but tired.

The downstairs 1 bedroom only has a 2 seater sofa - one of us has to sit on a dining room chair, although my husband who is very accommoating said he does not have a problem with this. There is a dining table that sits 2 - 4. We have 6 dining room chairs. I would prefer 4 dining room chairs and an extra sofa chair (there is room in the lounge area for one). I did ask for this, but the request could not be accommodated - they did try to fulfill this request.

The reception we received was fine.

We are staying here over Anzac weekend so the rates are inflated. However, I was able to book through booking.com and got a reasonable rate. Should I have had to pay premum, I would have had that sinking feeling going on.

The motel is in a great location right across the road from a major supermarket and very close to the shopping centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosso1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My partner n I stopped over on our way back from Hawkes Bay. The property looked expensive but wasn't. Extremely friendly and helpful manager and staff couldn't do enough for us. Bed was comfortable and a decent size spa - proper tub, not a bath. Unit was very clean and roomy. Will definitely go back there again next time we're in Rotorua.

Room Tip: These folks were professional and took the time to point out all the newer attractions since our las...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 745anneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Well i dont think ive met ruder people in my life!! me, my partner and my friends stayed here for one night in the weekend. the lady seen that we had tattoos and obviously straight away felt that she needed to warn us that the "boss's sister was right next door to us" there was a confrontaion between my partner and the man that worked there about "allocated car parks" but according to him there were none. but he had reserved one for his friend. how is that not allocated? surely your paying customers should be first priority! he was very hostile towards my partner who is a woman and called her a stupid [--]! he got in her face and looked like he wanted to hit her! it wasnt relaxing like we had planned our weekend to be and we wont be going back. there are plenty more places to stay in rotorua that are amazing and friendly and welcoming. very highly UNreccommended. :(

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilaryruth, Manager at Ascot On Fenton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

It is a shame that this group, whom we tried so hard to please, have downed us so badly. However, to the thousands of folks to who stay with us and give us fantastic reports, our sincere thanks - we take our job seriously and work very hard at it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed 1 night, very clean and comfortable, the lady that own the motel was very nice and friendly. The motel is position within walking distance of the shopping mall and town, well almost all things. I would recommend this to family and friends if they were going to Rotorua.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The motel is well situated within walking distance of the lake, shops and a good choice of restaurants. The rooms were well appointed with comfortable beds and the addition of a spa at the back of the room was a bonus. The rooms were clean and plenty big enough with all ou need. The only slight downside was that the car park was used by all and sundry as a cut through despite signs to deter this. Reasonable value for money and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We were only going to stay one night but the very pleasant welcome from surrogate hosts, Ann and Neil, (the owner had died 15 Oct and his wife was away) made up our minds to stay an extra night. The spa bath was wonderful and the rooms clean and to a high standard. With Ann nothing was too much trouble. With her years of experience we took her advice on what to see and do.
We went first to Te Puia and later went to the Buried Village. After a lovely soak in the spa bath we had a taxi ride to Skyline restaurant via a gondola. It was a wonderful eating experience and the evening view over Rotorua fantastic. Thank you Ann for being a great host

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
0.4 mi away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
1.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#22 of 92 in Rotorua
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot On Fenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot On Fenton

Address: 247 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £76 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot On Fenton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ascot Motel of Rotorua offers a selection of superior units to suit all tastes and budgets. Relax in one of our Private Spa Pool units. Spa pools are individually filled and controlled. All units are well insulated and thermally heated to keep you and your family warm during the cooler months. We have 10 channels of television, including Sky TV. Our complex is 300 to 400 metres from the City and directly opposite a Supermarket for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot On Fenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot On Fenton Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing